Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Cancelled Irish Rail services

176 Posts

Thumbs down Cancelled Irish Rail services

....and we're not getting there either

This is what you're annual 5% fare increase goes towards. Cancelled services during the week and at weekends on the Heuston route.

Joke.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    ....and we're not getting there either

This is what you're annual 5% fare increase goes towards. Cancelled services during the week and at weekends on the Heuston route.

Joke.
    I very much doubt the 5% fare increase went towards funding an illegal strike.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Thumbs down

I presume rail drivers are part of the National Wage Agreement? Does this agreement not mean they cannot strike like this?

While it has no impact on me as I do not use the train it is hard for me to think of a group I have less respect for. IMO train drivers are notorious for unofficial strikes. Just doing a google search gives long list of disputes.

Apparently it is deemed ok to strike because of disagreement over drivers' rosters and work efficiencies when there numerous mechanism to discuss those issues. How can they justify striking while also using the LRC?

RTE News

634 Posts
    it is a joke. Because this train is cancelled I'll be leaving the house at 5.15 next week to get me to work for 8.00. Irish rail are a joke.

1) the 9.00pm train to cork has no catering facilities.
    2) the last train out of heuston at any stage of the week is 11.00.
    3) The first train arrives at heuston at 07.05.
    4) the super-duper new limerick trains are two trains joined together. As a result if you are unlucky you will have no catering facilities whatsoever.

I could go on. I'm sick of them and have to use them every day of the bloody week.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

I don't think NBRU are in Congress (it's hard to keep up with whether there are or not), so are not actually party to the national wage agreements. I think that train drivers just have more impact, as one can stop a train.

Don't know the in's and out's of the case, but the Unions are denying there is any action taking place - it seems to be drivers not willing to do overtime to cover other drivers. I certainly wouldn't be trusting Barry Kenny's version as the reality.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Don't know the in's and out's of the case, but the Unions are denying there is any action taking place - it seems to be drivers not willing to do overtime to cover other drivers.
    I have to assume that is part of their contract. Train drivers have to cover sick leave of other train drivers as no one else can do it.

I remember recently train stoppages were also caused because no drivers available to cover the sick leave of other drivers. This seems to mean that all the drivers on sick leave.

I can't help feel that they abuse a system where no one else can do their job as this is not a once off.

176 Posts
    Why do these disputes only bother Heuston route drivers?? The drivers on the Connolly route are happy to drive from Belfast/Sligo-Connolly, Drogheda-Rosslare, without moaning.

Because of works at one station every week, every train to/from Heuston is cancelled on Saturday nights/Sunday mornings. We don't even have night trains like in Europe, so why can't "essential" engineering works be carried out then??

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Why do these disputes only bother Heuston route drivers?? The drivers on the Connolly route are happy to drive from Belfast/Sligo-Connolly, Drogheda-Rosslare, without moaning.
    Maybe different union representation? I forget the name but which union was lead by Ingle - was he the one leading the wildcat strikes around I suppose the late 90s?

If the Trade Union movement condemned unofficial & clearly pointless strikes such as these would improve its credibility. The strike as likely to affect othetr union members as non union members.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Maybe different union representation? I forget the name but which union was lead by Ingle - was he the one leading the wildcat strikes around I suppose the late 90s?

If the Trade Union movement condemned unofficial & clearly pointless strikes such as these would improve its credibility. The strike as likely to affect othetr union members as non union members.
    His name was Brendan Ogle and he formed a breakaway union called ILDA. I think Irish Rail refused to recognise them and they went out on strike for 10 weeks but went back to work without a result. I think ILDA still exists but is now affiliated to ATGWU.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

I have to assume that is part of their contract. Train drivers have to cover sick leave of other train drivers as no one else can do it.

I remember recently train stoppages were also caused because no drivers available to cover the sick leave of other drivers. This seems to mean that all the drivers on sick leave.

I can't help feel that they abuse a system where no one else can do their job as this is not a once off.
    If the drivers were breaching their contract, with what the management are claiming is unofficial action, surely they'd just use their disciplinary procedures?

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    His name was Brendan Ogle and he formed a breakaway union called ILDA. I think Irish Rail refused to recognise them and they went out on strike for 10 weeks but went back to work without a result. I think ILDA still exists but is now affiliated to ATGWU.
    Thats the guy alright. I seem to remember heard his name associated with some other union recently. Maybe the Dublin Bus drivers?

If the drivers were breaching their contract, with what the management are claiming is unofficial action, surely they'd just use their disciplinary procedures?
    I believe they have complained to the LRC.

Thats the guy alright. I seem to remember heard his name associated with some other union recently. Maybe the Dublin Bus drivers?
    Worse, he's in the ESB now.

He's a full time Union rep in one of the ESB unions. Have heard on the radio and their arguements with Management - unfortunately I don't think he'll ever shake off the name he gained from the ILDA dispute.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Spoke too soon.

Unbelievable

He's a full time Union rep in one of the ESB unions. Have heard on the radio and their arguements with Management - unfortunately I don't think he'll ever shake off the name he gained from the ILDA dispute.
    In the same way the Gardai cannot strike I wonder if anyway to keep him away from vital state assets like the ESB. Apparently salaries very high at the ESB which should preclude against strikes. I remember in recent years workers getting paid to do nothing for a couple of years due to renovations but that was probably Management decision. I don't think anyone wants to see ESB strikes.

I may be wrong,but is he not now employed by the AGTWU as a full-time union officer and has been 'allocated' to ESB.

One thing I have often wondered about was in time of strikes the workers on the picket lines suffer loss of pay but the full time trade union officials(who are usually those who appear on TV or are interviewed on radio) are still being paid. It is easy to spout off about principles but when it is not costing you money it is easy to spout off.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

I may be wrong,but is he not now employed by the AGTWU as a full-time union officer and has been 'allocated' to ESB.
    Aye, that's what I meant, probably wasn't clear though.

One thing I have often wondered about was in time of strikes the workers on the picket lines suffer loss of pay but the full time trade union officials(who are usually those who appear on TV or are interviewed on radio) are still being paid. It is easy to spout off about principles but when it is not costing you money it is easy to spout off.
    But a union official can't unilaterally call a strike - it has to go to a ballot of the members. In most unions, they won't even ballot until they know there's a strong majority in favour. Even if a ballot is in favour of action, but isn't clear cut then most unions won't sanction the action. Sure the full time official spouting off about principles might not even agree with the action - but it's their job to represent the members.

I don't agree with the government's electricity policies but I think the ESB workers would be better off electing someone who can speak knowledgeably on the issues rather than someone from outside who's argument and tactics are based on confrontation and disruption rather than persuasion.

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    I could go on. I'm sick of them and have to use them every day of the bloody week.
    Here, here. I also have to put up with this inept, rude overpriced service on a daily basis.

A few months ago, I witnessed one or their "security guards" blatantly intimidating a youngster (quiet lad standing there reading a book) on a packed train. I spent 3 weeks trying to get somewhere with their customer service and found them to be nothing short of rude and unhelpful. They never once replied to any of my contacts like they said they would.

Trains are delayed on a regular basis and constantly overcrowded. If conjestion charges were introduced and this resulted in a decrease in the level of traffic in the city centre, I would happily pay the charge e/w to avoid using trains.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    Here, here. I also have to put up with this inept, rude overpriced service on a daily basis.

A few months ago, I witnessed one or their "security guards" blatantly intimidating a youngster (quiet lad standing there reading a book) on a packed train. I spent 3 weeks trying to get somewhere with their customer service and found them to be nothing short of rude and unhelpful. They never once replied to any of my contacts like they said they would.

Trains are delayed on a regular basis and constantly overcrowded. If conjestion charges were introduced and this resulted in a decrease in the level of traffic in the city centre, I would happily pay the charge e/w to avoid using trains.
    Its turning into an everyday thing now.
    http://www.railusers.ie/ is a great website. Their customer service is widely regarded as a joke. They must reply to you if you write to them, that's widely accepted.
    When I say I use their service seven days a week, I'm not lying. And very rarely do you get a mistake free journey. Today there were numerous problems. I get my weekly ticket on a Monday. I arrived at 1.57 for the 2.05 train, ample time to buy a ticket from the staff member. Except he wasn't there. Plus you cannot buy the type of ticket I use from one of their vending machines. So I'd to buy a single to Heuston (which is €1.50 cheaper than a return ), and then buy my weekly there.
    When I came out of the main concourse to wait on the bus to work, there were numerous beggars, drunks, junkies, call them what you will, harassing the waiting passengers of the Luas and Bus. Twice when asking for money this couple touched a very elderly woman and a nervous well-off lady with a less than 6month old child. Yet the Stasi employed by Irish Rail just laughed and watched on. The shower of fcukers. Then an Irish Rail bigwig drove up to the main entrance, illegally of course, and one of the said scum got to within 20 ft and the Stasi member had him on the deck.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast