Easy: tie a bow on it! Always works for me
Actually it's the missus's birthday on Friday and she wants a laptop (to do the grocery shopping without having to go upstairs to the PC, seriously) Went looking today and the range is mesmerising. Might print of a "voucher" for one and let her pick.
3 years? Every birthday and Christmas, all your good lady will be looking for is you to pop the big question.
Scenario 1: You buy her a trip to Paris or someone exotic - she thinks she's in.
Scenario 2: You take her out for a nice meal in a fancy restaurant - she think's she's in.
Scenario 3: Flowers - she thinks you have spent the rest of the money on the ring.
God help you, every present is going to be a big let down
DUMP HER!![]()
As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls
Thanks for the realism lofty!! But don't think either of us are considering that scenario just yet - I hope not anyway!!
Anybody got any ideas on where to get that massage chair?? Heard debenhams might have them. She loves those massage chairs that you put 2 euro in and get a 2 min massage
Cheers Bill - they're a little out of my price range though!!
Might have to go to the pound shop instead - it's the thought that counts!
lionel, when the time comes ye know, you'd want to be prepared to be spending that price. :exclamation:
two presents i gave that are still fondly remembered -
an engraved glass candle holder (the kind that holds liquid fuel) - she said it showed I'd been thinking about her birthday for weeks in advance.
jewelery - we were walking on the beach and she picked up a stone she liked. I had it set in a gold casing and turned it into a pendant. - she loved it because she said it showed I'd been thinking about her birthday for weeks in advance.
Don't know if everybody will feel the same way, but I saw a trend in her responses.
I really hope no-one looks at your examples Osarusan and thinks, 'the missus has put on weight since Christmas, if I get her an ab cruncher it will show that I've noticed it and been thinking about it for weeks'
I actually got one in debenhams. Its a shiatsu massage cushion for chairs - tis expensive enough but hopefully worth it! She mentioned wanting one around xmas but I'd already got her present then.
Now for the small/medium sized presents!! Was thinking one of her favourite films on dvd and a nintendo ds game. But what about the romantic small gift??
I once bred a mix between a bulldog and a shiatzu, I called it a bull****![]()
[QUOTE=paul_oshea;896760]get her some sexy underwear. QUOTE]
Of all the gifts to get someone as bday time or crimbo, I find this the tackiest. I'd get that stuff as something to give during the year.
Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!
[QUOTE=Kingdom;898440]
Really?! Does it work then, my teaser worked, someone finally replied. good man kingdom, too many irish people ( men and women ) have the old fashioned view here, "oh that durty scchtuff", fair play for your honesty. It reminds me of the Catherine Tate scene with the Irish nurse on about the guys "doo doo", when asked about it she gets all embarassed but then when speaking about it herself she calls it "his rancid little ****". Actually that character is class, there is a girl over here i know from galway, whose middle name is bernie, and she goes to the archway tavern, and has red hair, and act and looks just like yer one....its awful funny.
talk about a spot on stereotype!!!
All lovely ideas. I prefer to buy my own sexy undies as I know what I like but going shopping together for some is really fun.
As for the flowers issue, they are lovely but for me roses are just too "easy". Being more imaginative with your flower choice or finding out her favourites will go a long way. I was going out with this guy once and told him coming up to valentines day that I didnt want flowers coz they were too common a gift for valentines (meaning roses really). He arrived at my house with a beautiful bunch of tulips (my favourite flower) as well as other presents. He won so many brownie points for that.
At christmas I got spoiled with loads of lovely little romantic gifts and I have to say boys that is the route to go. Anything less than 5 presents and you havent been thinking about her enough!