Thread: Orgaised displays

Orgaised displays

Just looking to clarify what the story is with oranised controlled displays?I know rovers used to hold them and not get fined.Whats the story with them now?Would the fai still turn a blind eye if they were controlled?
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Orgaised displays?

Oranised displays?

What fresh madness is this?

I'm sure displays are fine as long as you don't use flares; especially orangised ones.
    Last edited by noby; 18/02/2008 at 10:41 AM. Reason: typo. Oh the irony.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

30 Posts
    From what I can remember, any flares display etc have to be
    supervised by a fire officer and licenced pyrotechnics technician.

Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    licenced pyrotechnics technician.
    Is there a FAS course one could do??

30 Posts
    Is there a FAS course one could do??

I read somewhere online that theres an event licence you can get
    for firework displays in conjunction with the Gardai or something.

50 Posts
    Is that not were six fella's with balaclava's stand over a coffin firing pistols into the air??? They do that at EL games now??!
    You show me a good loser and I'll show you a loser - Vince Lombardi

Depends on the club really, I know Bohs got permission for smoke last year but from past experience you would only be bringing trouble on yourself by mentioning it to the gards, and even some club officials (depending on the club). Probably best to do it without telling anyone and if there is a fine pay it amongst yourselves. Although there is a pyrotechnics training coarse in Clare I think, again you could still be caught with permission from your club though.

Another great example of how the FAI do their best to ruin football in this country Delaney and co. are really doing their best to destroy the Ultra scene here, the league will be a corporate, family friendly, no standing disgrace like the English leagues if supporters don't stand up to this harassment.

1,000 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by half_full View Post

Another great example of how the FAI do their best to ruin football in this country Delaney and co. are really doing their best to destroy the Ultra scene here, the league will be a corporate, family friendly, no standing disgrace like the English leagues if supporters don't stand up to this harassment.
    Those bloody families ruining our league. Why can't they take their 60-80 euros somewhere else?

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Those bloody families ruining our league. Why can't they take their 60-80 euros somewhere else?
    €60 would just the parents into the g.a.a match

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Those bloody families ruining our league.
    Not having a go at families at all, in fact I shouldn't have put it in, but, the FAI are marketing the league towards them, a lot. Think about it: wouldn't it suit them to have lots of people sitting politely and clapping occasionally rather than large groups of people creating atmosphere.

Bosco, the odds on getting permission seem to be a toss of a coin
    Last edited by half_full; 18/02/2008 at 4:18 PM.

Not having a go at families at all, in fact I shouldn't have put it in, but, the FAI are marketing the league towards them, a lot. Think about it: wouldn't it suit them to have lots of people sitting politely and clapping occasionally rather than large groups of people creating atmosphere.
    Or maybe it's because families include children ?

You remember them - the sort who will grow up to become the fans of tomorrow and keep all our clubs alive ? The sort who parents stopped taking to LOI games from c. the 1970's onwards, which has led to the league being the support-less mess it has been ever since....

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bosco View Post
    Just looking to clarify what the story is with oranised controlled displays?I know rovers used to hold them and not get fined.Whats the story with them now?Would the fai still turn a blind eye if they were controlled?
    You mean tifo displays yeah? If you use pyro you will get fined but that doesn't mean the club will have to pay it. But their is more to displays then just pyro. Try something else if you don't have the balls

The FAI is doing their best clamp down on the ultras movement here but if groups have the right mentality the will only get stronger
    Misfits

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Or maybe it's because families include children ?

You remember them - the sort who will grow up to become the fans of tomorrow and keep all our clubs alive ? The sort who parents stopped taking to LOI games from c. the 1970's onwards, which has led to the league being the support-less mess it has been ever since....
    I agree. I never go without at least one of my sons, and sometimes the missus. What behaviour do 'fans' want to get up to that isn't family friendly?? Singing, chanting, cheering, giving out loads is suitable for all ages.

Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    What behaviour do 'fans' want to get up to that isn't family friendly?? Singing, chanting, cheering, giving out loads is suitable for all ages.
    Well in the case of us Limerick fans you would have to include drinking, smoking and occasionally blowing stuff up.

But then the Jacks is a big place, just keep the families away from the singers, the singers away from the families and everyones happy.

I've no problem with families at football.

What I do have a major problem with is kids roaming the terraces doing anything but watching the game.

Some grounds are like fuppin kiddie discos.

And the attitudes of the mammys and daddys are something to behold aswell. Some people need to realise that their children are their responsibility.

I'm already looking forward to the kerfuffle when little Ryan\Jacinta\Demika\Jayden has his/her hand blown off in the Shed, or trips on a step, or chokes on a hot dog etc etc...

You can be certain of one thing and that's that it wont be their parents fault

Rant Over

Exactly Old Youth, but the powers that be would rather everyone sitting down without any of that. The excuse would be that its not 'family friendly' sorry about any confusion I caused with my earlier post. Some clubs in England (Reading and Plymouth for example) have used the 'family friendly' card to turf out as many that they can who stand, even though as you said singing and shouting knows no age.

My post should have read: corporate all seater disgrace

Limerick would suit you down to the ground my man.

Dirty.

Lawless.

Smelly.

Unsafe.

No Seating Area.

And don't even get me started on the football ground............

I remember when people could stand on the old track at the RSC, you would have 4 or 5 groups of youngones and youngfellas about 14 to 16 that would do laps of the track during the match having chats as they met on their circuts None of them looked at the pitch unless a goal had been scored, stranger still was the fact a lot of them were kitted out in fairly expensive club gear.

Limerick would suit you down to the ground my man.

Dirty.

Lawless.

Smelly.

Unsafe.

No Seating Area.

And don't even get me started on the football ground............
    Nice cant wait for the away games there

47 Posts
    Exactly Old Youth, but the powers that be would rather everyone sitting down without any of that. The excuse would be that its not 'family friendly' sorry about any confusion I caused with my earlier post. Some clubs in England (Reading and Plymouth for example) have used the 'family friendly' card to turf out as many that they can who stand, even though as you said singing and shouting knows no age.

Everyone and anyone is allowed stand at our ground. We don't have any seats yet............