Thread: Robbie Keanes first Major Winners Medal in Club Football

Quote Originally Posted by Marked Man View Post
    Is the carling cup really a major trophy?
    Not hugely important when compared to the League and FA Cup cup but it's a trophy nonetheless. And credit where credit's due, Spurs had to beat Chelsea, Arsenal, Man City and Middlesbrough to win it this year so it was no mean feat.

Was absolutely delighted for Robbie, it was obvious that it meant an awful lot to him. His face was brilliant when he got to lift the trophy.

It'll be interesting to see how far they get in the Uefa Cup now that they don't have to concentrate on the league.

112 Posts
    Well deserved Robbie, well done.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Delighted for Robbie, though dont think he had much luck himself on the day. Ref picked a very odd time to blow up the game.
    I thought he had a very good game. I switched off after he was subbed.
    He was the inspiration for the victory, his attitude throughout the game would have pleased the other Keane.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I thought he had a very good game. I switched off after he was subbed.
    He was the inspiration for the victory, his attitude throughout the game would have pleased the other Keane.
    He actually got the second highest "Player Rating" on the BBC website, just behind Woodgate.

2,796 Posts
    I think it is a major trophy in the sense that the Premiership is unwinnable for all but 2 or 3 teams and the FA Cup is almost a closed shop as well. What else can Spurs win domestically?

Well done Spurs and Robbie.

Quote Originally Posted by Marked Man View Post
    Is the carling cup really a major trophy?
    When Man.U/Chelsea/Arsenal/Liverpool are still in it along with other competitions it is always referred to as one of the major trophies. Only yesterday in commentary Chelsea were described as still being 'in contention for 4 major trophies'.

When the likes of Spurs, Middlesboro or Blackburn win it, it appears to suddenly lose its 'majpr trophy' status.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Congrats to Robbie. Have to say it great seeing an Irish person winning.

Fair play to him. Still think he's a tosser though.

Although he didn't have a fantastic game, he worked really hard as usual and thoroughly deserved it. Tottenham were by far the better side. Well done Robbie!
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

There are 3 Major trophies in English football The League, The FA Cup and the League Cup undoubtedly the league cup is the 3rd in that list but it's still a major trophy.
    A great day for Spurs & for Robbie who was clearly very emotional about the whole thing.

Got to say well dont Robbie. he has taken a lot of flack from us Irish, some deserved, some not so. Im confident that the next campaign, under a decent manager, he will begin to shine and prove himself against worthy opposition

Well done Robbie
    Some times players win nothing for the whole time they are in the game , I am happy he can now look back at his medal in later years and has got something to show for his time in football ( apart for a bank full of cash ) I just hope he wins other cups , good on yer .

Quote Originally Posted by BaZmO* View Post
    He actually got the second highest "Player Rating" on the BBC website, just behind Woodgate.
    ye and he was leading after 90 minutes...delighted for the lad he deserves it and the scenes at the end were brilliant

As a football club, I'm glad it was Tottenham and not Chelsea. Look at the scenes at the end. The whole of the Spurs end of the ground was rocking. Would that have happened with the Chelsea fans? I doubt it personally.
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

is this on youtube or anything, i had to leave before that part.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    no had a quick look there...nothing

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_GuK4Ta35o

130 Posts
    I honestly think Spurs (inc Robbie) are going places under Ramos and have a really good chance of breaking into the top four next season. Spurs have always been good going forward but under Ramos and the short space of time he has been there, the defence has improved an awful lot.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post

If you are talking about what they are worth financially, then just promotion from the championship to the premiership is possibly worth more than winning the FA Cup.
    Promotion from the Championship is worth more financially than winning the Champions League due to the new TV money given to the Premiership. Last year the Guardian had a piece about how the Championship playoff final is now the richest match in world football in terms of what the winners get for just winning the game

20 Posts
    very dubious thread for the Ireland forum.......