Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Trapattoni era

The buzz in the stadium on Thursday, was one of the best for a long time, Trap seems to be having a postitive effect on the fans as well as the players.

I doubt if we'll see any of SI SF AOB returning now, but to be honest we may be as well off, as Trap says we must be a team, not individuals.

While any of the 3 could be good additions I don't think they fit into Traps way of thinking.

I think we will see a huge improvement in McAShane and McGeady under Trap as well, and now firmly believe we may go to Italy in April with maximum points at that stage. I think Trap will look at any loss of points away in Sep or the home games against Cyprus, Georgia and Bulgaria as not acceptable, going into the 3 most difficutl games against Italy A Bulgaria A and Italy H, where we may have to settle for 3 points as a good return.

Trap definitely is confident of qualifying and that will rub off on the players.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    Is there a psychiologist in the back room team? If not Trapp should seriously consider getting one in. Maybe even two.

I'm not sure of the politically correct term, but quite a few of the lads seem a little touched. There is Hunt who looks and sounds a little mad, always likely to get sent off, McShane running around like an eejit, criticising Keane & possibly condeming himself to the reserves forever (& talking about ripping heads off, which is another red card offence). Then there is Ireland. Stokes would make an interesting case study too. Then there are players refusing to sign autographs. Maybe he could speak to the likes of Kerr & Dumphy too. Oh and Paddy Kenny could do with a hug as well. And that Thornton boy. And ....

And I used to worry about the occasional bender McGrath went on!!
    I think you have hit the nail on the head.
    Footballers just don't drink enough thse days

1,928 Posts
    Interview with Trap by Marian Finucane

Hard times growing up,
    would bring tears to a Yorkshire miner.
    Last edited by geysir; 03/06/2008 at 6:43 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post

I doubt if we'll see any of SI SF AOB returning now, but to be honest we may be as well off, as Trap says we must be a team, not individuals.

While any of the 3 could be good additions I don't think they fit into Traps way of thinking.
    Didn't Trap say that he was pretty certain Finnan was returning in the Autumn? He didn't play these two games cause he was having an operation. We badly need Finnan and O'Brien, and could do with Ireland. Our defence would be much more solid with them

386 Posts
    I got the impression that Finnan would be back for the August international against Norway but maybe this isn't the case.

It also sounds like that Trap will never close the door on these players coming back but it does appear than he is very loyal to his players and is unlikely to accomodate Ireland and O'Brien in the team picked for the qualifiers if they don't make their minds up before the Norway game.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    It also sounds like that Trap will never close the door on these players coming back but it does appear than he is very loyal to his players and is unlikely to accomodate Ireland and O'Brien in the team picked for the qualifiers if they don't make their minds up before the Norway game.
    I get that impression too, if they decide not to come back, well then that's their choice. If they decide later in their careers that they would like to come out of retirement to help out, I reckon Trap would welcome them back, despite what many on the board might feel about it. It's a welcome change from Givens' "well it's up to them to contact me" attitude

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    I get that impression too, if they decide not to come back, well then that's their choice. If they decide later in their careers that they would like to come out of retirement to help out, I reckon Trap would welcome them back, despite what many on the board might feel about it. It's a welcome change from Givens' "well it's up to them to contact me" attitude
    There is actually no difference in the attitude with Givens, Trap has said they have his number if they want to use it.

If they do come back they will only be played if Trap reckons they will improve the team, and as he is focused on getting the team playing his way, the longer they stay away the harder it will be to come back.

I reckon Trap will be very loyal to his players, while being ruthless if and when needs be.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    There is actually no difference in the attitude with Givens, Trap has said they have his number if they want to use it.
    There's a massive difference: Trap made the effort to go and see Finnan, O'Brien and Ireland. Givens used a press conference to tell everyone it was up to Ireland to contact him.

I think the 3 have to make their mind up by the Norway game or forget about it to be honest

Quote Originally Posted by kingdomkerry View Post
    I think the 3 have to make their mind up by the Norway game or forget about it to be honest
    In reality the 3 should have made their minds up before the 2 friendlies this month whether to return, barring Finnan with the injury.

The other 2 just showed a complete ignorance in my view by not showing up and maybe then expecting to come back to a starting berth in september.

It just shows the kind of persons they are that they wouldn't come out with a statement or anything regarding their future, even leaving Trap in the dark.

I don't think Trap has really been stern enough with Ireland. Seeing we have only 3 matches before the qualifying he should have really gone in and said "turn up in May or **** off"

Finnan - Very important to come back (I think ke will with Trap's comments)
    O' Brien - SLightly less important though we could do with him.
    Ireland - Not a must with the 2 Reids and Carsley around and his clever ablility to go missing for 89 minutes a game.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

112 Posts
    http://www.eleven-a-side.com/worldcu...ws.asp?n=32577

He's turned down a bonus if we finish second. Great gesture and a lot of belief in us. You've seriously gotta love this guy.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    http://www.eleven-a-side.com/worldcu...ws.asp?n=32577

He's turned down a bonus if we finish second. Great gesture and a lot of belief in us. You've seriously gotta love this guy.
    Jaysus; I mean sure, he's not short of a bob or two, but that's a hell of a gesture to make & certainly a vote of confidence in his and the players abilities. What a legend.

Yeah he is a class act, could anyone imagine El Tel doing the same if he had gotten the job?

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979
    Givens used a press conference to tell everyone it was up to Ireland to contact him.
    That's because it is.

Trap is/was under no obligation to go chasing half-interested players. If they don't want to play, and only Finnan wants to at the moment, then there will be and are more committed players around.

Quote Originally Posted by amaccann
    I mean sure, he's not short of a bob or two, but that's a hell of a gesture to make & certainly a vote of confidence in his and the players abilities. What a legend.
    Compare that to the spoofer who stole €1.6 million of our money, to put us in 42nd spot in the rankings. I use the word stole, as he certainly didn't earn it.
    Last edited by mypost; 04/06/2008 at 1:03 PM.

192 Posts
    I saw some footage of Trap with Jack Charlton on skysports last night so was happy to read this article from the Indo today. It sounds like Jack's memory is fading a little bit - its hard to believe he's only four years older than Trapattoni.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...k-2345702.html
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

192 Posts
    Trapattoni is due to appear on the Late Late Show tonight. I presume Manuela will be there as well.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EastTerracer View Post
    Trapattoni is due to appear on the Late Late Show tonight. I presume Manuela will be there as well.
    I would imagine it will be cringe worthy stuff, it usually is when Tubridy interviews anyone in the world of sport. Hes not bad generally but he hasnt a clue about sport
    Its really not that complicated!!!

3,501 Posts
    wasn't bad, Manuela did seem to be doing a bit more translating for Trapattoni than in interviews, but he spoke well.
    Tubridy's no football fan, but he did alright. Not the worst interview I've seen on the Late Late (Pat Kenny interviewing David Schwimmer)

228 Posts
    wasn't bad, Manuela did seem to be doing a bit more translating for Trapattoni than in interviews, but he spoke well.
    Tubridy's no football fan, but he did alright. Not the worst interview I've seen on the Late Late (Pat Kenny interviewing David Schwimmer)
    The crowd loved Trap. I don't think it was a good decision by Tubridy to start talking to Manuela for 5 minutes, though.

Oh, and I feel like I have to see the interview Kenny did with Schwimmer. Is it anywhere near as bad as the talk with Jerry Seinfeld??

192 Posts
    Thanks Tets. It sounds like it's worth checking out on the RTE Player later.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast