Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Liam Miller Transfer listed

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cavan_fan View Post
    I cant believe the Sunderland youth system dcoesnt have people as good as Miller, Cole, Ian Harte or Roy O'Donovan.
    Either can I! Two Irish internationals, an English international and an Irish U21 international. Every youth system in England must be full with these types of players. But obviously not in Sunderland ....

O'Donovan is the very definition of Keane's transfer disasters (well him and Andy Cole). In effect he's bought loads of 1-3 million type players (most of whom he has some personal link with) and now is realising they are not up to it and are effectively worthless. What will he get for Miller, 500 grand? If I was Quinn I'd refuse to let him sign anyone else. What he needs to learn is that you should buy one good player not 4 mediocre ones. I cant believe the Sunderland youth system dcoesnt have people as good as Miller, Cole, Ian Harte or Roy O'Donovan.
    he got miller on a free...he will now get a fee for him..Miller did well in the championship for them last year..that alone is a good return on a free transfer
    Bring back the plank

38 Posts
    I agree, the timing of this would suggest that it is some kind of falling out rather than sporting reasons. We can only speculate until Miller has left Sunderland and then goes public with it. I myself would say that it's somehow related to his injury while on international duty. I can't recall that Miller has been injured often and maybe it's a bit frustrating for him and he said something he shouldn't have to Keane. Or Keane was not happy with Millers commitment to trying to recover from his injury and Miller then brought up Saipan and repeated some of McCarthy's accusations

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SÓC View Post
    Yes I must be deluded. We all see how past Cork stars like Damien Delaney, Kevin Doyle, Shane Long, Roy O'Donovan etc have been useless.

Would you put Miller ahead of Joe Gamble as a holding player?

Would you put him ahead of George O'Callaghan as an player in the No. 10 role?

Ahead of Colin Healy as a box to box player?

Ahead of Farrelly or the very promising young Murphy as a bench warmer because if City signed him thats all he'd do. Sit on the bench.

I'm 100% honest when I say that I think Miller would not get near our starting 11

Yes to all. Better player than any of the current Cork XI. Don't be so myopic.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Fergie's Son View Post
    Yes to all. Better player than any of the current Cork XI. Don't be so myopic.
    I'm sure you've based that on seeing all the above players playing in the positions described many times and Miller being better in each of those roles than the City player?

Fair play to ya
    Oh no not them again

Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    I support Cork City
    Ahem...

http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=834229&postcount=16

"Maybe when Cork City achieve something, they'll win my support."

I thought he was doing well there and aswell I thought the fans loved him.
    I'd say he'll go back to Leeds.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Ouch!

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Ahem...

Pure class eirebhoy.........as a City fan, I think Miller would be competitive for a start, but certainly not a banker.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Ahem...

I remember that alright. The funniest thing was City had won the Cup a few days previous to that post!

Come on Ciaran, no need to lie to us.

Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    Either can I! Two Irish internationals, an English international and an Irish U21 international. Every youth system in England must be full with these types of players. But obviously not in Sunderland ....
    Oh come on

Harte and Cole may once have been good enough to be internationals but both re well past it, in Cole's case laughably so.

Miller adds nothing to a team and only gets on the Irish team because he was at Celtic and a big prospect.

Finally being an Irish U-21 is a bit like being on the Cavan hurling team, anyone could do it.

43 Posts
    Anybody think that Keane is looking for a positive reaction from Miller? Maybe trying to give him a kick up the @rse to sort his career out?
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    Anybody think that Keane is looking for a positive reaction from Miller? Maybe trying to give him a kick up the @rse to sort his career out?
    In a word: No.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post

NO

It'll all come out soon enough
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post

NO

Cheers, just what I was fishing for!!
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

I support Cork City but Liam Miller is not only better than anyone in any particular position, he's a better talent than the entire Cork team put together.
    Liar!
    Well done eirebhoy.

I don't make off-the-cuff flippant remarks about players I don't see regularly so can't say whether or not he would win a place in the City midfield.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post

NO

have you heard something? Send us an oul PM there please!!!!
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Have to agree with the City fans, Miller wouldn't start for Cork.

O'Donovan is the very definition of Keane's transfer disasters (well him and Andy Cole). In effect he's bought loads of 1-3 million type players (most of whom he has some personal link with) and now is realising they are not up to it and are effectively worthless. .
    While I agree with this, you have to also take into account he had to buy an entire team (and will have to continuously do so)... he cant buy eleven 10 million plus players and buying 1-2 of them with the other 10 being total muck isnt much use. Also, nobody worth 10 million+ wants to live up there.
    "A silent mouth is sweet to hear"

386 Posts
    accursed eirebhoy and his memory!
    I think you should, if you want to support thie below statement,

I support Cork City but Liam Miller is not only better than anyone in any particular position, he's a better talent than the entire Cork team put together.
    go to a few Cork City matches. At least give them a chance before knocking them.

Looks like it was a falling out. From the Guardian

Keane loses patience with Miller's failed promise

Louise Taylor
    Thursday February 28, 2008

Guardian

A recently strained relationship between Roy Keane and Liam Miller apparently reached snapping point yesterday when Sunderland's manager placed the Irish midfielder on the transfer list.
    Although Miller, who was one of Keane's first signings at the Stadium of Light, travelled with the Sunderland reserve party due to face Bolton Wanderers at Leyland last night, it is understood he had exhibited a reluctance to play in that game.

The 27-year-old former Celtic and Manchester United midfielder is believed to have annoyed Keane in recent weeks by turning up late for training. Sunderland's desire to move him on may, however, be thwarted as Miller, who will not command a fee, would be eligible to join only a Championship club and as an emergency loan signing before transferring permanently in the summer.

Miller had made 21 appearances for Sunderland, including 14 starts, this season but has failed to reproduce the early promise which persuaded Sir Alex Ferguson to sign him from Celtic as a potential long-term replacement for Keane, then his captain at Old Trafford.

Instead Miller, who has been troubled by a calf strain recently, found himself spending a lengthy stint on loan at Leeds before being snapped up Keane in August 2006 and helping Sunderland win promotion to the Premier League last season. Intriguingly, Dwight Yorke, 36, is the only one of the six players recruited by Keane during his early days in charge yet to be moved on.

Sunderland refused to comment on Miller's transfer-listing last night but said the matter would be addressed by Keane this morning.

guardian.co.uk © Guardian News and Media Limited 2008
    Greece 1 - 0 Germany
    Socrates (89)

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast