Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: St. Pats V Rovers - Game 1 (3-1)

lost 3-1
    fell apart in 7 min spell
    what happened where did the defence go

Quote Originally Posted by roversman View Post
    where did the defence go
    Coleman - Suspended
    Peers - Suspended
    Ventre - Suspended

was always going to be tough start to the season with those guys missing.

Quote Originally Posted by Boo_Boy View Post
    Coleman - Suspended
    Peers - Suspended
    Ventre - Suspended

well we had four at the back and 5 in midfield
    where did they all go

Quote Originally Posted by roversman View Post
    well we had four at the back and 5 in midfield
    where did they all go
    i dont know,but hopefully they stayed on the field of play...

Just like to make a point.
    St Pats have registered the home jersey as ALL RED (NO WHITE)
    Sligo away kit is ALL WHITE , THE ref argument was the sleeves so
    who should have changed

Would you **** off, Pats have had the same style kit for the past 15 years.

What kind of tinpot club has an away kit so close to their home kit, or doesn't ring the opposition to check. Pathetic amateurism

if you have any dop go to your club and find out
    or maybe check it out with the fai

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    What kind of tinpot club has an away kit so close to their home kit, or doesn't ring the opposition to check. Pathetic amateurism
    Home kit = red
    Away kit = white

Didnt realise those colours were so similar.

its you who have you're home kit registered as all red.
    our home kit is red shirts, red shorts and red socks. and our away kit is all white. big difference actually.

great first half everyone played well, thought mckenzie and ogrady were especially good. was impressed with maouro aswell! but everyone played their part in the 1st half.

a 7 minute spell in the second half killed us. jennings came for a cross and then hesitated when the ball was on its way into the box and was caught a yard off his line, for the 2nd goal the ball was crossed along the edge of the box from the left, looked like it was going out to the right wing but ryan guy sneaked in in front of defender, jennings had already started to position himself to one side of the goal as he thought the ball would just elude everyone, a low header from 18 yards beat him though. he had an excellent game in the first half in fairness to him, although im sure he'd even admit he was probably at fault for the first 2 goals.
    for the third the ball was in the air on edge of box, there was a slight push on almeida and ball fell for guy who hammerd it into top corner, great finish
    unlucky lads!

Yikes. Bottom of the table! A great display in the first half but defensively we always looked like conceding. Not sure about Jennings. He made some great saves but his decision making isn't great.

Almedia is poor and Jamie lacks composure. Hoofing the ball into row z will only get you so far. Moore and O'Grady in midfield are too similar. Boco did well and Faz led the line and was unlucky with a great free.

Too early to make judgements but defensively i think we will again be found wanting even with Peers and Seamie back.

Overall i think we'll do okay but will probably do well to finish 6th.

Best game Almedia has played,Jennings???WE WANT DICK BRUSH BACK.

3 bottles thrown at Rovers players
    RIP JOHNNY

Quote Originally Posted by redrov2005 View Post
    Yikes. Bottom of the table! A great display in the first half but defensively we always looked like conceding. Not sure about Jennings. He made some great saves but his decision making isn't great.

Almedia is poor and Jamie lacks composure. Hoofing the ball into row z will only get you so far. Moore and O'Grady in midfield are too similar. Boco did well and Faz led the line and was unlucky with a great free.

Too early to make judgements but defensively i think we will again be found wanting even with Peers and Seamie back.

Overall i think we'll do okay but will probably do well to finish 6th.
    Was I at a different game?????

Rank bad defending and goalkeeping for the third and first two goals respectively, the attempt to clear and subsequent fresh air swing on the third goal was embarrasing.

Only thing I would say in our defense is that the first goal led from a free kick being taken quickly some 5 yards away from the incident then raf tacking the winger and gicing away a corner deespite the ball clearly hitting the Pats defender whne going out.

We were lucky to hold on to the lead by half time, we realy only had two chances first half the goal and Faz shot just past the post, as we let Pats carry the ball out of defense every time.

It happened so often it had to be a tactic of cookies to defend from our half way line.

Pats were trying to use their right hand side all the first half and we did nothing to combat that.

Lads lets get real it was p*ss poor with not may being able to hold their heads up, Faz leading the line!!?? Only if it means not challenging or chasing for a ball.

What chances had we second half?

An inswinging free late on from Faz and a few nearly there crosses with nobody on the end of them.

Raf , Conor and Boco were the only ones to show anything tonight IMO.

Our left side of the team was terrible.

Cookie has to take some responsibilty for this defeat. How could he let his side drop so deep after scoring the goal. Their centre halves spent more time in our half than their own. We were well in the game until we scored, then we gave the impetus to Pats.

We were lucky to get away with it for the first half. I had hoped to see a postive change in the second, but we continued dropping back and conceded embarrasing goals. Mr Jennings won't be watching MNS.

What sort of formation were we playing from the start. Is Cookie reading a Rafa Benitez tactics book? Boco looked lost in what ever role he was supposed to be playing.

I suspect Brush, Coleman, Peers, Ventre, Cash & Judge will all start against Drogheda, which says it all really.

Very disapponting
    "Overwhelmed"

since when has red being close to white!
    also did anybody see bottles being throwing bottles at jennings and curren.
    Last edited by forza rovers; 08/03/2008 at 8:33 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Home kit = red
    Away kit = white

Didnt realise those colours were so similar.
    Fair enough, was told differently. Point remains about our kit being the same for ever (its EXACTLY the same as last years too)

Quote Originally Posted by Guts&Glory View Post
    Was I at a different game?????

Rank bad defending and goalkeeping for the third and first two goals respectively, the attempt to clear and subsequent fresh air swing on the third goal was embarrasing.

Only thing I would say in our defense is that the first goal led from a free kick being taken quickly some 5 yards away from the incident then raf tacking the winger and gicing away a corner deespite the ball clearly hitting the Pats defender whne going out.

We were lucky to hold on to the lead by half time, we realy only had two chances first half the goal and Faz shot just past the post, as we let Pats carry the ball out of defense every time.

It happened so often it had to be a tactic of cookies to defend from our half way line.

Pats were trying to use their right hand side all the first half and we did nothing to combat that.

Lads lets get real it was p*ss poor with not may being able to hold their heads up, Faz leading the line!!?? Only if it means not challenging or chasing for a ball.

What chances had we second half?

An inswinging free late on from Faz and a few nearly there crosses with nobody on the end of them.

Raf , Conor and Boco were the only ones to show anything tonight IMO.

Our left side of the team was terrible.
    I have to agree with with you totally.And to say the 3rd goal was embarrasing is a bit of an under statement u12 stuff.I think jennings is a good shot stopper but his decision making is terrible.He came for the first goal and went back and was left in no mans land.Not sure about the left full or left winger lost count how man times the left full kicked the ball out over the line.I thought or best players on the night were O Grady and Boco (Almedia) first half.Big inprovement needed next week v the champions

Wow. That was disappointing. Thught we were gonna get something out of there too, and we just collapsed. Thought Jennings was great in the first half, but crumbled in the second. The first two goals were shocking on his behalf...

Thought Almeida was excellent first half, not so much second and all in all, McKenze was probably one of our better players last night.

Agree with G&G, our left side was/is woeful. Doherty still did not impress me and he's got to improve. I'm sure he's got it in him, but i cannot abide seeing a player who does not tackle or even make an attempt to work. Butler is a hoofer and was exposed second half.

Faz can be so frustrating at times. Granted he was on his own up front, but he was poor i thought last night. For example, everytime we broke, instead of running forward with the play, Faz dropped back in front of the player with the ball and demanded it, despite being only 5/6 yards away. Disrupts the play, and the attack breaks down. That happened all the time last night.

Boco has got some beautiful touches and passes and runs are second nature to him, but thought he went missing second half. Although in fairness, the whole team did.

Ah well, not the start i was hoping for or expected, but roll on Drogs next week. We'll beat them handy!

And the craic with the kits was shocking. A professional league, and ****e like that happens. Joke.

Surely it should be on Pats to change their jersey's as their the home side.

Jennings looked very dodgy coming for any cross and he was at fault for at least 2 of the goals. Was v disappionted at the lack of effort shown by doherty. Didn't track back for the 3rd goal and left butler trying to mark 2 pats players. Doherty needs to show some commitment if he is to succeed with rovers.

I can see brush, peers, coleman & judge coming back in for next week's match. Its looking like a tough start to the season though withs drogs and bohs up next.

Good travelling support down, like all the new flags.

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast