Page 63 of 94 FirstFirst ... 1353616263646573 ... LastLast
Results 1,241 to 1,260 of 1866

Thread: 2008 attendances

Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    There was easy a 1000 , crap crowd tbh .Hope you enjoyed your euro trip lad.Mad feckers !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    explain?

3,491 Posts
    722 official at UCD-Pat's according to today's Indo.

To be fair they are idiots,1,200 as our average attendance
    RIP JOHNNY

3,491 Posts
    Where'd you see that? Saw the article, but didn't see any figures.

I'd be fairly sure Sligo's crowds are a good bit over here as they're only estimates by the way (same as I guesstimated 800 for a 722 crowd, or 10% over, and 1700 for a 1286 crowd, or 33% over).

Quote Originally Posted by dublinwanderer View Post
    explain?

think about it!!!!

poor crowd but we played some good ball. our goals were well worked and really great

I'd be fairly sure Sligo's crowds are a good bit over here as they're only estimates by the way (same as I guesstimated 800 for a 722 crowd, or 10% over, and 1700 for a 1286 crowd, or 33% over).
    Pg 65,the EL survey.Second to last column called Ave Crowd.Its just UCD to have worse crowds
    RIP JOHNNY

21 Posts

I'd be fairly sure Sligo's crowds are a good bit over here as they're only estimates by the way (same as I guesstimated 800 for a 722 crowd, or 10% over, and 1700 for a 1286 crowd, or 33% gate oveheyr).
    They are sending in wrong figures, they probably have their own reasons for this. 900 I heard mentioned for UCD game from someone on gate plus was in local rag as well.

Curiously, I have youz up 6% this year and 42% the previous year, and it's pretty much entirely official figures for 2006 to 2008.
    I think it may gave been up 6% last year and 13% this year on "projected attendances". Talking to someone about it last night and they heard

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by deecay View Post
    Pg 65,the EL survey.Second to last column called Ave Crowd.
    Fair enough; haven't seen the print version.

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    They are sending in wrong figures, they probably have their own reasons for this.
    Ah come on... The CPOs are under pressure to increase crowds, Revenue have clamped down on cash payments to an extent and people are known for overestimating crowds. Which is more likely - the club lying or people are out in their guesstimates?

21 Posts
    Fair enough; haven't seen the print version.

Ah come on... The CPOs are under pressure to increase crowds, Revenue have clamped down on cash payments to an extent and people are known for overestimating crowds. Which is more likely - the club lying or people are out in their guesstimates?
    Estimates for the Showgrounds home games are quite good on here. Maybe 10% out but not nearly 40% which was printed in the paper which I havent seen yet. Did it print the individual gates for each match? They mighting be lying about what actual revenue is coming into the Showgrounds every fortnight, as seasons tickets and super reds arent charged addmission thus taking them out of the equation. As i say the club may have alternative reasons for this.

21 Posts
    Indo Loi average this season
    Bohs 1800 approx
    St pts 1900 approx
    Cork 3200
    Derry 2200
    Drogheda 1600 approx
    Shams 1600
    Sligo Rovers 1200
    Bray 1500
    UCD 400
    Galway 1300
    Finn Harps 1900
    Cobh 1300

3,491 Posts
    You've no idea how good the estimates are if there's no official figures to back it up.

I'm not saying they're 40% wrong and that the Indo is spot on, but I'd say they're still higher than the official figures.

Edit - thanks for that red bellied. UCD's wrong anyway; I get official figures for all games which I assume has to be the basis for this report to carry any credibility. Don't know about the others.

101 Posts
    Indo figures for first division:

Dundalk 1300 approx.
    Waterford Utd 450
    Sporting Fingal 450
    Shelbourne 990
    Limerick 37 400
    Monaghan Utd 175 approx.
    Longford Town 500
    Athlone Town 407
    Wexford Youths 800
    Kildare County 250
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

21 Posts
    First Division
    Dundalk 1300 approx
    Waterford 450
    Sporting Fingal 450
    Shels 990
    Limerick 400
    Monaghan 175 approx
    Longford500
    Athlone 407
    Wexford 800
    Kildare 250

3,491 Posts
    Comparison of actual v Indo figures very quickly. Clubs in bold give official figures for here.

PREMIER DIVISION
    Bohs - 2,099 (foot.ie) v 1,800 (Indo)
    Bray - 1,400 v 1,500
    Cobh - 1,215 v 1,300
    Cork - 3,503 v 3,200
    Derry - 3,341 v 2,200
    Drogheda - 1,800 v 1,600
    Harps - 1,869 v 1,900
    Galway - 1,300 v 1,300
    Pat's - 2,021 v 1,900
    Rovers - 1,705 v 1,600
    Sligo - 1,927 v 1,200
    UCD - 594 v 400

FIRST DIVISION
    Athlone - 407 v 407
    Dundalk - 1,268 v 1,300
    Kildare - 189 v 250
    Limerick - 494 v 500
    Longford - 563 v 500
    Monaghan - 175 v 175
    Shels - 1,010 v 990
    Sporting Fingal - 647 v 450
    Waterford - 692 v 450
    Wexford - 884 v 800

Overall, not too many differences in fairness. I'm missing some recent games (will drop Sporting Fingal down, for example, and bring up Bohs after the Rovers game); most of the official figuers appear good with the exception of UCD, which is confusing!

21 Posts
    That Derry average doesnt like right either, anytime I am up there is 3000 plus and on the television the crowd always looks decent as well.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    That Derry average doesnt like right either, anytime I am up there is 3000 plus and on the television the crowd always looks decent as well.
    That's taken from a quote bu the Derry chairman in a statement on their website.

Quote Originally Posted by dublinwanderer View Post
    explain?
    your fans had bermuda shorts and no tops on , and were jumping up and down like mad yokes for 90 mins ,even when 2 nil down very funny actually ,fair play .Drogheda independant has the attendance at 1 ,200 .

One suggestion for some of the discrepencies:

The attendances on here are league averages. The Indos might include cups. I know that Cork City's crowds were much lower in the Setanta cup and we had a league cup attendance of 290 against limerick.

On the ccfcforum:

Ave League: 3501
    Ave Overall: 3090

Ave Setanta: 2081

3,491 Posts
    Possible. We had two League Cup games and one FAI Cup game against Monaghan which would have taken us way down. Puts a bit of a false tint on the figures really.

Page 63 of 94 FirstFirst ... 1353616263646573 ... LastLast