Page 12 of 94 FirstFirst ... 210111213142262 ... LastLast

Thread: 2008 attendances

Of which about 80 to 90 were Limerick fans and at least 100 were the dreaded "Schooligans"

Is this an exaggeration or what? 100 schooligans??

Also, a bit OT but are there any other grounds in the league where the stewards ask to search your pockets?!?!
    Maybe they were checking to see if you had change of E20?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Also, a bit OT but are there any other grounds in the league where the stewards ask to search your pockets?!?!
    I thought only gardaí were allowed to search people and that stewards could only search people's belongings (bags etc)?

Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    Is this an exaggeration or what? 100 schooligans??
    If anything I'm underestimating.

An absolute throng of them behind the goals

I thought only gardaí were allowed to search people
    Which is precisely what I told the steward. (Well what I actually said was shag off but he got the idea)

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Casuals ?!? You mean you've got Schooligans at Youths already....!

Actually, sadly enough I came across this on Bebo yesterday. Truly sad individuals. I think a few of the members joined without reading what their, shall we say 'mission statement' is, especially considering one of them is a player
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Roughly the same size crowd as the Cobh game for us tonight, id say 2000.
    Yeah, sounds about right. I see Harps had the official Cobh crowd in the programme last night, so presumably we'll get the official UCD one in due course.

in fairness they probably know their ground a lot better than I do.

The Star gave something like 1257 for Wexford v Kildare, which I assume was an official figure?

Of which about 80 to 90 were Limerick fans and at least 100 were the dreaded "Schooligans"

Skooligans my hole!

There's a big differance between skooligans and just general teenagers hanging around and messing at matches.

Were they actually fighting, throwing stuff at players, doing anything for you to brand them "skooligans"?

[quote=Lim till i die;903128]If you listened close enough you could hear the sound of a bubble burst in Morton Stadium last night.

No more than 350 at Sporting Fingal v Limerick 37

EDIT: Official Attendance given on the Fingal forum at 478

Thought there was less myself but in fairness they probably know their ground a lot better than I do."

lim

if there was 80-90 limerick fans there then ye were very quite too. and u reakon u were 1/4 of the attendence!!!!!. i would say equal number of limerick fans and so called "schooligan" maybe 30/40 at a stretch. 430 is not too bad for a team trying to build a fan base. remember some predictions at the launch of the club were around 100!!!

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boris View Post
    if there was 80-90 limerick fans !!........
    Don't worry boris, contorted nonsense like the stuff some of the above posts will happen regular to the newbies. Just play your own game. Anyway, there are no "behind the goals" at the Billy Morton Stadium,..it's Curva Sud i Nord.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

238 Posts
    Yeah, sounds about right. I see Harps had the official Cobh crowd in the programme last night, so presumably we'll get the official UCD one in due course.
    Probably get it on tuesday or wednesday

81 Posts
    About 950 at the Longford v Dundalk game.

Quote Originally Posted by Leejo View Post
    Were they actually fighting, throwing stuff at players, doing anything for you to brand them "skooligans"?
    Was being sarcastic sonny.

I happen to think the "Schooligan" threat is exaggerated to hilarious degrees.

What they were was a big shower of pubescent types with no interest in the game.

About as threatening as the vegetable soup that was on sale though.

80-90 limerick fans there then ye were very quite too.
    Quite what??

If you mean quiet than yes I'd agree with you but would put it down to a combination of the weather, the uncovered terrace and the football.

i would say equal number of limerick fans and so called "schooligan" maybe 30/40 at a stretch.
    And I would say that you are either a liar or have trouble counting once you run out of digits.

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Actually, sadly enough I came across this on Bebo yesterday. Truly sad individuals. I think a few of the members joined without reading what their, shall we say 'mission statement' is, especially considering one of them is a player

Thank you for your recent report of abuse regarding the Bebo member with the username 'wexfordyouthscasuals'.

We have investigated this report and taken any measures deemed necessary. Unfortunately we can not discuss details regarding each case but we can assure you that we take all reports seriously.

Thank you again for bringing this member and issue to our attention.

Kindest regards

Bebo Customer Service
    Just letting people know
    MD

47 Posts
    Hi Lads,

I posted the original comment regarding a few 'casuals' at the Youths game on Friday. I've since been away for a few days.

Sorry, I'm not up to date with the lingo and meant the word in the sense of casual or infrequent visitors and nothing else. I have seen every Youths game from last season and this one so far and have never seen any trouble of any kind.

I'm not in to Bebo and similar sites. Can you tell me what is contained in the link? It doesn't seem to work now

They deleted the page obviously

47 Posts
    Probably deleted alright, I'm just looking to know what the general gist of the problem was and the connection to The Youths

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    Probably deleted alright, I'm just looking to know what the general gist of the problem was and the connection to The Youths
    Basically a couple of 14 year olds decided to start a bebo page to recruit 'casuals' the gist of the site was that Shelbourne and the like have groups of young lads following them just for the fights so why shouldn't Wexford Youths. They posted on the supporters club bebo page asking people to join, that's where I saw it. I reported myself and it appears to have been deleted now. It was pathetic.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

47 Posts
    Thanks Passinginterest and well done. we don't need that rubbish

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    Its great how the attendances are now annonced over the PA during the second half. Does this now happen at every ground?
    Pats started doing this at every game a couple of seasons ago but have now stopped even putting them on the website for some reason

84 Posts
    Athlone Town vs Waterford 571 hardy souls attended on what was a freezing cold windy night. About 50 or so from Waterford

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Page 12 of 94 FirstFirst ... 210111213142262 ... LastLast