Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast

Thread: Ireland to face Colombia - London, 29th May

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Unfortunately, London is crap going out on a Thursday, seriouslly.

Dublin is way better as are most cities ive been too, really annoys me when people say London is a 24/7 party town. BS!
    where have you been looking?! if you've got a few quid you can do anything in London. There are pubs open until 3am too if you dont want to hit a club!

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    u should try Sunderland on a Monday night, ended up in a students bar, all you could drink for £10, great value even in 2002, not that we were mature students by the end of the night

We'll find somewhere, don't worry
    ah not there are loads of bars around fulham open till 2 and there is a decent nightclub opened till 3.30. A couple of Irish bars, but no one goes out in London on a thursday, thats my point. Even in the very centre, leicester square, the main places will be less than a 1/3 empty. Its a joke.

London...may have to give this one a miss.

if they couldnt play it in a stadium of 20 odd thousand in the republic why not play it in windsor park, belfast??

ah not there are loads of bars around fulham open till 2 and there is a decent nightclub opened till 3.30. A couple of Irish bars, but no one goes out in London on a thursday, thats my point. Even in the very centre, leicester square, the main places will be less than a 1/3 empty. Its a joke.

to be honest not bothered about london nightlife, there will be enough of us to ensure it's a great party might
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Quote Originally Posted by aidz1 View Post
    London...may have to give this one a miss.

if they couldnt play it in a stadium of 20 odd thousand in the republic why not play it in windsor park, belfast??

Maybe because Columbia want to play in London, maybe because Trap does not want a home game

30 Posts
    Only 1 day off work for me so got a BMI flight to Heathrow out at
    6.45am the morning of the match and back at 7am the next morning!
    Worked out at €97

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Maybe because Columbia want to play in London, maybe because Trap does not want a home game
    How about this reason: Croke Park isn't available and the FAI can maximise their profits by playing the game in London.

ya those doing the 1 day thing can just go out on the beer and then stay out and go straight to the airport. id say some of ye travelling on yer own should look at booking cabs together or that if ye are leaving real early in the morning, cos you cant guarantee you will be there 40 mins before on the tube if flying at 7.30 or before.. Save a bit of money and what not.

I can get local numbers round fulham if ye want. Just pm me, or ill put it up here whichever people would like.

Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    How about this reason: Croke Park isn't available and the FAI can maximise their profits by playing the game in London.

Croke park isnt available - yes

playing in london - maximise profits - NO, you were obviously not at games in the Valley, about 7-8,000 and they will be lucky to get over 10,000 in fullham and tickets will probably be cheaper than Dublin if last time is anything to go by.

maximise profits play in the rds low rent, 18000 seats would sell out at €70 per ticket or glasgow where 20 - 25000 could be expected.

and incase you thing im an apologist for the fai i'm not i'm a realist and also believe that trap does not want a home game, remember our first 2 qualifiers are away.

Tickets for Ireland v Colombia

I'm going to make the trip for this one and have emailed the FAI Ticket Office, but not holding out too much hope for a speedy or positive response!

Does anyone know any other avenues of getting tickets for this - even from the Fulham end of things? I'm looking for two tickets.

If anyone can shed any light on this it would be much appreciated!!

Quote Originally Posted by TerryPhelan View Post
    I'm going to make the trip for this one and have emailed the FAI Ticket Office, but not holding out too much hope for a speedy or positive response!

Does anyone know any other avenues of getting tickets for this - even from the Fulham end of things? I'm looking for two tickets.

If anyone can shed any light on this it would be much appreciated!!
    There will be no problems getting tickets and im sure the ticket office will get back to you in time.

You've obviously had no dealings with the ticket office as they are pretty efficent, id imagine tickets will also be available from ticketmaster

29th may is on a thursday!!!
    funny day for an international.

Are England at home on the 28th
    In Trap we trust

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Man Himself View Post
    29th may is on a thursday!!!
    funny day for an international.
    Suppose it depended on the availability of Craven Cottage

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Only 1 day off work for me so got a BMI flight to Heathrow out at
    6.45am the morning of the match and back at 7am the next morning!
    Worked out at €97
    that must be a tough job, only giving you one day off
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

thinking of heading to this meself, any decent cheap hotels anyone knows of that would be handy?cheers

erm, in london you would do well to get a cheap hotel. you could look to get a hostel. st pauls hostel is nice, and its cheap. that could be worth a look?!

ill have a look around for you and get back to ye.

A couple of Irish bars, but no one goes out in London on a thursday, thats my point. Even in the very centre, leicester square, the main places will be less than a 1/3 empty. Its a joke.
    If you confine yourself to the Irish pubs and to tourist ****holes then you deserve all you get.

Paul, have you ever gone out anywhere in London other than to Irish bars? And no, going to Finsbury Park, Kilburn and Wood Green don't count! What about Kings Cross? Or Hoxton? Or Clerkenwell? Great craic on a Thursday night all. And those are just three that are close to the centre, each with plenty of good bars for the discerning palate. Clapham, Camden, London Bridge, Notting Hill, Soho; all packed with good pubs and bars. The list goes on.

Seriously, it sounds like you actually do need to get out more.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy View Post
    If you confine yourself to the Irish pubs and to tourist ****holes then you deserve all you get.

Paul, have you ever gone out anywhere in London other than to Irish bars? And no, going to Finsbury Park, Kilburn and Wood Green don't count! What about Kings Cross? Or Hoxton? Or Clerkenwell? Great craic on a Thursday night all. And those are just three that are close to the centre, each with plenty of good bars for the discerning palate. Clapham, Camden, London Bridge, Notting Hill, Soho; all packed with good pubs and bars. The list goes on.

PP
    Know nothing about London pubs but like all trips it's what you make it, found a fabulous boozer beside the Valley for the 2 unity cup games, had a great session both days and no idea who owned the kip! I'm sure we will do the same for Craven Cottage

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy View Post

PP

ya hoxton square and all those places are full of coke heads, and not really my cup of tea, with house and that crap banging in the background. Clapham is a good spot, never been out there on a thursday though, and i doubt there would be that many there on a thursday.

Kings cross is alright in fairness too, but on a thursday most of the places would be empty by 11.30. I work in the city, so I go to loads of bars around there, but everyone just goes for a few after work and goes home.

Soho would be the place i would mainly go on a thursday if looking for a crowd, and its still hard enough find a rocking place on a thursday, even the good aul easy spots are fairly empty - on anon, tiger tiger, reflex, sound etc etc.

Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast