Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Calling All Irish Fans

Calling All Irish Fans

Does any supporter get embarrassed that we sing three songs at games - most notably 'come on you boys in green', 'stand up for the boys in green' and 'we all dream of a team of Gary Breens'. I for one am embarrassed. We are from a land of Ballads and that is the best we can come up with? The Fields of Athenry, Molly Malone are to name a few that are sang occassionally. Please post ideas of songs which can be used to get behind the lads. This is the start of a campagin by myself to improve our vocal support during games - after all, we Irish all love a song - culminating with a phone call to Joe Duffy prior to Trapps first competitive game. I am serious. Our repetoire at games is nothing short of a disgrace.

I think lots of people would be against singing Athenry because celtic fans sing it

3,304 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    I think lots of people would be against singing Athenry because celtic fans sing it
    I think Munster fans would be ok with it

yeah id agree we need some more songs. does anyone have phil coulters number?

20 Posts
    did look great in that film bout the civil war.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    I agree. It's short and everyone knows it, and if they dnt it wont take long to learn. The lyrics could do with a little tweaking perhaps. Also i dont see why The Fields isnt sung more often and i would love to see Molly Malone come back.

And at the risk of reopening old arguements id love to hear Boys of the Old Briade, Sean South et al being sung more often and **** the pc brigade. Most of the sing songs ive herad away from home always used to include these and in fact it was the lads that sing these that usually got the singing started. If the boring daytrippers dont like let them **** off with their ole ole ole's and Ireland's call.
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

ya sean south is a good ballad alright, good one to join in with.

I dont care what we sing once someone shoots the next cnut who starts a Mexican wave.

537 Posts
    id say we have far far more songs than most countrys. the fact that there are so few international matches every year means that its very difficult for new songs to catch on. never heard a team of gary breens actually sung at a match, thank god as its well past its sell by date.

the ajax fans have a song to the tune of the wild rover that sounds pretty good. maybe a few words to that tune could be a runner?

surely a singing section is now long overdue?

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    never heard a team of gary breens actually sung at a match, thank god as its well past its sell by date.
    that's why it's so good

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    never heard a team of gary breens actually sung at a match, thank god as its well past its sell by date.
    Not if his namesake at Manchester City has anything to say about it
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Quote Originally Posted by Mayo_Bhoy View Post
    I agree. It's short and everyone knows it, and if they dnt it wont take long to learn. The lyrics could do with a little tweaking perhaps. Also i dont see why The Fields isnt sung more often and i would love to see Molly Malone come back.

And at the risk of reopening old arguements id love to hear Boys of the Old Briade, Sean South et al being sung more often and **** the pc brigade. Most of the sing songs ive herad away from home always used to include these and in fact it was the lads that sing these that usually got the singing started. If the boring daytrippers dont like let them **** off with their ole ole ole's and Ireland's call.
    You're going to football matches not sinn fein funerals, though as a celtic "fan" i'd imagine the distinction is lost on yourself.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

30 Posts
    I'm against singing it cos I hate that feckin song!
    I cringe at the "Ohhh baby let the free birds fly" ad lib

Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Absolutely. I'm also with Gavzacs sentiments. If Mayo-Bhoy want's to sing Republican "Party" songs then I'd suggest to him there are far more appropriate places to do so than an Irish football game. I don't know or give a flying fcuk where those places are just so long as they're far, far away.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    it's a cheesey ballad, what do you expect?

Personally I hate the song, but could be tempted with new words to the chorus like;

Blow dry, the hair on Stephen Ireland's head
    where once a little bald patch did shine
    (Yes, Stephen, it sure did shine)
    Alone down the wing, he has dreams and songs to sing
    I look such a prat in that pink car of mine

Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Rubbish. It is a great motivational song and one everyone can sing. It is a ballad associated with the Irish throughout the world - it is that inspirational the Kop have adjusted it and adopted it as one of their own. Lets waken up and sing songs that get behind the team. I have a feeling that the Dubs are not happy singing such culchie songs and that is a major reason why we are continuously reduced to stupid chants of 'come on you boys in green' between mexican waves. We need an 12th man now more than ever to get us to South Africa.
    Last edited by BigmanCas; 10/03/2008 at 9:55 AM.

i'm all for singing it, anything instead of "ireland *clap clap clap*" over and over again. Do Irish fans not realise everyone else stopped doing mexican waves years ago?

nice work superhoops

Quote Originally Posted by BigmanCas View Post
    Rubbish. It is a great motivational song and one everyone can sing. It is a ballad associated with the Irish throughout the world - it is that inspirational the Kop have adjusted it and adopted it as one of their own. Lets waken up and sing songs that get behind the team. I have a feeling that the Dubs are not happy singing such culchie songs and that is a major reason why we are continuously reduced to stupid chants of 'come on you boys in green' between mexican waves. We need an 12th man now more than ever to get us to South Africa.

could well be some truth in that alright BMC

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast