33 Posts

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce
    Which county are carrick Utd. from?
    Quote Originally Posted by Youths4Ever View Post
    Then are a team from Carrick on Suir Waterford as far as I know
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Carrick on Suir, Co. Tipp as far as I know.

Difficult draw for the Youths, Killester one of the strongest non-league sides and won't be a big crowd draw.
    Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob View Post
    Waterford
    Quote Originally Posted by Demoshield View Post
    Oh no it's not. County Tipperary

"Carrick-on-Suir is located on the National Road 24 (N24), the route which runs from Rosslare Ferry Port to Limerick on the west coast. The town itself is in Ireland's largest inland county, namely Tipperary. Although the majority of the town is in Co. Tipperary, some of the town resides in neighbouring Co. Waterford, an issue which can lead to some highly charged debate among locals!."
    http://www.carrickonsuir.ie
    No problem......thanks for your help. I'll...I'll Google it myself thanks.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    No problem......thanks for your help. I'll...I'll Google it myself thanks.
    The town is in Tipperary, or most of it anyway but this particular team plays in the Waterford league.
    In unrelated GAA titbit, they seemingly are the only town in Ireland that has two Senior hurling teams. One in Tipp and One in Waterford.
    Newtown Celtic FC RIP (1992-2007)

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    The idiotic whooping and hollering was coming from juniorballers.

Shouldn't be invited into polite company to mix with serious football people.
    They are in the cup, why wouldn't they be invited ... jebus wept, in all fairness.

Quote Originally Posted by an_ceannaire View Post
    i am well aware of that Gufc but try telling that to the naked eye of the casual watcher who tuned in to see Trap. Its the same every year, could they not be more professional about it. Just makes it all seem so bloody amateur. The GAA are an amateur organisation but you dont see this lark at their draws
    Its our game not the casual viewer or the gaa. They can dance on the table for all i care. God forbid people express an interest in the competition and show a bit of character

Quote Originally Posted by balls View Post
    ya rte should have told the lads not to be roaring. Bit late now though
    I think they know that atmosphere and a crowd with an actual pulse makes for better tv viewing, not a bunch of deck chairs just sitting there. Its in their interests to make it better and they know it.

Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    Stop bitching ffs. Its all part of the draw, big draw for junior teams. Trap and Tardelli seemed to enjoy it
    Exactly, they might even realise that people care for the game here. A bit of personality from people who are completely immersed in the game on the island. Like the two lads would have really wanted a completely clinical, devoid of emotion, soulless atmosphere, get a grip people.

Quote Originally Posted by el punter View Post
    I thought it was great. Cup draws are usually soulless and very awkward stilted affairs. Thought it was great to have a bit of cheering and atmosphere.

Go watch an oboe recital Mr Stuffy
    Exactly ..... Its the one time in the football calendar where junior, intermediate and senior football cross swords and people are giving out about cheers .... come off the sodding stage will ye for the love of god
    Last edited by A face; 12/05/2008 at 10:09 PM.

I dunno if Tony O'Donoghue was reading from notes on each club but mentioning the clubs previous wins and involvement in the competition over the years was great. Mentioning managers and the various rivalries was great stuff, fair play to him.

71 Posts
    I enjoyed the draw. Contrast it to the bureaucratic snooze fest that is the earlier rounds of the Champions League and UEFA Cup. I enjoyed the way Trap got drawn into the craic. This was undiscovered country for the two gentlemen and they seemed a bit nervy, at least the raucausness seemed to break the ice.

I agree cheering etc should be banned, ffs next thing they'll be going to a match and singing
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    I enjoyed the way Trap got drawn into the craic. This was undiscovered country for the two gentlemen and they seemed a bit nervy, at least the raucausness seemed to break the ice.
    Exactly. I thought it was great to see such a fuss made of the Cup draw. Third Round day os one of the biggest in the footballing calendar and it was nice to see some of the magic in it tonight.

Would love to see the Dundalk Shels on telly.

Think it's the most exciting tie in the round, with SRFC v Rovers next.
    DCFC

Thinking of making the trip up to Galway for our cup game. I have to say I am really looking forward to the cup this year. I'd love a repeat of our 2004 F.A.I. Cup run that saw us reach the final, but obviously without the Cup - Final defeat especially in the manner in which it happened.

Bring It On.

COME ON THE BLUES !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!

Here's the odds, Stan James style

FAI Cup 2008 - OUTRIGHT
    Drogheda Utd 4/1
    Bohemians 9/2
    Cork City 5/1
    Derry City 11/2
    St Patricks Athletic 11/2
    Shamrock Rovers 10
    Bray Wanderers 16
    Sligo Rovers 16
    UCD 25
    Galway United 33
    Sporting Fingal 50
    Shelbourne 50
    Cobh Ramblers 50
    Waterford United 66
    Dundalk 66
    Finn Harps 100
    Monaghan Utd 100
    Wexford Youths 150
    Kildare County 150
    Longford Town 200
    Limerick 37 200
    Athlone Town 250
    Everton (Cork) 500
    St Marys 500
    Carrick United 750
    Wayside Celtic 750
    Rockmount 750
    Fanad United 750
    Liffey Pearse 1000
    Killester United 1000
    Drogheda Town 1000
    Douglas Hall 2000

FAI Cup 2008 Special
    Where will the winner come from?
    Any other county 4/5
    A Dublin Club 13/8
    A Cork Club 9/2
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

Quote Originally Posted by el punter View Post
    Here's the odds, Stan James style

FAI Cup 2008 - OUTRIGHT
    Cobh Ramblers 50
    They are great odds for Ramblers. A tenner there wouldn't go astray i'd say.

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    They are great odds for Ramblers. A tenner there wouldn't go astray i'd say.
    Wouldn't surprise me to see Fingal knock them out tbh.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Wouldn't surprise me to see Fingal knock them out tbh.
    Same here- Cobh seem to be poor away from home.

43 Posts
    750-1 on Rockmount? Happy days seeing as we're through to the 3rd round already with the home draw we got!
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

115 Posts
    I dunno if Tony O'Donoghue was reading from notes on each club but mentioning the clubs previous wins and involvement in the competition over the years was great. Mentioning managers and the various rivalries was great stuff, fair play to him.
    He seemed to think that Rovers were the "cup specialists"

That gets funnier and funnier every year! 2 finals and no wins in the last 20 years.

With the Olympics on this year do you think the guys in the 100m will be glad that "Olympic Specialist" Carl Lewis didn't enter.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    He seemed to think that Rovers were the "cup specialists"

That gets funnier and funnier every year! 2 finals and no wins in the last 20 years.

With the Olympics on this year do you think the guys in the 100m will be glad that "Olympic Specialist" Carl Lewis didn't enter.

Fair play to the MNS team though. Enjoy hearing people talk about the league who are passionate and know their stuff, rather than some bloody rent a voice harping on about something he knows arse all about.
    DCFC

Quote Originally Posted by EAFC_rdfl View Post
    well, ya got the big prem division side battery rover!!!! gonna hav some fun in work with this one!!what about fanad to upset kildare?? playin summer ball now, gave longford a bit of a game last year, and that was them out of season

not a bad draw for the town home tie will hopefully attract a crowd we have a good record against the boys from donegal i can see us winning this one 2-1 with a home draw against fanad in the next round
    No Sig is a Good Sig!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

He's still trying to live down the time Shelbourne (iirc) were drawn against Fairview and he said it was a local derby!

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc View Post
    He's still trying to live down the time Shelbourne (iirc) were drawn against Fairview and he said it was a local derby!
    An easy mistake to make in fairness with the more commonly known Fairview in the country being in North Dublin.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    An easy mistake to make in fairness with the more commonly known Fairview in the country being in North Dublin.
    Come on, that's a big blunder for a football journo with the national broadcaster

Not one I'd hold against him for eternity, but certainly something he should be mortified about.
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast