Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Clash of colours at Richmond Park

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    Bohs played 3 or 4 games at the start of the last double winning season in 2002/03 without a sponsor on their home or away jerseys for the same reason - so not really a valid excuse lads
    thats what it says on the website,

http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/489/88/

we've been wearing last seasons, still waiting on a new sponsor

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    I'd feckin dock points off both sides if this does not go ahead. The league really can't afford this s**te.
    yeah we should have brought a second kit and the sponsor thing isnt a valid excuse,but as neville neville said the kits dont really clash.
    The ref was been very fussy.
    But for people to start calling for fines and point deductions,give me abreak

Quote Originally Posted by srfc1928 View Post
    for people to start calling for fines and point deductions,give me abreak
    In fairness, that was from a Harps fan, and whatever about the state of the table now, it's undestandable that they'd want to see teams getting points deducted.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

1,552 Posts
    Lads, a premier game was delayed for over half an hour because the team's kits clashed, it doesn't matter if is wasn't by much, the rules are the rules. Are you seriously trying to tell me that someone should not be punished for this? If Harps were involved I'd be demanding to know exactly why we had not complied with the rules when they are perfectly clear. This is a kick in the teeth for everyone trying to promote the league, and an example has to be made to prevent it happening again.

Given all the positive hype in the buildup to the new season this farce will be highlighhted in the papers tommorrow rather than tonights games.

In my innocence when it was announced at Turners X that the Pats game started at 8.15 i thought it was due to crowd congestion!

Surely in this day and age the ref can view all relevant kits in emails the day before games and decide what does & doesn't clash.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

I don't think ref's are on the internet yet, i mean the ref we had tonight is from an age where it's still ok to elbow a player in the face and not be punished so i'd be suprised if they have email addresses.

BTW the kits did clash. Our home kit has been the same for ****ing ever. Red body, white sleeves and white shorts. Scandalous that Sligo can have an awy kit so close to their home kit

Sligo ended up wearing our wawy kit of two years ago (with the pp logo on it). We wore it once in ore season

25 Posts
    Sure Sligo are never wrong about anything. Leave them alone its not their fault!
    Say nothin til ya hear more!

Quote Originally Posted by Finlay Harp View Post
    Sure Sligo are never wrong about anything. Leave them alone its not their fault!
    our home kit is 100% red
    http://www.sligorovers.com/photo1/di...865&fullsize=1

our away kit is 100% white
    http://www.sligorovers.com/photo1/di...847&fullsize=1

what the **** do u expect us to do???

also why were we allowed wear white shorts...buttimer is a spoon
    Last edited by Red4Eva; 08/03/2008 at 12:44 AM.
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Sleeves clashing are a problem in the event of a handball in a crowded penalty area or something like that.
    In case anyone is wondering, the navy Pats jerseys eventually worn by Rovers do indeed have white sleeves. They also kept their white shorts to match those worn by Pats Maxi has a word for this...
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Could Pat's not have worn their away kit?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Student Mullet View Post
    Could Pat's not have worn their away kit?
    Yeah, that's what should have happened...

Quote Originally Posted by Finlay Harp View Post
    Thanks for sticking up for us finlay,
    i thought you finn harps didnt care about us,

I was under the impression that the FAI approved each clubs' various strips in advance of the season.

If not, it would make sense to do so, anticipating and avoiding any potential clashes.

Why is it left up to the referee at the last minute to rule on this when there's very little time or scope left to make changes?

Once the fixture list is out - could the FAI not agree with clubs, which strip they should wear in advance of each match?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Fintan Cassidy View Post
    I was under the impression that the FAI approved each clubs' various strips in advance of the season.

If not, it would make sense to do so, anticipating and avoiding any potential clashes.
    They did (allegedly). Apparantly they had two full time staff looking after it. Makes you wonder...

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    They did (allegedly). Apparantly they had two full time staff looking after it. Makes you wonder...
    Who are the two full time staff looking after this ..... Trinny & Susanna
    were all arguing about the colour of sleves like bloody women.
    Fair play to St. pats they won the game fair and square.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    BTW the kits did clash. Our home kit has been the same for ****ing ever. Red body, white sleeves and white shorts. Scandalous that Sligo can have an awy kit so close to their home kit

Sligo ended up wearing our wawy kit of two years ago (with the pp logo on it). We wore it once in ore season
    get your facts right before you post s**t.
    or are you colour-blind?

and i dont know, was it just me or did the kit we eventually got have white sleeves on them aswell!!!!! and they let us wear our white shorts and socks anyway! its nothing but a muppet of a referee who caused a scene yet again

3,491 Posts
    Posted this elsewhere, but may as well keep it together -

Also, when will clubs learn how to design jerseys? Showing the league up as amateurs again. It's ridiculous.

Hint from the way we work things - don't colour your sleeves differently. It's asking for trouble. One colour, and retain an old away jersey as a third choice kit. Duh-simple.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 08/03/2008 at 2:27 AM.

Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast