Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Town v Sporting Fingal

105 Posts

Town v Sporting Fingal

I know its a bit early to be startin a match thread but **** it, cant wait for the new season!

A new season and a new beginning, and one to look forward to. Its probably inconceiveable to expect a promotion push this time round, but id say the majority of the hard core fans will be happy with a mid table position and a young and hungry team wanting to play for the town. We've had our good days, and we've enjoyed them, but hopefully there'll be more to come in the not to distant future.

Hopefully a decent crowd will head out saturday for the game, and especially section O. We were hopin to organise a proper display, but time constraints and other problems meant we couldnt. We're still hopin for people to bring out scarves and flags, and hopefully we'll be able to continue in some way the support of last year.

Any new songs aswell for all you budding songwriters would be greatly appreciated!

Here's to another 8 months of football, it cant come soon enough!

47 Posts
    Indeed I cant wait, life without football to goto is a life not worth living in my opinion! Hopefully a decent crowd will turn up now with a few more local lads playing with us. But knowing the people of Longford most wont bother their arses getting up and supporting us and will be the ones bitching and moaning when things go badly.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

any1 have any idea of what our possible startin XI will be or any definite starters...havent been able 2 make it to ne friendlies
    we are going up

Quote Originally Posted by RockofGibraltar View Post
    any1 have any idea of what our possible startin XI will be or any definite starters...havent been able 2 make it to ne friendlies
    Likewise and Ill miss the Sporting Fingal game too unfortunately!! Will be interesting to see what team will appear alright.

111 Posts
    Yeah really looking forward to it as well. I may try and head over a bit more often this season too. Just back from a weekend in Poznan, caught a Lech Poznan game. what an amazing atmosphere and its got me missing proper live football and got me looking forward to the Section O experience again!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

185 Posts
    Yeah can't wait for the new season now myself. Very tough opening 4 fixtures, but hopefully we can get off to a decent start and then take it from there!

537 Posts
    Its goin to be such a strange atmosphere on sat with the amount of unfamiliar faces that will be playin for us on sat! it will take a while to build an affinity with them so Im afraid that we have not too many songs to sing about!

believe that ronnies mate( adrian cregg) has signed for the club on amateur terms! anyone know anything about this michael mccarthy that signed for us? spoke to aaron and vinny at dinner dance the lads are really lookin forward to the season... they were even training in ballymahon during the week..

the reason that the match was called off on friday night was that the lads were draining the pitch and with the heavy pitch they thought it would cause major long term damage to the pitch.. so thats the reason it was called off..

really looking forward to the season.. this new sponsorship deal is worth at least 20k to the club... apparenty they were going to sponsor kilkenny city but it was through the connections of caroline rattigan(ex kilkenny city secretary now in the fai )hat we got this deal. she is originally from lanesbro and it was through her that paul mcgrath came to the dinner dance last night...the club seem to at long last have gone their affairs in order so if the team can gell over the next year or so we could be in for some good times again..
    Last edited by Martinho II; 02/03/2008 at 7:30 PM. Reason: typeup

Probably be at this meself!

537 Posts
    Probably be at this meself!
    the usual lads goin with u sligoman?

Nobody else confirmed yet Marty but I'd assume so

Deecay x2 will be in attendance,canny wait Marty
    RIP JOHNNY

1,081 Posts
    spoke to aaron and vinny at dinner dance the lads are really lookin forward to the season...
    You were flashing the cash in the auction Martin. Fair play to you. Be sure and cough up now

537 Posts
    try my best longfordian.. it was an opportunity I was not goin to miss... plus I got Paul Mcgrath to sign it as well...

you can trust me man!

Did you put it on the card again marty? and then log in at work and clear yer purchases

1,081 Posts
    try my best longfordian.. it was an opportunity I was not goin to miss... plus I got Paul Mcgrath to sign it as well...

you can trust me man!

Yeah I think everyone knows where to get you at this stage Marty. I'm sure the ebay market for Vinny jerseys would make you your money back anyhow

Lads, no offence but I'm thinking of backing Fingal to win this one. They're good value...any idea what team ye'll be putting out at all? I just think it might be a little on the inexperienced side whereas Fingal have Colie James, Williams and a few other guys who have done well enough in the Premier.

What ye think?

537 Posts
    i am not expecting much from sat nite a goal to celebrate would do me thanks!
    a draw would be a very good result for us I think!

No Robbie Doyle to abuse

I assume Collie will get a good reception
    RIP JOHNNY

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Yeah I think everyone knows where to get you at this stage Marty. I'm sure the ebay market for Vinny jerseys would make you your money back anyhow
    I still have mine, looking forward to getting it out!! Won't Vinny be the main man in the dug out on sat seeing as Aaron is suspended ???
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Gonna miss the game..raging but have another engagement in westmeath so I wont make it back!! I'm sure someone *cough Max or Marty* will inform me
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast