Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Who do you think are the most overrated members of the Irish squad?

I totally agree about Hunt, he is like a cult icon amongst the fans.
    Last edited by NeilMcD; 06/03/2008 at 10:43 PM.
    In Trap we trust

229 Posts
    22 posts and no mention of McGeady

Andy Reid for me. Obvious talent just havent seen that much of it for (for Ireland or on tv for his clubs) fans to be talking about building a team around him.

S Hunt - defintely overrated by the fans IMO. Jaysus the reaction from the crowd when he came on in Wales was unblievable - the messiah!!!!
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    22 posts and no mention of McGeady
    Its not worth it.

1,928 Posts
    Aiden is the 7th son of a 7th son.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Are you mad he has saved us many of a time. An absolute legend of a player for us. Very rarely makes a mistake.

And his old man is one of our best supporters
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    This is a no brainer. John O'Shea by miles.

Who on this forum rates John O'Sh1te?! Isnt it common knowledge that he is Irelands and Man Uniteds Phil Neville, in that he plugs gaps unspectacularly in various positions? Hes also a waster who might have developed into a good central defender if he moved from Man-ure to play regularly in that position.

Stephen Ireland is the most overrated player in our squad, he definantly doesnt warrant the hype that goes with him.
    'I can't even remember when the Seventies was.' - ROBBIE KEANE

Robbie Keane(he's very good but doesn't produce it for his country) and Damien Duff.
    Robbie Keane(he's very good but doesn't produce it for his country) and Damien Duff (he's very good for his country but doesn't produce it for his club).

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RivaldoBabb View Post
    Who on this forum rates John O'Sh1te?! Isnt it common knowledge that he is Irelands and Man Uniteds Phil Neville, in that he plugs gaps unspectacularly in various positions? Hes also a waster who might have developed into a good central defender if he moved from Man-ure to play regularly in that position.
    i can see oshea playing ctre half for us under the new management and i reckon with the right guidance he'll do ok there. gets too much critisism from some on here imo

Hell the whole team is over-rated at this stage!
    I

Robbie Keane(he's very good but doesn't produce it for his country) and Damien Duff.
    Duff performs better for his country than his club, he may not be quite the player he was 5 years ago but that is due to injuries and at the time he deserved all the plaudits he got.

For me its S.Ireland by a mile, Finnan for me never really reproduced his club form for Ireland not for the last few years anyway, McGeady is overrated by some but also underrated by others he is a very good prospect but still has a lot to prove.
    Not too long ago people were calling for I.Harte to be brought back at LB for his set pieces alone despite the fact that he is absolute muck as a defender, he was always overrated IMO, scored us a few goals but cost us quite a few too

Irelands over rated - Top 10

1. Stephan Hunt
    2. Stephan Ireland
    3. Stephan Kelly
    4. Paul Mc Shane
    5. Andy O Brien (all of a sudden?)
    6. Stephan Reid (yet to see him play in a green shirt)
    7. Anthony Stokes (will he ever take his finger out?)
    8. Clinton Morrison (scoring goals at mo?)
    9. Owen Garvan (saviour with no caps?)
    10. James Mc Carthy (a teenager at the accies?)

634 Posts
    Dare I say nobody? I don't think we over-rate any of our players truth be told. Stephen Hunt isn't rated by any fan, but as Neil rightly said, he is a cult icon among us. whether that is appropriate or not is another matter.
    As for your list BigmanCas are you having a bit o craic or what.
    If anything Andy O'Brien is one of the despised players eligible to us, which I find ridiculous , considering he was in my top 2 players in our WC06 group.
    If I was forced to select one player of the current group that a tiny proportion of our supporters unjustifiably hype up it would have to be Aiden Mc. He is starting to fulfill promise for us now, so I'd be more inclined to propose nobody.
    Also just for hysterics I'd claim that Stephen Ireland couldn't be nominated as he's not currently involved with the National team.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

bMC you have still to see reid, what age are ye?! that would make a lot of sense for some of your posts...

I will agree that the Irish fans overrate Hunt, I think in the longer term, he will turn out to be another kilbane. He is quite average but he gets stuck in and relieves the defense in pressure situations, which with the way we have been playing recently away from home that helps immensely.

Its not AOB all of a sudden BMC, its that we are very limited and we require someone of his ability at the moment, given the fact we dont have any better players, if we had 3 richard dunnes then no one would want OBrien back.

I fear in the next 10 years how poor our team is going to be.....there is probably going to be no one in the top four in the premiership and a lot more in the championship, unless clubs in the EL build ties with foreign clubs, or we create a school of excellence or something with ties to foreign clubs. The premiership is going to be more foreign and English concentrated with less chances for Irish lads....

Kingdom great post. I think Ireland is over-rated slightly alright, buut he still manages to pop in situations - where our strikers should be i might add - where no one else in the Ireland team does, and scores, 4 times cant be lucky, and his finishing is exquisite.

634 Posts
    [QUOTE=paul_oshea;892800]bMC you have still to see reid, what age are ye?! that would make a lot of sense for some of your posts...

I will agree that the Irish fans overrate Hunt, I think in the longer term, he will turn out to be another kilbane. He is quite average but he gets stuck in and relieves the defense in pressure situations, which with the way we have been playing recently away from home that helps immensely.

Its not AOB all of a sudden BMC, its that we are very limited and we require someone of his ability at the moment, given the fact we dont have any better players, if we had 3 richard dunnes then no one would want OBrien back.

I fear in the next 10 years how poor our team is going to be.....there is probably going to be no one in the top four in the premiership and a lot more in the championship, unless clubs in the EL build ties with foreign clubs, or we create a school of excellence or something with ties to foreign clubs. The premiership is going to be more foreign and English concentrated with less chances for Irish lads....

Kingdom great post. I think Ireland is over-rated slightly alright, buut he still manages to pop in situations - where our strikers should be i might add - where no one else in the Ireland team does, and scores, 4 times cant be lucky, and his finishing is exquisite.

QUOTE]

Paul, I wasn't saying Ireland is overrated, I was saying he shouldn't be mentioned at all till he's back playing![/

I wouldn't worry about the future of the Senior team. More and more promising youngsters are coming through. Paramount to this is the continued improvement in the domestic league. I've come round to this way of thinking. Truth be told I'd actively discourage young fellas joining the likes of United Arsenal and Liverpool unless they are truely exceptional. I'm talking Messi exceptional as opposed to Stokes exceptional here! thinking back to when i was a schoolboy and the amount of genuinely regular players who went to England, its not funny.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    unless clubs in the EL build ties with foreign clubs, or we create a school of excellence or something with ties to foreign clubs.
    That's an awful suggestion Paul. That's the last thing the domestic game needs.

Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    That's an awful suggestion Paul. That's the last thing the domestic game needs.
    Ya, I had a feeling that some mightn't like that, so maybe I should have qualified it a little more. Here is an example, I reckon Mick wallace ( i dont have a clue just a thought ) could have contacts with a few italian clubs, and if a young fella came through that he rated highly, he would probably keep him at the youths for a good while, maybe arrange a trial with some italian club, if he is successful keep him at youths for another while and develop and nurture the player, until he is ready for a bigger move. I think this would help develop players, not necessarily good for the league alright, a "brain" drain ( player drain in this case ) maybe, but maybe EL clubs could benefit the other way round too, if they had the money to pay wages for a young player on loan. It probably sounds a bit naieve, but I think it good be great for the Irish football team, how else are the players ever going to get out of the "lets go to england rut", cos lets face it if they are better than the rest of the players in the EL, they are going to leave, wouldn't it be better they got a chance somewhere continental as oppossed to staying around in England sitting warming the bench or whatever. The league has got a lot more to do firstly than just keep players at home, a lot more things to sort out before it can viably offer a player of above EL ability.

Kingdom, I knew you werent on about ireland, i just meant great post. i should have started another paragraph.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 07/03/2008 at 9:52 AM.

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Aiden is the 7th son of a 7th son.
    I'd be more impressed if he scored 7 goals in 7 games!!!
    "We didn't underestimate them. They were just a lot better than we thought."

Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    Truth be told I'd actively discourage young fellas joining the likes of United Arsenal and Liverpool unless they are truely exceptional. I'm talking Messi exceptional as opposed to Stokes exceptional here!
    In Stokes case I think joining Arsenal helped him, I think Arsenal is probably the best place for a young player to go to improve as a player even if they will never be good enough for the starting XI

Hunt too , "fighting spirit" and "passion" do not an international quality player make,Worth a place in the squad probably though

214 Posts
    why don't we just name the whole team? Captain included?

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast