Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: George O Callaghan

George O Callaghan

annoys me very much the critisism being currently levelled at georgie at the moment.He has to be one of the most skillful players in the loi presently,do people want to go back to the dark days when we all had sore necks looking at the hoofed football city played.When there was talk of him leaving people were in uproar now thats forgotten people go back to slagging him off again.Hoggie was at fault for the goal against bohs how many of u slagged him off last nite.City are short one or two players at least when we do get those players we will have a championship winning team.So give it up sit back enjoy the football support and enjoy geoggies skill

Well said.

I suppose it's one of the bad things about getting big crowds - you get a lot of clowns who know nothing about football.

I think there should be something said to a fella shouting too much abuse (be it by people around him or by a steward)

The thing is it's only a minority of idiots who don't appreciate Georgie.

Originally posted by Neil
    Well said.

I think there should be something said to a fella shouting too much abuse (be it by people around him or by a steward)
    These guys wouldn't be worth talking to, pure pysho (unless, as you say a steward does it).
    Much better idea to shout encouragement at George.
    Helps him on the pitch and p**sses them off.
    It is great to hear them go quiet when he does something like last nights nutmeg!

BTW, see the Longford fan arrested and taken off in the twin-bulb..went to "talk" to the ref but got nowhere near him.

@ndy
    Originally posted by SSS
    These guys wouldn't be worth talking to, pure pysho (unless, as you say a steward does it).
    It is great to hear them go quiet when he does something like last nights nutmeg!

BTW, see the Longford fan arrested and taken off in the twin-bulb..went to "talk" to the ref but got nowhere near him.
    I was over with the town fans at 2-1 and they were pretty upset alright...

Great game...right from the off...delighted to've been there.

Originally posted by SSS
    Can anyone go into this area of the stand or is it only Season Ticket holders?

Something should be done once and for all about these apes.

Mostly season ticket holders only, but there a few seats always empty and not all seats have names on them.

Never seems to be a steward checking the tickets these days..

Not sure there's much point engaging these guys - if City won the league they'd complain about not winning the cup.

all good points, george gets a ridiculous amount of criticism. He's probably the most talented player in the country, and is a joy to watch. I suppose players like him always seem to get stick if they don't get it right all the time. People who are thinking of slagging him should close their eyes and think of hartigan- that should shut them up

I think I might actually venture over to the stand for a bit at the next game and give George a bit of encouragment and p!ss off these fools, the idiots obviously don't appreciate quality footballers like George and, believe me, players like that are a rare breed.

Something has got to be done about these fellas, if the abuse was justified you wouldn't take much notice but George is our best player and does not deserve to be treated like that. Something needs to be said to Lennox or Dolan and hopefully they will take action.
    Champions!

I have to say that George can annoy me in some games where he is doing far to much moaning, but that is completely balanced out by his skill level. He is a joy to watch when he is on top of his form and has even improved, if thats possible, this season. I thought that most of the criticism and abuse had died away though?

The abuse is coming almost entirely from the whinging englishman, his Cork mate, the mates son and one other nutter standing at the back wall. I sit just in front of these people and it is enough to ruin a great match like last nights. They are obsessed with O'Callaghan, though they always refer to him as 'George' - kind of cute, that, and I suspect they may be harbouring fantasies. Last night, as usual, the englishman said George's name over a hundred times....makes you wonder...At this point, I sense that everyone in the vicinity is fit to smack them, but we're all too polite to do anything. I don't know if anything can be done by officials, but if we have to wait for the fans to erupt in a furious temper, it won't be a pleasant sight.

George

Totally agree that there are some people out to criticize George no matter what. I sat in the DF last night and a father with his 2 sons in front of me turned around to the 2 sons after approx 2 minutes and said in a loud voice "see I told you you George is useless and is moaning and whinging again he will do that all through the match" I could not believe this muppet and I sid back they let all kindsof plonkers in here these days to watch matches but I dont think he was inteligent enough to cop on. btw i think it was Tim Carey who was abused in the dugout last night by Keogh just because the ball fell between his legs and he was not quick enough to throw it back . Keogh deserved his sending off and what about when Pat was offering a handshake to the LT players later most (not all) refused like children

Originally posted by Schunter Netz
    The abuse is coming almost entirely from the whinging englishman, his Cork mate, the mates son and one other nutter standing at the back wall.
    Sounds like the few bad apples that were dishing it out to Pat Morley for ages.

If it's definitely just these 4 something can be done alright.

They can't be thrown out by stewards for giving a fella abuse but if enough people complain them to the club maybe something can be done.

I must take a wander over at the next game.

If we're playing West Ham it would be the perfect oppurtunity! Yer man probably will be "supporting" the London thugs!

See "Stadium Regulations" in the program......!

Just want to bring everyone's attention to page 15 of the Official Club Program.

It states clearly that "behaviour likely to cause a nuisance of any kind or abusive languague is not permitted"

Also, it says that "the Ground Management will not tolerate any form of threatening behaviour, and obscene chanting is strictly forbidden".

OK then let's see these morons ( particularly that English guy who gave Skippy such a torrid time a few years ago ) turffed out next time they open their mouths.
    Irish by birth,
    Cork by the grace of God.

the only problem is if you start implementing these things to the letter is that you're going to get fellas kicked out for chanting "the referee's a w@nker" etc

Maybe Georgie should come out to South America - was at a River Plate game here today. The fans will only appreciate skill. Any decisive pieces of defending almost went unnoticed by the crowd, but the slightest piece of skilful attacking play is greeted.
    Effenberg played like my grandmother!

Exclamation .............

Originally posted by Éanna
    the only problem is if you start implementing these things to the letter is that you're going to get fellas kicked out for chanting "the referee's a w@nker" etc
    It is not like there is a fine line between these guys and the normal joe soap. They are well over the top. It is not liek they are being singled out. They are at it for years and it seems to be getting worse, ..... a stitch in time is what it needed (but not before time).

Anyone that behaves themselves properly in public should be OK. We all have a bit of banter or use colourful language from time to time. I cant see anyone being punished for that. Excesive personal abuse should be punished.

Again .... you need to tell the club, if they dont know then they cant do anything about it and it will just keep going on. Just mention it to a steward on matchdayif need be. They know what to do because thats what they are there for.

Originally posted by Éanna
    Yeah I see where your coming from but, in fairness, nobody is asking it to go that far. I think that these "rules" should only be adhered to in extreme cases such as this one.
    Roaring abuse at a ref or an opposition player is fine, we all do it, but abusing one of our own players, especially when he is one of our best, is another matter. It's the fact that the abuse is so unjustified that gets to me.
    I think it is safe to say that it is only a few ignorant pr!cks who are responsible and they need to be made an example of!
    Champions!

Question ........

What section do the four in question sit in

A

A1

B

B1

??

As it happens 451 did have a bit towards the back on George and his relationship with the crowd.Twas a good read actually this month lads,Well done.
    It's all just a bunch of Tree-Hugging hippy crap.

I think Georgie is a great pleyer and i wouldnt dream of critisising him at a match but for some reason his skill seems superficial,like he has no substance.I dont know why.............
    If olive oil comes from olives, where does baby oil come from?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast