Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: St. Pats V Rovers - Game 1 (3-1)

o'cearuil will be a great addition to pats, i was suprised to see him coming to them, thought he might have moved up a notch in england

Brush

Bulter
    Almeida
    McKenzie
    Murphy

Doherty
    O'Grady
    Moore
    Cretaro

Judge
    Boco

Cash to make impact as a sub, 2-2 draw.

Not a clue!
    Till d End!

hard to select the first 11, which is a good thing, shows we have a good squad.I'd probbaly go with

Jennings (simply because Brush has very little match practice)
    Ralph
    Almeida
    Butler
    Murphy

Doherty
    O'Grady
    Moore
    Faz

Boca
    Judge

I think Cookie will go with the same team that started the Athlone game

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    I think Cookie will go with the same team that started the Athlone game
    well it all starts on friday for cookie. It's his team now - a point on friday would be good. need to get off to a good start considering how the form dropped away in the last 9 games of last season (for a host of reasons). going to be a scrap this season so need to stay away from it all at the bottom. looking forward to friday !!!
    "Excuses are the nails used to build a house of failure"

Quote Originally Posted by akearins View Post
    hard to select the first 11, which is a good thing, shows we have a good squad.I'd probbaly go with

Ralph
    Almeida
    Butler
    Murphy

Doherty
    O'Grady
    Moore
    Faz

Boca
    Judge
    You couldnt leave your top scorer from last season in midfield, i would start Faz up front and play Boco behind him and leave grady fit in front of the back four and drop judge for this away game and play five across the middle as pats are very creative in this department. i agree with Jennings aswell, was impressed with him on Saturday nite. we all know what Brush is capable of so lets see if Jennings is up to it.

Quote Originally Posted by villarover View Post
    lets see if Jennings is up to it.
    I think he's already proved he's not, last season. If Jennings starts this we will definitely lose.

don't know if its just me but ye seem to rate this Butler fella good enough to make the starting eleven.Now I have only seen him play once.That was against Harps.Didnt look up to it, imo.I think he will at least pickup a yeelow card a game.Raph looked far more comfortsble playing there at left back against Athlone.
    Till d End!

Brush

Anto
    Feeney
    McKenzie
    Bulter

Cash
    O'Grady
    Moore
    Doherty

Judge/Faz
    Boco
    RIP JOHNNY

Quote Originally Posted by Shiba View Post
    don't know if its just me but ye seem to rate this Butler fella good enough to make the starting eleven.Now I have only seen him play once.That was against Harps.Didnt look up to it, imo.I think he will at least pickup a yeelow card a game.Raph looked far more comfortsble playing there at left back against Athlone.
    With all new signings they have to be giving time, in fairness not alone are they just after joining a new club but also a new league and prob not knowing nothing about it, it would take at least until the second series of games are played until you make your mind up on a player, then at least they have came up against the same winger/striker twice then and have a far better idea how to play them or handle them. These are young lads coming to a different country and hopefully trying there best for the club and develop as a player, and its my view that we give them all the help we can from the sidelines.

I think he's already proved he's not, last season. If Jennings starts this we will definitely lose.
    Last season in fairness he was at another club and another back four in front of him which has alot to do with a keeper confidence. This move could be the making of him!

Quote Originally Posted by deecay View Post
    Brush

Anto
    Feeney
    McKenzie
    Bulter

Cash
    O'Grady
    Moore
    Doherty

Judge/Faz
    Boco
    there is no question that faz is an automatic. you cannot drop your best player.... despite sligomans reservations/muleish tendencies. put him in midfield ahead of cash moore doherty or even o grady at a last resort. creativity is our shortfall not application(of which faz has improved immensely).
    watch berbatov at spurs... fergie admires his qualities(like cantona) .
    some fans dont like his attitude but no genuine spurs fan wants him out of the team. get over the form of two seasons ago(connor played him as a defensive midfielder)... as far as im concerned he gives his all for rovers every time.
    its the sign of a great player if drogs (champions) will pay the highest ever transfer fee for a rovers player to secure his services ... and some begrudgers question his first team place with rovers. thats ridiculous.

Quote Originally Posted by sligored View Post
    thats ridiculous.
    No it's opinion, get over it! Faz has shown he's not commited and hasn't impressed me in pre-season, simple as that. That's just me, I'm not the one picking the team...though neither are any of ye.

Quote Originally Posted by sligored View Post
    its the sign of a great player if drogs (champions) will pay the highest ever transfer fee for a rovers player to secure his services ... and some begrudgers question his first team place with rovers. thats ridiculous.
    is this correct?
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Originally Posted by Sligored
    there is no question that faz is an automatic. you cannot drop your best player.... despite sligomans reservations/muleish tendencies. put him in midfield ahead of cash moore doherty or even o grady at a last resort. creativity is our shortfall not application(of which faz has improved immensely).
    100% Correct

i think people are entitled to have concerns over faz and his selection in light of his transfer request and at the beginning i thought we should sell him rather that let him go for nothing and risk having him for a season where he puts in uncommittted performances, however as someone pointed out he is a professional footballer and if he has ambitions of moving on he should want to maintain his standards from last season and impress other clubs, Think we have to give him the benefit of the doubt and hope he plays to his potential, should have a clearer idea of this after first few games ,
    with regards to the game itself against pats am really looking forward to it, have a sneaky feeling we could get a decent result- am going with a 1-1 draw

I think he hasnt preformed over the 4 games ive seen him,he was losing the head when things didnt go right for him in some of thses games,he handed in a request after being threated so well by Cook.Id ease him back in
    RIP JOHNNY

Quote Originally Posted by Redie View Post
    100% Correct
    No, I meant that Faz would be our most expensive player sold if we were to sell him to Drogs for 40K
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Good Eircom league pullout in the Sun today. Interview with Mr Boco......

Quote Originally Posted by akearins View Post

Ralph
    Almeida
    Butler
    Murphy

Doherty
    O'Grady
    Moore
    Faz

Boca
    Judge

First 11 picks itself alright for Friday due to the suspensions in the back 4.

Not much on the bench attacking wise though IMO again this season.

I feel we have a good 16-18 players when all available though, overall a better panel than last year.

Hopefully the injuries and suspensions dont come too thick and fast.

Where is that Witch Doctors number again......

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast