" I'll go right up to here,
it can't possibly hurt.
All they will find is my
beer and my shirt."
Newtown Celtic FC RIP (1992-2007)
They are in the cup, why wouldn't they be invited ... jebus wept, in all fairness.
Its our game not the casual viewer or the gaa. They can dance on the table for all i care. God forbid people express an interest in the competition and show a bit of character
I think they know that atmosphere and a crowd with an actual pulse makes for better tv viewing, not a bunch of deck chairs just sitting there. Its in their interests to make it better and they know it.
Exactly, they might even realise that people care for the game here. A bit of personality from people who are completely immersed in the game on the island. Like the two lads would have really wanted a completely clinical, devoid of emotion, soulless atmosphere, get a grip people.
Exactly ..... Its the one time in the football calendar where junior, intermediate and senior football cross swords and people are giving out about cheers .... come off the sodding stage will ye for the love of god![]()
Last edited by A face; 12/05/2008 at 10:09 PM.
I dunno if Tony O'Donoghue was reading from notes on each club but mentioning the clubs previous wins and involvement in the competition over the years was great. Mentioning managers and the various rivalries was great stuff, fair play to him.
I enjoyed the draw. Contrast it to the bureaucratic snooze fest that is the earlier rounds of the Champions League and UEFA Cup. I enjoyed the way Trap got drawn into the craic. This was undiscovered country for the two gentlemen and they seemed a bit nervy, at least the raucausness seemed to break the ice.
I agree cheering etc should be banned, ffs next thing they'll be going to a match and singing![]()
Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.
Would love to see the Dundalk Shels on telly.
Think it's the most exciting tie in the round, with SRFC v Rovers next.
DCFC
Thinking of making the trip up to Galway for our cup game. I have to say I am really looking forward to the cup this year. I'd love a repeat of our 2004 F.A.I. Cup run that saw us reach the final, but obviously without the Cup - Final defeat especially in the manner in which it happened.
Bring It On.
COME ON THE BLUES !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!
Here's the odds, Stan James style
FAI Cup 2008 - OUTRIGHT
Drogheda Utd 4/1
Bohemians 9/2
Cork City 5/1
Derry City 11/2
St Patricks Athletic 11/2
Shamrock Rovers 10
Bray Wanderers 16
Sligo Rovers 16
UCD 25
Galway United 33
Sporting Fingal 50
Shelbourne 50
Cobh Ramblers 50
Waterford United 66
Dundalk 66
Finn Harps 100
Monaghan Utd 100
Wexford Youths 150
Kildare County 150
Longford Town 200
Limerick 37 200
Athlone Town 250
Everton (Cork) 500
St Marys 500
Carrick United 750
Wayside Celtic 750
Rockmount 750
Fanad United 750
Liffey Pearse 1000
Killester United 1000
Drogheda Town 1000
Douglas Hall 2000
FAI Cup 2008 Special
Where will the winner come from?
Any other county 4/5
A Dublin Club 13/8
A Cork Club 9/2
www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football
750-1 on Rockmount? Happy days seeing as we're through to the 3rd round already with the home draw we got!![]()
The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.
I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"
www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football