I know but what exactly can the club do about it?
oh right Dara didnt know ye didnt own Richmond ???
but what im saying is if something happens outside Richmond, then its inevitable that an "element" of Pats fans will be the first ot have the finger pointed at. Same would happen up here with us, or any LOI ground.
I know but what exactly can the club do about it?
Jennnings was poor for first & very poor for second. Thought the defense had no confidence in his decision making by the end - he is not the answer. Big problem was that we were overrun in the middle of the field all night. Conor does not cover box to box & Boco does'nt win the ball - didnt get up to help Faz & overall I was disappointed in him last night. If we dont get that sorted we are in BIG trouble, we just cant expect to be competitive without more physicality there. Turner or Hughsie please come back !!
On the positive side - Almeida very good, definitely fouled for the third goal. Jaime did well, thought Butler was good defensively (they took off Ryan) but agree Doherty needs to improve. Hate to be negative but thought defense overall was'nt bad & returning players wont sort out the midfield.
Just as an FYI, the clash of colours made the front page of the Independent's sports section today, albeit not the main story.
There are severe sanctions within the new FAI club license for any club that takes a legal route.
Anyway on to the game. I thought we were very poor in the first half, and although Sligo didn't create much it was no real surprise when you took the lead. We fell asleep at the free kick but the goal was taken very well. It gave us a much needed kick up the arse and we started to play ball and Jennings did well to keep you ahead at half time
2nd half we came out much better and scored 3 quick goals. Jennings seems to be wrong footed for 2nd goal, and your defence looked lost for third goal. After hat we seemed to sit back again and Sligo had a fair bit of possesion without looking too threatening.
Nothing they,FAI, can do if a private company who happen who produce our jerseys takes legal action , not as if its the club who mentioned legal action.
To be honest we (Rovers) have to take alot of the blame as a quick phonecall the day before the game would have clarified any possible colour clashes and the black jerseys that we used at last years Pats away matches could have been dug out as an emergency.
As a Pats post previously mentioned Pats have had the same jersey design for ages at this stage.
Rovers have changed theres year on year for the last 16 years now, we put Man Utd's jersey policy in the hapenny place!!
Both kit supplier and Club sponsor the McSweeney Group are seriously considering legal action.
How are the league going to sanction parties who are not directly linked with the league?
Plus it was the league who gave clearance for the particular jerseys to be worn in the first place.
A JOKE!
Whats that comin' over the hill
It's the Monster,
The Cookie Monster!
Thought it was a decent enough match myself. Pat's were very disappointing in the first half, seemed to be unsure of who was taking responsibility in midfield. Fahey and Dempsey are similar players and neither seemed to want to do the dirty work. In the second half Dempsey sat deeper and reduced the influence of Boco (who had some fantastic touches). Jennings looked a liability under crosses, his positioning is shocking for a keeper at that level. I thought Raf Cretaro was man of the match for Sligo at right back. He was in front of me in the second half and he never put a foot wrong. Dempsey was the best Pat's player, the back four looked a bit shaky for Pat's, given time I'd say O'Cearuill and Harris will make a good pairing.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Tallaght Stadium Regular
there is the thread for the colour clash http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=85119&page=7
The same thing happened v Derry City last year up in the brandywell.Where Sligo Rover had to wear Derry Citys second jersey.I dont remember a big deal then.
Also happened in the Showgrounds 4/5 years ago when Rovers won't change where or 'Home' WHITE strip clashed with the away team's away kit. The away team that night had to wear a green strip which Rovers supplied from a local junior side. Not sure of the details but I remember it happening. Last Friday the shoe was on the other foot and we create a big fuss. Sic.
Boils down to this IMO:
Sligo Rovers are to partly blame for not having the cop on to realise Derry and Pats wear red and white, therefore we should have a 3rd kit, be it green,black whatever
Pats are partly at fault for holding the game up, and not just wearing their away kit.
The FAI are partly at fault for not realising Rovers and Pats both wear red and white and not requesting Jako to supply Rovers with a 3rd kit.
Anyone remember when we playe Pats in cup in 2005 and we had to change to all white because Pats forgot their away jersey?![]()
thought jennings made a few decent saves in the first half. yis seems to try and play some decent football. what is the general opinion of paul cook.
Saint Patricks Athletic Fans Team. Eircom League Supporters Cup Champions 2006. P3 W2 D1 L0 F3 A0. Thats why we're champions, Thats why we're champions, Thats why.............
At the end of the day really what's the point in playing the blame game? The real issue here is keeping the sponsors and kit supplier happy. Rovers play in red, how many other teams play in red (I'm too lazy to count) the logical solution when picking a second kit is to pick a colour which won't clash. White is a universal colour and almost every side have white in their kit so there's always a real chance of a clash. A neutral colour such as .... ?
I watch Man City last night on TV and their second colour is a type of purple. I thought it look good. We don't really have a second colour we can call our own so maybe we should have a poll here to determine what our second colour should be. A colour clash is something we should never have to endure again, it's not good no matter what way we look at it. Down through the years we have tried many colours, green, yellow, black, white, black and green, black and yellow, black and white. I'm sure there's others. Let's pick a colour where there is absolutely no chance of a colour clash and stck with it and let's get back to talking about the beautiful game instead of bickering about something as trivial as the colour of our shirts.
What else could he have done really? our 2 best defenders out through suspension, and ventre aswell who would be in contention for a start.
i thought he was right to go with moore in the middle, it worked well in the first half, the got a couple of chances but alot of the time they were depending on the long ball from harris or o'cearuill and they couldnt get oast us, even up until the first goal i dont think they really threatened in the second half, it seemed to be going well with the formation