Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Delaney hits back at Keane.

Quote Originally Posted by deadman View Post
    how naive do you think delaney is??? ... he may come across as a bumbling fool ... but he knows as well as anyone how the game works ...

this was a calculated and well thought out move by the man ... emboldened by the events of last week. he knew exactly how this story would unfold ... no matter how casual he sounded
    I'm starting to actually like Delaney now.....how bizarre

I've been saying that Keane should shut his treacherous Cork mouth for a long time now....bitter spiteful individual, especially having a go at Shay Given for "gathering caps". Playing in friendlies is not something to be mocked but applauded.
    Last edited by Scram; 18/02/2008 at 12:41 PM. Reason: Spelt Cork Cnut wrong

Quote Originally Posted by deadman View Post
    how naive do you think delaney is??? ... he may come across as a bumbling fool ... but he knows as well as anyone how the game works ...

this was a calculated and well thought out move by the man ... emboldened by the events of last week. he knew exactly how this story would unfold ... no matter how casual he sounded
    How what game works? You're ascribing to the guy a level of aforethought for which he is not reknowned ...unless it directly involves protecting his job.

I'll say it again -it's a nothing story -being amplified by RTE and the papers to turn heads and shift units.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Delaney was probably right in what he said but defending himself by taking a cut at Sunderland's league position and signings is petty.

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    unless it directly involves protecting his job.
    You mean like under pressure for accepting money from a tax exile for the association?

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Point is that Keane was having a go at the FAI and as CEO Delaney was defending it.
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Apparently John Delaney is not allowed defend himself or the FAI
    See, the problem with this is that Delaney didn't try to defend the FAI - he just whined at Sunderland and basically said "Who are you to comment when you're doing so badly?". If instead he'd addressed Keane's claims, it would have been a proper reply; instead, it sounded like petty, uncommendable bitching.

However, as per usual with this site, I think the key of the issue is in a post ignored by everyone -

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    Another nothing story.

I heard the interview and JDs remarks were quite casual and flippant -almost jovial if you can imagine the clown being jovial.

The RTE report, which doesn't tell you these "Harsh words" were spoken in an interview with the utterly clueless Marian Finucane deliberately spins it like he's issued a press statement or something.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BigmanCas View Post
    I was one of the fans who went to Bratislava and Prague thinking that we could get six points from the two games....
    You must be new to following Ireland if you genuinely thought that We could have had JC himself in charge and we would never have come out of those games with 6 points.

Next up: Reporter: "Roy, isn't it a disgrace the price of pigs in Kilmallock?"

Roy: "It's to do with the slow down in the Gloooooobal economy like and....."

Mr. Soundbite Man.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

We could have had JC himself in charge .
    Nobody told me Jack Charlton available? Jesus Christ!
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    See this is the crux of the issue here, you hear so many people do this sort of thing. Fair play Jmurphy for pointing it out. With Stan I felt from the start he was a disaster and that Delaney was wrong to appoint him.
    are you for real??? you and owlsfan and that other cham karlosirl were his biggest fans. shows what you collectively know about football.

Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    I'm starting to actually like Delaney now.....how bizarre

I've been saying that Keane should shut his treacherous Cork mouth for a long time now....bitter spiteful individual, especially having a go at Shay Given for "gathering caps". Playing in friendlies is not something to be mocked but applauded.
    Yeah I remember those spiteful comments, he also questioned Patrick Viera's patriotism by playing for France to which Viera correctly pointed out that Keane is the last person in the world that should be questioning anyones patriotism, he has always being full of BS, took Eamo long enough to figure that one out though

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    are you for real??? you and owlsfan and that other cham karlosirl were his biggest fans. shows what you collectively know about football.
    No we werent I was against the appointment of Staunton from the start and I was going mad when he got the job. However once he was in the job, I decided I was not going to annoy myself every day by giving out about him and supported the team but he should never have got the job and once the campaign was over I wanted him to go. I did not agree he should have been sacked after 3 games like some on here wanted but he was the wrong man for the job and I said it at the time.

Thanks for calling me a cham by the way, whatever that is.
    In Trap we trust

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Don't fall for bill's wind ups. I think he'd be hard pushed to find anyone who supported Delaney's world class appointment. However, miracles do happen and until it is apparent that he hadn't a clue, you have to reserve judgement. I remember many attacking (especially Con Houlihan) Big Jack's appointment.

Most of us support Trappatoni's appointment but that doesn't mean it will all go well and no doubt we'll all start to criticise if it starts to go wrong. However, like every appointment (Giles, Hand, Charlton, McCarthy, Kerr and Staunton) you give them a chance to prove themselves and not join the baying mob before even a ball is kicked.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

20 Posts
    Don't fall for bill's wind ups. I think he'd be hard pushed to find anyone who supported Delaney's world class appointment. However, miracles do happen and until it is apparent that he hadn't a clue, you have to reserve judgement.
    This was apparent quite early! It was obvious at the Holland match Staunton hadnt got a clue. You reserve judgement if we are trying to do the right things but they arent coming off. You dont if we are being overrun by europes lower tier teams.

Neil if you dont know what a cham is I cant help ya.

Delaneys comments at Keane smacked of keeping powder dry till you're in a strong position i.e having just appointed a world class Manager and Keane struggling in the premiership with Sunderland!! Keane is a victim of believing his own press and he has self elevated himself into some sort of a spokesman fo a generation, some of his comments are ridiculous and smack of red-top hyperbole, his comments on Liam Miller not being pick for Ireland Senior squad made me cringe and was in my opinion self serving and aimed at his adoring fanbase in Cork and a headline for the sake of it.

Quote Originally Posted by Reality Bites View Post
    Delaneys comments at Keane smacked of keeping powder dry till you're in a strong position i.e having just appointed a world class Manager and Keane struggling in the premiership with Sunderland!! Keane is a victim of believing his own press and he has self elevated himself into some sort of a spokesman fo a generation, some of his comments are ridiculous and smack of red-top hyperbole, his comments on Liam Miller not being pick for Ireland Senior squad made me cringe and was in my opinion self serving and aimed at his adoring fanbase in Cork and a headline for the sake of it.

Ya don't get the Cork psychic, do ya?

One thing about whatever Sean Óg, Ronan O'Gara or Roy Keane say (all known to ruffle a few feathers), is that they all genuinely believe what they are saying and I think they are honest. Sometimes they are shocked at people's reaction to them. A lot of people think it is arrogance. I think its that 'edge' that makes them great at sport. And lets face it, Cork really do produce people very good at sport.

Quote Originally Posted by janeymac View Post
    Ya don't get the Cork psychic, do ya?

One thing about whatever Sean Óg, Ronan O'Gara or Roy Keane say (all known to ruffle a few feathers), is that they all genuinely believe what they are saying and I think they are honest. Sometimes they are shocked at people's reaction to them. A lot of people think it is arrogance. I think its that 'edge' that makes them great at sport. And lets face it, Cork really do produce people very good at sport.

What's that? a Tarot line? ...or does she read the tea-leaves? Cork people love their tea. They love the bitter taste.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

161 Posts
    When the article was first published Delaney quoted Givens as having said to him (Delaney) that Keane was deflecting attention away from his performance as Sunderland manager. Why has Givens has been airbrushed out of the article?
    Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 19/02/2008 at 1:32 PM.

This was apparent quite early! It was obvious at the Holland match Staunton hadnt got a clue. You reserve judgement if we are trying to do the right things but they arent coming off. You dont if we are being overrun by europes lower tier teams.

Neil if you dont know what a cham is I cant help ya.
    Well I know in clare they have shams. I also found this on the web so I am not sure why you may be comparing us to ethnic groups in Asia and Eastern Europe. Maybe we might meet a few chams in Montenegro.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cham_people

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cham_Albanians
    In Trap we trust

Also from reading your posts I would be of the opinion that you are actually one of the least informed people about football on this forum but at the end of the day who cares as there is not great credit to be taking for knowing about football. What makes you think that you know more about football that Owlsfan Karlos and myself or anybody else for that matter.
    In Trap we trust

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    When the article was first published Delaney quoted Givens as having said to him (Delaney) that Keane was deflecting attention away his performance as Sunderland manager. Why has Givens has been airbrushed out of the article?
    Taken from the Eircom site. This is the original story.

Delaney repeated the contention, recently put forward by Don Givens, that Keane is using the FAI to deflect from Sunderland's problems.

"He seems to be very good now at deflecting from his own issues and he should get on now with doing his own job. We don't comment on where they in the league. If anything, publicly, we've been supportive of what they've done in regard to Irish players -- so from my perspective now he should just get on with his job."

112 Posts
    Keane is a victim of believing his own press and he has self elevated himself into some sort of a spokesman fo a generation

Well his favorite artist is Bob Dylan... "..once upon a time you played so fine,threw the bums a dime in your prime didn't you..."

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast