1-1Fingal
The fact that their game went ahead shows the sham of a decision to call off our game. Apparently it was on the basis of the rain that was going to fall. We'd be at HT right now and not a sight of any rain.
Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887
1-1Fingal
For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie
Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887
its all happening in Longford![]()
I see Longford have 2 Luke Hardy's![]()
Expected more of Fingal, to be honest, especially given the two teams' performances against us in pre-season.
Fingal's really not going well![]()
oh dear oh dear![]()
Christ. Darren McKenna got a hat-trick. Sporting Franchise must be really bad or he's really improved. Anyway,good enough for them - Franchise football doesn't work.
Ouch. 5-1 now.
SF only have ten men!! That's why its 5-1
Only for the second half. Doesn't explain the complete collapse. Fingal have players you've heard of; would expect them to be putting a fight up to Longford, even with ten.
Nine men now![]()
Drogheda's Official Website Report from today's game
Rovers took the points on a blustery night at United Park courtesy of a goal by Alan Murphy in the 2nd minute and if the truth be told, Rovers were good value for their win despite the Drogs creating many half-chances , even as late as the 93rd minute Adam Hughes's header just cleared the bar from a knock forward by new signing Thiam.
It was always going to be a difficult match and right from the start Rover's new look side showed plenty of application and skill and I suppose its one of the consequences of our success last year that our opponents will have studied our methods and have a plan to frustrate us. Rovers showed planty of skill with Baker and Murphy up front and a solid midfield of Danny and Stephen Rice, and Joe Kendrick had his hands full with tricky winger Sean O'Connor. And what about us, well we tried hard and came into the game well, dominated the second half but could not put the liathroid into the net. Murphy;'s goal came from a snap shot which gave Rovers the early edge and despite the Rovers centre back conceding plenty of frees, we could not deliver the telling ball and even though we were gifted possession in the second half, it was not to be our night.
Mind you, we showed brilliance in flashes, and midway through the first half Ollie Cahill fed Joe Kendrick, whose brilliant cross just eluded Eamon with the goal at his mercy and as the first half drew to a close, Keego's brilliant header from a Richie Baker cross struck the bar and rebounded out. From the restart we dominated and despite creating quite a few chances the River defence stood firm and I really don't want to talk about this anymore. Let's forget about it - fair play to Rovers and chins up all round !
Did yiz see the Ronnie Drew thing on ret th’other week , it had a had a big audience, but what a load of rubbish – the song I mean, don’t get me wrong, Ronnie will always be the greatest – up there with Pavarotti and some of them other fat blokes as far as I’m concerned, the ragman’s ball, easy and slow, the twangman, etc etc,… but the new song !!. … it was like askin’ phil coulter to write a song for the rugby crowd – bad idea !...ok , I know Bono and the U2s is very busy people, I mean, haven’t they made poverty history and got the third world debt cancelled and stuff, but couldn’t they get Pete or Wally to write something decent. And Wally has a great musical and pool-playing pedigree, takin’ on all-comers in the Widda’s or Barney Mac’s until he reaches beverage fatigue. Hasn’t he kept us well entertained over the years with ‘Under the Clock’, ‘ The Boyne Fishermen’ and ‘Pitcher Hill ( we love you still)’. I well remember the time and us below in Barney Mac’s and McDermott sez ‘Fancy a wee tune’ (he’s Scottish, y’know) and after about 3 hours we ran outa bread and there was no more coming from any direction and McDermot sez ‘ The Irishman in me wants another drink but the Scoitsman in me does nae want to pay for it !. And Brian sez ‘right lads that’s your lot ‘ and there we were out in the street with the instruments , three sheets to the wind and it only half three in the afternoon !........ and Wally says, ‘lets go to the Widda’s to shoot some pool’ and we thought …… where does he get these brilliant ideas ????
http://droghedaunited.ie/scripts/res...?FixtureID=906