69 Posts

Terrible business altogether. It's going to take some skill to put Eduardos ankle back together after that.

I have a degree of sympathy for Taylor as well. You don't make it all the way to the prem as a player with any club by going out to do that kind of thing to fellow players. It was a lousy tackle with horrific consequences but zero intent. He'll be punished to the extent the rules allow.

It's also understandable that Wenger would say that about Taylor in the heat of the moment ...if he's taken it back then it's commendable of him too.

Now - out of a modicum of respect for a talented footballer who may already have been told it's all over him or may be staring at that possibility soon - can someone delete irrelevant bullsh1t such as...

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    Did ya see Gallas acting like a baby at the end. The 4th official had to stop him from storming off all because Birmingham got a penalty. Then when the whistle went he collapses to the ground and starts balling crying. And he's supposed to be captain?...........grow up ya clown
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    I have seen it a few times and listened to a few people who know about the game an I am still convinced that it is not a red card. I think people who know very little about tackling would think its a straight red. Respected people in football have come out and defended Taylor and Wenger has retracted his OTT statement about Taylor on this issue.
    I know a fair bit about football also, and a fair bit about tackling, and I think it was a red card. I said in a previous post -
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    It was late, forceful, with studs showing. It made full contact with the opponent. That should be a red card.
    I think it's worth pointing out that the referee sent off Taylor before he realised the extent of the injury. He just saw a tackle he considered bad enough for a red card, and sent the player off.

the still images that have been linked to on this site show that it was high and studs were showing. It was obviously late. And the extent of the injury shows it was a forceful tackle.

The defense from respected football people is more along the lines of, "it wasn't malicious, and he's not that kind of player" - both things I agree with. Wenger only said his initial criticism (that Taylor should never be allowed to play football again) was excessive, not that it wasn't a red card offence.
    Last edited by osarusan; 24/02/2008 at 8:42 AM.

Supposedly Eduardo could be back after a 5 month layoff.

If that is true, then he can consider himself a very lucky man.

MickNolan
    http://www.footytube.com/2008/02/23/...duardo-injury/

They slow it down and its at a better angle

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    ..... build a bridge ..... build a bridge lads.
    Is there some wonderful new cliché im missing out on?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

If Eduardo ever does play football again, God bless modern medicine.

His foot basically came off his leg. I'm a bit of a sicko when it comes to watching bad injuries but this one made me wretch. You have to feel for Taylor this morning too.

I hope I'm wrong but no way will he be back in 5 months.
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob View Post
    If Eduardo ever does play football again, God bless modern medicine.

His foot basically came off his leg. I'm a bit of a sicko when it comes to watching bad injuries but this one made me wretch. You have to feel for Taylor this morning too.

I hope I'm wrong but no way will he be back in 5 months.
    Correct me if I'm wrong but didn't Larsson, Cisse and many more also recover from this injury.... Larrson came back better than ever Cisse was never really there anyway....
    Wenger should be ashamed of himself surely a man of his intelligence would have taken time to gather his thoughts before talking. His players wouldn't exactly be angel either.
    Whether he takes it back or not is still isn't right. Certain players you know would make that sort of tackle intentionally I don't think taylor is one of those players.
    He hadn't even been booked this year....
    Barca 2 vs manchester 0

Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo View Post
    Ok, you probably don't follow Ireland, my mistake. Put it this way, if it was Nani or Rooney you'd be after him. You support Man Utd don't you (semi-educated guess)?

And this picture seems to show intent:-

http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/a...nasmijesio.jpg

I support Ireland and Bohs and have a soft spot for Spurs in England but dont lose any sleep if the lose. Not sure where you got the Man Utd thing. My point was that no matter how much I love the Irish football team I have no time for bias in a situation like this. If it happened to Keane or Duff I would be sick over it but that does not mean my opinion of the tackle would be any difference. I think soccerc was dead right on this. Bringing that into it only distracts from the argument. One thing that bugs me in football is when people let their allegiance cloud their opinion on a matter.

Are you honestly suggesting that a still photo of a guy who is moving and his facial expressions are moving and changing ever nano second is proof that he i was smiling there after breaking Eduardo's leg. You are having a laugh surely
    Last edited by NeilMcD; 24/02/2008 at 12:06 PM.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    Is there some wonderful new cliché im missing out on?
    I think its build a bridge.. and get over it

muppet central

seriously, how is there an argument about whether that was a red card or not.. absolutely blatant straight red.. even if taylor had been quicker to the ball, his foot is so high it would have went over the top of the ball and through eduardo anyways..
    neil mcd you are spouting some unbelievable cr*p on here.. you have about as much knowledge about football as andy capp..bohs fan are you? not surprising really

Ahhh the personal insults always a way to win a debate. Fair play. I think its possible to have a difference of opinion and not resort to saying the other person knows nothing about football. If you really need to resort to personal insults it does not say much about your argument. Now these links don't provide conclusive evidence that I am correct on this issue as I don't believe it is that cut and dry and it is largely down to interpretation however what they do show is that some people who do play and manage the game at the highest level, think it was a harsh sending off also. So for you to be so cocky that you know about football and these people don't is mind boggling.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,195...190031,00.html

But Wigan boss Steve Bruce, who signed Taylor from Blackburn when he was Blues boss in February 2004, said his former player would never intentionally hurt anyone.

"Martin Taylor is the biggest, gentlest man," said Bruce. "There will be nobody more upset and sickened than him, there is not a bad bone in his body.

"He would never, ever do anything malicious. He has mis-timed the tackle, and I've seen it. Some would say it is not even a yellow card."
    Last edited by NeilMcD; 24/02/2008 at 1:09 PM.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by chuckie View Post
    I think its build a bridge.. and get over it
    build a bridge and cross it....
    Build a ladder and get over it....
    Barca 2 vs manchester 0

1,025 Posts
    I think its possible to have a difference of opinion and not resort to saying the other person knows nothing about football.
    I fully agree Neil. But aren't you doing pretty much the same thing here -
    I think people who know very little about tackling would think its a straight red.

There is a subtle but important difference in what I said and what cartman is saying.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo View Post
    Ok, you probably don't follow Ireland, my mistake. Put it this way, if it was Nani or Rooney you'd be after him. You support Man Utd don't you (semi-educated guess)?

And this picture seems to show intent:-

http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/a...nasmijesio.jpg

I don't know how you can say the photo shows intent, I'd more say shock, and judgine by the inital reaction of the players on a previous utube clip, it looks like they were in shock but noone seems to have had a go at Taylor. If any of the Aresenal palyers close to the tackle taught there was intent id imaginge they would have had a go at Taylor.

Bad tackle - yes, malicious no, yellow card yes, red card a bit harsh.

And i dont support any premiership side so not biased, and wouldnt have a different view if it happened to an Irish player. **** happens in football, at least Eduardo will not suffer financially.

I absolutely love a tackle and love to see hard tackles,but that was an absolute disgrace.Intent or not ban that goofball **** for a few games. NeilMcD,you are talking awful ****e
    RIP JOHNNY

Well I think you are talking ****e but sure what are we going to do.
    In Trap we trust

Thinking that tackle is not a red?Thats not even logical,you seem to have no grasp on reality
    RIP JOHNNY

I have a perfect grasp of reality and Steve Bruce and Stephen Kelly think the same, Greenforever and Soccerc who know their football also think the same. Its a terrible injury and I really hope that he recovers and becomes a top player.
    In Trap we trust

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast