Thread: Starting XI against Waterford

47 Posts
    The honest answer Forzawexford is, I couldn't tell you!!!. The new stand is on the far side of the pitch and we couldn't hear anything from the PA system, no substitutions, music, announcements etc
    I know the Pavarotti was requested by the players

Punta Arenas, Puerto Montt & everywhere in between
    37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ForzaWexford View Post
    Another 1 goal defeat! Out of the country so couldn't go, had to make do with Liam feckin Spratt.
    do south east radio broadcast the home and away matches live?
    Last edited by WexCar; 08/03/2008 at 11:06 AM.

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WexCar View Post
    do south east radio broadcast the home and away matches live?
    No then don't then are covering 6 home games this season which is more than last year so a start.

Last night match was an improvement on the performances of last year. Play like that for rest of season and mid table will be ours.

More people signing and supporting the team. Need to get some speakers on the side of the pitch with the stand though.

Still not sure about starting line up though. Impressed by Murphy up front but think he would get more out of the game with a striking partner not just support from the midfield
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

47 Posts
    If you check the Waterford forums, WLR cancelled their broadcast, so they tuned in to South East Radio and I believe that Liam Spratt made his usual total t*t of himself. If we want to attract potential 'maybe' visitors to Ferrycarrig Park, lets get professional about it

That was a great game of football. We showed Waterford too much respect for the first half hour but after that it was as if the lads realised that there was nothing to be afraid of and started to really go at them. We should have had at least a draw and if we play like that for the rest of the season we'll be alright.

Cracking atmosphere by the way, the best I've seen at home. Hope the crowds keep up. I understand that the attendance was 1,826 paying customers plus season ticket holders so somewhere between 1,900 and 1,950.

I don't want to keep going on about the standard of refereeing, but even by the usual standards he was awful. I think he was the only one in the ground who saw what the peno was for. Only for that I think we could have won it. But, the first half hour aside, it was a very encouraging start.

60 Posts
    Well, lads, even ignoring the three points, I have to say it was a great trip back for the game. Good atmosphere and a good sized crowd for any League game. For a new club, you are really on top of a lot of things, and hopefully you'll enhance your standing as the seasons progress.

I'm bloody glad though that the temporary stand was up as it was fierce nippy. I also presume that in the longer run there are plans for an entrance onto the main road (N11?) - I walked out from Wexford and I was gutted when I discovered how far I'd have to go when I was to all intents and purposes within a few metres of the ground.

Good luck in your next 8 games - I hope ye do well.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

47 Posts
    Thanks Bluebird. There are big issues with that stretch of road and I don't see any entrance being put there. The NRA say it would be too dangereous but I think it would be safer having access for a few hours each match day, rather than the narrow back roads. We're used to them but visitors aren't.
    By the way, who told you it was a gentle stroll from town to the ground anyway

I saw a Wateford fella walking the back roads allright, around 7:30 ish, poor sod. It's a fair treck from town allright. You couldnt have a path there as loads of ppl would end up parking there in an effort to beat the traffic.

It was my first Youths game and my first LoI game since the mid 90's when we used to trapse over to Kilkenny for the odd game, ive been abroad since. I tought it was a great occasion and will definitely be back as often as possible, will miss the next one however (Kildare) due to work I'll probably get to the Cobh game.

As for the game, which was a great exhibition, Wexford definetly deserved a point. Waterford had a man sent off but could have been 1 or 2 more, WX got punished for two sloppy defensive mistakes. I was impressed at how the didnt fold after the early goal and fought really well after a tentative opening.
    If Wateford are one of the top teams in this division Wexford should be good for a top 4 or 6 finish. The WX striker Murphy looked decent, Mark Hughes type of player, also the central midfielder, cant remember his name. Hawkins was a bit wobbly as a sweeper but i liked the way he at least tried to distribute the ball. Hopefully he'll grow into the role. WD knew they robbed us, especially when we clipped the post near the end.

The ref and linesmen were pretty poor:
    1) several wrong offisde calls
    2) WD got a free when the foul was clearly inside the box(1st half)
    3) WD player handled the ball in the box 1st half nothing
    4) WD should have had a few more sent off, lot of professional fouling going on, when WX were bursting from midfield
    5) dunno what the peno was for, someone said handball but no one saw it
    Last edited by Splurge; 11/03/2008 at 10:34 AM.
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes to his friends

47 Posts
    Hi Splurge,

I came back to LOI football last year for our 1st season after (many) years away. My advice on the standard of referreeing is to just accept it or else you will make yourself ill. What you saw on Friday, and I fully agree with you, is the usual standard you can expect. All you can hope for is that the sh*t balances out over the year

60 Posts
    Yup, that was me walking the roads. I had come over on the ferry from London that morning, and I thought a gentle stroll from the town would clear the head while waiting for the game. A body gets excited with the advent of the new season
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Next time you're over, give one of us a shout and we'll look after you (Now where can I find that smilie with the gimp mask?)

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Splurge View Post
    If Wateford are one of the top teams in this division Wexford should be good for a top 4 or 6 finish. The WX striker Murphy looked decent, Mark Hughes type of player, also the central midfielder, cant remember his name. Hawkins was a bit wobbly as a sweeper but i liked the way he at least tried to distribute the ball. Hopefully he'll grow into the role. WD knew they robbed us, especially when we clipped the post near the end.
    Steady on a bit Splurge. While you did come close right at the end, and certainly could have nicked a point, you're kind of overlooking Bermingham's three glorious missed chances (firing just over in a similar position to the goal, having his shot stopped on the line with the keeper beaten, and firing wildly over in the 2nd half when it was easier to score), and Breener's header that looped up onto the top of the crossbar, again with the keeper beaten. So while we could well have ended up settling for a point, robbed is a bit strong.
    However ye looked a decent side, strong and fit, and miles better than the team that came to the RSC last season. Would have to see Murphy play a few more times to see if he's a player to be honest, but that Flynn-O'Connor chap in the midfield looks tidy.
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Steady on a bit Splurge. While you did come close right at the end, and certainly could have nicked a point, you're kind of overlooking Bermingham's three glorious missed chances (firing just over in a similar position to the goal, having his shot stopped on the line with the keeper beaten, and firing wildly over in the 2nd half when it was easier to score), and Breener's header that looped up onto the top of the crossbar, again with the keeper beaten. So while we could well have ended up settling for a point, robbed is a bit strong.
    However ye looked a decent side, strong and fit, and miles better than the team that came to the RSC last season. Would have to see Murphy play a few more times to see if he's a player to be honest, but that Flynn-O'Connor chap in the midfield looks tidy.
    Thing was any chance you lot got we basically handed to you. The miss when Hawkins put him clear through was criminal. WD played more effectively by fouling in harmless areas of the pitch when we countered, we were away 2 or 3 times when we got taken out of it. A draw would have been a fair result, it was the individual unforced errors that did us.
    Hopefully next time the concentration will be better.
    I'm sure WD can play better than they did aswell, i've only seen them play 90 minutes.

Bluebeard, you were near the ground when i saw you, i tought you were someone who lived nearby or something. You should have put the thumb out and someone would have picked you up, especially on the back rds when they would see that your going to the game.

47 Posts
    Kinda agree with Stann and Splurge. Both have valid points. Main thing is we've started a bit of local derby thing going forward. Pity Kilkenny aren't around to make it a 3 ball

Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    Main thing is we've started a bit of local derby thing going forward. Pity Kilkenny aren't around to make it a 3 ball
    Agreed, i might even crawl out of my armchair for the away fixture.