Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Cup 2008

38 Posts
    They make more egregious mistakes than that on MNS every week. There's a Fairview club in Dublin who've been in the cup on occasion. Sure, he should have familiarised himself with which teams were in the draw, but no big deal by RTÉ standards, IMO.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc View Post
    He's still trying to live down the time Shelbourne (iirc) were drawn against Fairview and he said it was a local derby!

Shels were never drawn against either Fairview CYMS (Dublin) or Fairview Rangers (Limerick) in the FAI Cup.

IIRC - Dublin City were drawn away to Fairview Rangers in 2002?

Fairview CYMS played St Pats in the Cup in 94
    Last edited by Buile Shuibhne; 13/05/2008 at 12:37 PM.

38 Posts
    Yeah, it was the 02/03 tournament. Fairview won 4-1.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

115 Posts
    One of the more interesting ties is Wexford v Killester.

Although they lost the Junior Cup final Killester are arguably the best Junior team, if not non-league team, in the country.

After running Sligo close last season it will be interesting to see how they get along against one of the worst eL sides.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face
    They are in the cup, why wouldn't they be invited ... jebus wept, in all fairness.

Its our game not the casual viewer or the gaa. They can dance on the table for all i care. God forbid people express an interest in the competition and show a bit of character

I think they know that atmosphere and a crowd with an actual pulse makes for better tv viewing, not a bunch of deck chairs just sitting there. Its in their interests to make it better and they know it.

Exactly, they might even realise that people care for the game here. A bit of personality from people who are completely immersed in the game on the island. Like the two lads would have really wanted a completely clinical, devoid of emotion, soulless atmosphere, get a grip people.

Exactly ..... Its the one time in the football calendar where junior, intermediate and senior football cross swords and people are giving out about cheers
    Always happens. It's the Cup.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    Killester are arguably the best Junior team, if not non-league team, in the country.
    On current form that'd have to be Rockmount
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Agree with you there razor. Mount prob strongest non-league team in country because of there solid defence.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bon2007 View Post
    Agree with you there razor. Mount prob strongest non-league team in country because of there solid defence.
    Ssssshhhh, don't tell Bray, they don't seem too bothered to come to our place...going to beat us 70-0 one of em said in their thread!
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

dont think so !!

Although they lost the Junior Cup final Killester are arguably the best Junior team, if not non-league team, in the country.

After running Sligo close last season it will be interesting to see how they get along against one of the worst eL sides.
    they will be sore after losing the junior cup and losing some players since .
    Carrick are a better side in my opinion , but may not get past everton after a long hard season ! hope i am wrong ??

Quote Originally Posted by carrick hoops View Post
    they will be sore after losing the junior cup and losing some players since .
    Carrick are a better side in my opinion , but may not get past everton after a long hard season ! hope i am wrong ??
    Carrick have nothing to loose at this stage. After the heroics in WRC (first and only time new stand was fllled). Watch this space!!!

Killester best junior team in the country? thought they lot to Carrick Utd in the final at the RSC ?

fai cup

Any predictions for fai cup draw? Where will shocks be? Carrick Utd at Everton? Would they be a SHOCK?

Nothing spectacular about Everton at the moment. Carrick may be on a winner here. Wayside Celtic aren't flying high this season, St Mary's could do them. Killester againt Wexford Youths potential upset? Hoping Rockmount or the hall will stuff there opposition but tough one's for both.

I think Killester will dump Youth out, either on the night or through a replay....
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by Fintan Cassidy View Post
    Shels were never drawn against either Fairview CYMS (Dublin) or Fairview Rangers (Limerick) in the FAI Cup.

IIRC - Dublin City were drawn away to Fairview Rangers in 2002?

Fairview CYMS played St Pats in the Cup in 94

They are based not far from clontarf dart station off the griffith avenue.Ive played with them. We played in the first round in 2005 v castlebar. Didnt know they qualified to play this year

47 Posts
    Nothing spectacular about Everton at the moment. Carrick may be on a winner here. Wayside Celtic aren't flying high this season, St Mary's could do them. Killester againt Wexford Youths potential upset? Hoping Rockmount or the hall will stuff there opposition but tough one's for both.
    At this stage, I don't think Killester knocking us out could be considered an upset

101 Posts
    I thought that Waterford might upset Galway but Galway look like turning a corner at the moment so maybe not.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Waterford put us out last year..

we played Killester in the 2006 season...

Carrick to shock Everton and Waterford to shock Galway and meet in next round. Great local derby!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    I thought that Waterford might upset Galway but Galway look like turning a corner at the moment so maybe not.
    I think we just reversed back around that corner
    If YOU are not part of the solution,
    YOU ARE part of the problem

Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast