Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Glen Hansard Wins An Oscar(r)

246 Posts
    This news will pish George Byrne off no end
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

Jesus there is another knob if there ever was one. George Byrne, he is up there with Cathal Dervan as the biggest tossers to put their words in Irish newspapers.
    In Trap we trust

20 Posts
    Hardly.
    Whether you agree or disagree with him at least he knows his stuff. Knows his music, films and footy. Is a good journalist as well. Generally very on the money with reviews of films. Never goes OTT in his praise of what are good but flawed films. Great and spot on review of There Will Be Blood.

I actually think the opposite but that is hardly suprising. He is so biased in favour of one type of music he does not give any other type of music a chance. The only time I saw him talk about football was on that Forum as part of the 1994 World Cup and he was a joke on this with his ignorant remarks about the Bulgarians.

He is also a second rate journalist who behaves like an A list rockstar and festivals and gigs etc.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    Who's saying there is anything wrong with it

its leagal but a little creepy dont you think. i might change my mind when i get to 37
    You will.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    I actually think the opposite but that is hardly suprising. He is so biased in favour of one type of music he does not give any other type of music a chance .
    Well he is a music fan so therefore he has opinions on what he does or doesn’t like. He generally calls it as he sees it. You would expect your music critic to have strong opinions on…. well….music!
    The only time I saw him talk about football was on that Forum as part of the 1994 World Cup and he was a joke on this with his ignorant remarks about the Bulgarians.
    Eh he is a massive rovers fan. (Youd think as his Bohs equivalent ya might know that!) Generally gets a football reff in to most articles he does regardless of ehat they are.
    He is also a second rate journalist who behaves like an A list rockstar and festivals and gigs etc.
    Don’t know the chap so don’t know how he behaves. I did once spot him at a Glen Tilbrook gig and he seemed to be nodding his head and enjoying the music. Hardly behaving like what you call an “A lister”. I think I also saw him at a Rovers v Pats game about ten years ago. He seemed to just sit and watch the game. Altho seeing as it was pre 2007 cant imagine you were at it. ; )

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    Well he is a music fan so therefore he has opinions on what he does or doesn’t like. He generally calls it as he sees it. You would expect your music critic to have strong opinions on…. well….music!

Eh he is a massive rovers fan. (Youd think as his Bohs equivalent ya might know that!) Generally gets a football reff in to most articles he does regardless of ehat they are.

Don’t know the chap so don’t know how he behaves. I did once spot him at a Glen Tilbrook gig and he seemed to be nodding his head and enjoying the music. Hardly behaving like what you call an “A lister”. I think I also saw him at a Rovers v Pats game about ten years ago. He seemed to just sit and watch the game. Altho seeing as it was pre 2007 cant imagine you were at it. ; )

So you know my life do you now. I knew he was a Rovers fan as I have seen him at gigs wearing his Rovers Top and maybe I am biased against him but the only time I have seen him on TV talking about football was during that sad forum on RTE and he came across as a knob. I have also seen him at various music festivals both backstage and in the VIP area and he comes across as a Class A Knob, but I suppose if you have Pepsi shoved up your nose that is understandable.

He is like Pat Dolan in that you may agree what he is saying but his style of debate is very off putting and over the top and lacking balance but I suppose its a personal

Finally I don't think you really know me so you should refrain from making personal comments of when I went to football matches. Fair play to you for going to a Rovers Pats game 10 years ago. I went to a Bohs Rovers game 20 years ago, now give me a medal. Probably the reason I was not at the game you mention was probably due to the fact I was not living in the country and I don't support either team but you would not know that. Some keep your ignorant thoughts to yourself as you don't the facts of the situation.
    Last edited by NeilMcD; 01/03/2008 at 12:47 AM.
    In Trap we trust

20 Posts
    there was a little wink smilie neil it was tongue in cheek.

Neil, have ye got the painters in?!

20 Posts
    Id be careful if I was you Paul....

50 Posts
    Why can't everyone just be friends, safe in the knowledge that if Glen Hansard can win an Oscar, so can everyone.,.....I'm personally aiming for 2011 & best screenplay for the adaptation of my novel (work in progress), its called "If I'm so great, why do I sleep alone?"
    Last edited by Wangball; 03/03/2008 at 5:02 PM. Reason: Spelling/Grammar/English
    You show me a good loser and I'll show you a loser - Vince Lombardi

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Hardly.
    Whether you agree or disagree with him at least he knows his stuff. Knows his music, films and footy. Is a good journalist as well. Generally very on the money with reviews of films. Never goes OTT in his praise of what are good but flawed films. Great and spot on review of There Will Be Blood.
    Yeah def agree. Byrne and that fella off the Culture show on BBC2 are the two guys i really think give excellent reviews in movies and music. Byrne, like myself, hate the mushy feel good ****e, and knows a lot about the Irish music scene

As for Hansard, comes across as a nice guy but tainted it a good bit with his speech about his special call from Bono

20 Posts
    Is the guy from the culture show the one with the big quiff? Yeah hes good. I think with George Byrne he has a certain amount of resentment to Irish Bans/musicians who seem to be doing well with minimal talent probably borne out of frustration that bands he loved couldnt get arrested in Ireland. So he probably overdoes it on the vitriol.

Byrne has a strong bias towards to melody based bands such as the Beatles, Beach Boys, The Blades, Teenage Fan Club, Crowded House and love Aimee Mann, all of these bands I love too, however he then has a strong bias against another strain of music which is the Bob Dylan, Van Morrisson, Waterboys, Frames, Kila music.

I often think that music is like women and its not a good thing to just like one type of woman as there are many types out there that have a lot of things going for them. Why just stick to blondes when you can have the whole menu.

In relation to Hansard and Bono, its funny that he mentioned that, as I know for a fact that there was not much love towards U2 from Hansard and his type for a number of years. I don't think they liked the naked ambition of U2 and were more into that white lower middle class, anti ambition thing that often raises its head and probably what George Byrne dislikes too.
    In Trap we trust

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Is the guy from the culture show the one with the big quiff? Yeah hes good. .

yeah, he is good, and he is ace at playing skittle
    the blond one in that show is pretty cool too

20 Posts
    I often think that music is like women and its not a good thing to just like one type of woman as there are many types out there that have a lot of things going for them. Why just stick to blondes when you can have the whole menu.
    Maybe you want to hop into bed with any raggle taggle gypo that exposes her milky white thigh but I like my music critics to be a bit more discerning.

Benocelt -
    Skittle Band? Jaysus I can remember something of that now. class.

How is your reaction anyway related to the quote you use. I said one should like many types of music rather than one type.

I find nothing discering about writing off one style of music which is what Byrne does.
    In Trap we trust

20 Posts
    what you on about?

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123