Thread: Worst Job You've Ever Had?

111 Posts

Worst Job You've Ever Had?

Just starting an auld thread here as to the worst job you've had. Ill start! At the mo, Im a sales rep on commission! I blagged my way into the job, found myself working with guys on £400-500 more a week, and this week I have raised the grand total of..... £20! Footing turf has to be the worst though!!!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Summer 98
    cudnt find wrk anywhere in NY.. moved into NJ
    v broke .. 6 of us squashed into a small 2bed apartment
    only 2 out of the 6 of us working.. and rent and utilities bill looming as us with no cash

i find a job as a ... roofer!!..so u got me 30feet up a ladder .. hammering nails upsidedown into a roof.. in 40 degrees heat orlando-irelandvmexico worldcup-ish type humidity.. cudt see what i was doing with swet dripping off me.. nearly fell off the ladder many many times.. got paid just above min wage.. lasted 8 days i think..then decided as i wasnt insured and cudnt see what i was even doing..better off leaving that job behind..

*happy ending tho *
    we skipped town.. didnt pay rent..moved to montauk .. got 3 v good jobs

landscaping in the morning
    caddying in evening or barwork.waiting
    barwork at night

made a fooking rake of cash $$$
    and lived happily eveer after ~

Moral of the story .. Rovers Are SCUM
    life is random

Well the worst job I ever had lasted half a day.
    I was living in London for awhile, doing agency work, mostly working on laundry trucks delivering and collecting at hotels, (this was a great job actually !) One day though I was called by the agency for 6 am the following morning. I arrived at the right time, but there was a mixup and they did not need me for the job. The girl said that as I was up, would I take on another job instead. So I says yes, and ended up doing cleaning duties at an old peoples home in Wimbledon. I did not know where or what I was supposed to start with and the person who was supposed to supervise me was late. So one guy says, start with the bathroom and gave me some cleaning stuff. I used the floor cleaner and thought I did an ok job. However, I used the wrong floor cleaner and when the old people started to use the bath, one old woman slipped and broke her hip.
    There was murder, I felt like sh*t, and the supervisor eventually showed up @ about 11, hungover and in foul humour. She promptly fired me, but she paid me for a full day, because she was in the wrong herself and was afraid I would make a fuss.
    I still get a chill when I think of that poor woman though.

so u got to leave at 11am and got a full days pay !!!! and u complaining about it!

same old oddboy ..always whinging
    life is random

petrol station in bishops town (cork like)

worked there for almost a year. £54 for 40 hours a week

and we often got no tips. those lean times caused us to sneak into the store room
    Followin Our Own Teams In Eire

theres no cure for the League of Ireland bug. spread it :)

Originally posted by yur man
    petrol station in bishops town (cork like)

worked there for almost a year. £54 for 40 hours a week

and we often got no tips. those lean times caused us to sneak into the store room
    ahhh the noble petrol station, spent a whole summer in a petrol station on £3 an hour. I was upmarket, working on the tills, the poor langórs pumping the petrol were on £2.50. Shocking hours, crappy pay and a load of abuse over the price of petrol.
    Oh no not them again

picking strawberries for 5p a punnet.

he once paid me 35p wages at the end of the week.

a 20p coin, a 10p coin and a 5p coin in a money bag.

obviously i was fairly

30 Posts

Angry Spuds n Carrots

Picked potaotes and then carrots one summer
    when I was about 12.

8am till 7pm a day. Back breaking work and only
    got £20 for the 2 days work. Slavery I tell ya

spudz

spudz picking was THE worst job I ever done, was in school at the time so thought it was the business getiing 20 quid to destroy my spine

talk about the proverbial back breaking work

went to a warehouse job referred to by one of those fancy agencies...yeah right....chucked it in after 20 minutes, it was one of my favourite moments when I told the owner/boss that I didnt fancy it and walked off....the look on his face still makes me laugh when I think about it

worked in a warehouse where all i got to do was sweep the floors (and i had to constantly look busy) so i was blistered and bored, all for one pound an hour (in fact i missed a day's work after being hit by a car while cycling in and they docked me nine pounds out of my forty five pound wage packet).

also had the petrol station experience, loved it, hardly any traffic came in (worked on sundays) and used to sell the sunday papers, so all day i'd sit having my cups of tea, reading the newspapers.

Originally posted by James
    same old oddboy ..always whinging
    I might be controversial, I might get up peoples noses, but I NEVER whinge, James!!!!!

Originally posted by James
    Summer 98
    cudnt find wrk anywhere in NY.. moved into NJ
    v broke .. 6 of us squashed into a small 2bed apartment
    only 2 out of the 6 of us working.. and rent and utilities bill looming as us with no cash

i find a job as a ... roofer!!..so u got me 30feet up a ladder .. hammering nails upsidedown into a roof.. in 40 degrees heat orlando-irelandvmexico worldcup-ish type humidity.. cudt see what i was doing with swet dripping off me.. nearly fell off the ladder many many times.. got paid just above min wage.. lasted 8 days i think..then decided as i wasnt insured and cudnt see what i was even doing..better off leaving that job behind..

*happy ending tho *
    we skipped town.. didnt pay rent..moved to montauk .. got 3 v good jobs

landscaping in the morning
    caddying in evening or barwork.waiting
    barwork at night

made a fooking rake of cash $$$
    and lived happily eveer after ~

Moral of the story .. Rovers Are SCUM

James stick to it iveness is an example to us all.

Take a bow James.
    The original intergalactic party DUDE

111 Posts

Re: Worst Job You've Ever Had?

Originally posted by PAURO 7
    Just starting an auld thread here as to the worst job you've had. Ill start! At the mo, Im a sales rep on commission! I blagged my way into the job, found myself working with guys on £400-500 more a week, and this week I have raised the grand total of..... £20! Footing turf has to be the worst though!!!
    Update! Just got let go for being well.... cr@p! Seven days ive lasted! Never do commission boys and girls!

here is the best summer youve ever heard of. sold strawberries spuds and stuff for a whole summer. started at 9am and finished at 7pm, six days a week but at least at the end i knew there was a reward at least i thought. you see the only reason i got this crappy job was to save money to see Longford town play in the uefa cup in bulgaria. but as most of ye know our plane didnt turn up and still today i havnt got all my money back and at this stage i dont expect to. trust me it may be good money but it would drive you demented.