Thread: Famous Relations

50 Posts
    John Devine formerly of Arsenal is a relative of mine not quite sure he's famous enough though

Have had a few run ins with famous people though, I'm quite possibly the only person whose been threatend with the Garda by both Twink & Mark Kennedy
    You show me a good loser and I'll show you a loser - Vince Lombardi

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wangball View Post
    John Devine formerly of Arsenal is a relative of mine not quite sure he's famous enough though

Have had a few run ins with famous people though, I'm quite possibly the only person whose been threatend with the Garda by both Twink & Mark Kennedy
    A mate of mine was in the orchard inn, Letterkenny one night, we met Packie Bonner at the bar and he went up and offered to buy Packie a pint, when he handed him the pint he said to Packie "its not a football so I reckon ya won't drop this" Fair to say he wasn't Packies favourite person that night.

Quote Originally Posted by deecay View Post
    My second cousin is Martin Mc Donagh,in March 2006 he won an Academy Award (......) He recently told Sean Connery to **** off when Connery confronted him about not standing for the Queen at a celeb dinner thing in London.

Not all that recently. It occurred (According to McDonagh) at a theatre function with his brother back in 2000.

He was, by his own admission , locked drunk on Vodka, and was already living up to the drunk ignorant Irish sterotype before the incident occurred. He had no idea who it was that was telling him to stand for a toast. He Did tell the interloper (Connery) to F*** off, but seemingly apologised afterwards because his mammy read the story in the papers and made him.

He stated that she still didnt speak to him for years afterwards because of the embarrassment he caused.

The story has ressurected because, coincidentally, He's launching a film in America about Hard drinking , foul mouthed Irishmen with hearts of gold, and it's a great icebreaker for the press release so the reporters from The Chicken Neck, Iowa gazette (who dont know nor care about his distinguished theatre career) can as him about his "confrontation" with James bond, with a background of being drunk, & the whole 800 years of opression thing.

(In Bruges is bloody good, mind you. As was Six Shooter.)
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

kate nash. met her a good few times.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Hook a fellow Rovers fan up!

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    i believe i take the biscuit for this one im so class amnt i!!

I'm related to THE Conor O Grady.

And the fat janitor that used to be in Friends.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    I am going to guess Kevin Kilbane.
    My guess is Kevin Nolan!
    Or maybe some of the Rossi footballers caught playing naked pool
    Frankie Dolan/Stephen Lohan/Nigel Dineen?

Or maybe Percy French or Albert Reynolds?

Barney Rock the Dublin GAA player is an uncle of mine. Graham Gartland of Drogheda is my cousin.
    4th official"Dermot, relax with the swearing" .Keely"Ah its grand, he's me son"

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    And the fat janitor that used to be in Friends.
    **** off,really?
    RIP JOHNNY

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Does she talk the way she sings? Accent wise?

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    i'll buy you something nice if you come!! please?

Ooh Matron!
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

One of my uncles was a ceo of Independent Newspapers i think it was , thats about it

My dad's great uncle something McMillan or McMullan played for Celtic in the late 20's early thirties. also my cousins husband is a Director of the club.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Niall Quinn is my granaunts son or something like that, met him once at a family shindig in Tipperary, nice guy
    suddenly it all makes sense
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    suddenly it all makes sense
    What does? My awesomeness?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Brian O'Driscoll is a distant cousin of mine, I think Bertie Ahern might be as well, although I might be imagining that.

John Cotter, formerly of Cork City, is my second cousin.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Does playing for Wexford Youths mean your famous? That's about as famous as it gets with my relations!
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

my auld lads cousin is married to chippy brady...
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

112 Posts
    My dad was allegedly a distant cousin of Joe Dolan. I used to get a lot of questions asking was I related to Frank Stapleton (my surname). No such luck.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7 View Post
    My dad was allegedly a distant cousin of Joe Dolan. I used to get a lot of questions asking was I related to Frank Stapleton (my surname). No such luck.
    Hold on...does that make you related to the other Stapelton that supports Longford...