Thread: Phil Bardsley

Phil Bardsley

Just read on elevenaside.com that he qualifies for us as well as Scotland and obviously England. He has yet to make his mind up on who he wants to represent.

If he is keen on us i'd be happy if he did but by the sound of it he might take a bit of persuading.

Personally i dont like people who have to be persuaded to represent us as usually these lads have only a tenuous link to us although some do go on to do well with us like Holland and Aldridge.

So it will be intersting to see how this pans out.
    I have a head only Snow White would love

3,286 Posts
    According to football365, he's first priority is to play for England, then Scotland, and he doesn't even mention qualifying to play for Ireland
    From http://www.football365.com/story/0,1...224409,00.html
    It was then [on loan at Rangers] that he spoke about his international future, revealing that then Scotland boss Walter Smith had approached him at United's training ground to gauge his interest.

Bardsley said at the time: "It's something I'll consider. My main priority is England at the minute but there's always a great chance for me to play for Scotland."

he wud never get near the england team
    we are going up

he played for rangers, forget him

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    778 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    he played for rangers, forget him
    He plays for Sunderland: forget him
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

just checked on the Scotland forums. Theyre all furious over his comments about Scotland being his back up choice. It also appears that his father was born in Glasgow on holiday and returned to england very shortly afterwards.

Won't get a sniff of an england place.
    MAybe all the irish lads at sundireland will persuade him to don the green jersey

yeah no thanks please we are not that badly off.
    In Trap we trust

244 Posts
    From a practical point of view I'd have him over any of our current fullbacks.

Very solid player.

Obviously his comments may hurt the sentimentalists among us, but he is a very good player and is only going to get better.

I for one would love to have him in the setup.

Sentimentalists my hole. Sorry is it not right that a player should actually want to play for us before we consider them. I don't know what your dating routine is like but I would not like to be the 3rd choice with a girl and I certainly don't want Ireland to be third choice with a player who would be lucky to be a thirdy choice right back with us.
    In Trap we trust

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Seagull-4-life View Post
    Won't get a sniff of an england place.
    MAybe all the irish lads at sundireland will persuade him to don the green jersey
    well if ireland is his 3rd choice (thats presuming there are no other countries he can qualify for) behind england and scotland, then phil can go jump - sounds like another kevin nolan to me

Quote Originally Posted by back of the net View Post
    well if ireland is his 3rd choice (thats presuming there are no other countries he can qualify for) behind england and scotland, then phil can go jump - sounds like another kevin nolan to me
    No I agree with you. I'd rather have Stephen Kelly or whoever than some lad who plays for us because he's not good enough for anyone else.

What this squad needs is someone to fill the dearth of half-hearted, lethargic and non-commital qualities that are so much in short supply these days.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

30 Posts
    Convince him to declare, cap him once and then leave him out in the cold
    I'm harsh, but fair

Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    Yeah if Kelly, O Shea and Joey O Brien are injured and Finnan and Carr don't come out of retirement then he might just be a useful benchwarmer for McShane!
    Have you seen the difference between Bardsley & McShane? Bardo is twice the player McShane will ever be! Bardsley would get into the the Ireland squad no problem. But he shouldn't. Let's not go back to the days of filling the squad with Englishmen who don't give a crap about the team.

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SunderlandBohs View Post
    Let's not go back to the days of filling the squad with Englishmen who don't give a crap about the team.
    Who are you talking about ? I'm not aware that we ever had a team filled with Englishmen who did not give a crap? Which team was this?

Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    Who are you talking about ? I'm not aware that we ever had a team filled with Englishmen who did not give a crap? Which team was this?
    Come on. Even the most die heart fan has to admit so players only want to play for Ireland to get a few caps. Clinton Morrison , in his first spell at Crystal Palace, said it himself. If he could get in the England squad he'd play for Ireland. How can someone whose great great great grandmother came from Kildare have the same spirnt as a player born & bred in Ireland. My great great grandmother is from Poland. That doesn't mean I consider myself Polish!

3,286 Posts
    Come on. Even the most die heart fan has to admit so players only want to play for Ireland to get a few caps. Clinton Morrison , in his first spell at Crystal Palace, said it himself. If he could get in the England squad he'd play for Ireland. How can someone whose great great great grandmother came from Kildare have the same spirnt as a player born & bred in Ireland. My great great grandmother is from Poland. That doesn't mean I consider myself Polish!
    Clinton's original claims to be Irish may be dubious, but he plays with more spirit than some Irish born players. I'm proud to have him play for Ireland.

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Clinton's original claims to be Irish may be dubious, but he plays with more spirit than some Irish born players. I'm proud to have him play for Ireland.
    Scored a few crucial goals under Kerr - most notably Swiss away and Israeli's away.

I think he's certainly worth drafting back into the squad. We're not overladen with strikers that are hitting the net at club level.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

That makes you only 7/8 Irish then, get the Feck off this board.
    Seriously though I disagree that someone who isn't born in this country can't play with the same spirit as someone born here, Cascarino had no Irish in him yet he played with a hell of a lot more spirit than the likes of S.Ireland and other less than committed Irish born players