Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Stephen Ireland Makes Himself Available Again

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RivaldoBabb View Post
    I think you need to take off your blue coloured spectacles.

I have also watched a lot of man city games, including the manchester derby recently when I thought he was rubbish first half and slightly better second half but some of the people on this forum were getting a bit overexcited about him afterwards.
    It wasn't just the people on this forum, manchestereveningnews.co.uk had him second behind Dunne in the MOTM poll
    from the player ratings for that game: http://www.manchestereveningnews.co....player_ratings
    IRELAND: Gave the ball away cheaply at times but was involved in first goal and made some wonderful off the ball runs that confused the Reds defence 8

Thats very considerate of him isnt it? 'Yeh, i think ill bother playing for Ireland again as they have a good manager, Sven says I should'

The more I hear from him the more I dislike him, where is his passion for the Irish jersey and commitment to the cause, he should want to play for Ireland regardless of who the manager is or how the team is doing.

He can come back, and sit on the bench because he is not good enough to get in midfield ahead of McGeady, A Reid, S Reid, Duff
    Well firstly in Ireland's defense, the Staunton era was a comical disaster. I've been told that Staunton tried to take a 'one of the lads' approach during his reign in order to win the players over and create team spirit. Unfortunately this approach apparently backfired on him with the Stephen Ireland incident and the banter Ireland was on the receiving end of regarding his hair transplant. Thus the reason why Ireland refused to even meet Staunton when he travelled to Manchester to coax him back, and thus why Ireland had no interest in ever playing for Staunton again. The set up was a joke, with Staunton thinking he was still a player and apparently partaking heavily in the banter and the squads social scene. Initially I thought myself that Ireland needed a kick up the hole, but the stories i've heard since have changed my view. I've also been told eye witness account stories regarding the squads booze ups, including Staunton, in Malahide before big games, from mates who live and socialise in Malahide nonetheless. Easy to see why we didn't qualify

It's no surprise to me that Ireland is now willing to make himself available again now that Staunton is out and a new more professional regime in.

As for Givens, lets hope he's an early casualty in the Trappatoni era

Finally, Ireland is better than all of that midfield with the possible exception of Duff. On current and recent seasons form, Ireland is better than all of them. If you think otherwise, I'm afraid you're deluded. Extremely deluded.
    Last edited by 4tothefloor; 19/02/2008 at 12:27 AM.

I have also watched a lot of man city games, including the manchester derby recently when I thought he was rubbish first half and slightly better second half but some of the people on this forum were getting a bit overexcited about him afterwards.
    Sven didn't though.

welcome back steven ireland , all is forgiven , just dont do it again , ya young eejit ya
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Whether he panicked or not is not the issue here. He lied about his reasons for doing so, twice. The nature of the lies were disgraceful. If he had told the truth initially, he would still have gone home, and the fans would have accepted it a lot more. This was not a one-off occurrence, he refused to play for us for 5 games.

The FAI is a football association, not a counselling service. It's up to Stephen Ireland to sort his problems out, neither the FAI nor his club are under any obligation to do so. He walked out on his country, so he needs to contact the FAI and apologise for his behaviour to them and to us, before setting foot in the squad, never mind a press conference again.

Sorry, but miscarriage or not, he must be made an example of. Otherwise, what's to stop another player to use similiar reasons in order to boycott the team for 5 months? Allowing him back in, sends out the message that his behaviour can, and will be tolerated in future. That only spells bad news for our team.
    You're a bundle of joy aren't you??

The man made a mistake in a very sad situation. He dealt with the matter in the wrong way but he did lose his child. Do people forget this??

If anything, people should sympathise with him rather than making bitter comments like above. This incident should be forgotten

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor View Post

Finally, Ireland is better than all of that midfield with the possible exception of Duff. On current and recent seasons form, Ireland is better than all of them. If you think otherwise, I'm afraid you're deluded. Extremely deluded.
    On current form most people would agree that McGeady is also better if we're talking about club level. On recent seasons form A Reid (last season in the premiership with Charlton) was far better than Ireland imo until he got injured. Ireland was very hit and miss last year.

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    On current form most people would agree that McGeady is also better if we're talking about club level. On recent seasons form A Reid (last season in the premiership with Charlton) was far better than Ireland imo until he got injured. Ireland was very hit and miss last year.
    But he has upped his game this year because of better management and Hamann is being used properly this year so it frees Ireland up. I haven't watched a great deal of Man City this year but it seems as though Ireland will have a few excellent games and people will be raving about him, and then you won't hear too much about him for another month. I'm just making an assumption, but could it be due to inconsistency or has he been decent in most of the games he's played in?
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Your deluded. The guys work rate is very poor and his attitude stinks. S Ireland is NOT as good as Duff, Mc Geady and A Reid - not on current form - not ever!!!!!!! Waken up!!! Watch him against Slovakia last September and come back to me.

Sorry The Above Message Was Suppose To Reply To 4tothefloors remarks And not Youngirish

Quote Originally Posted by BigmanCas View Post
    Your deluded. The guys work rate is very poor and his attitude stinks. S Ireland is NOT as good as Duff, Mc Geady and A Reid - not on current form - not ever!!!!!!! Waken up!!! Watch him against Slovakia last September and come back to me.
    I've watched him against Slovakia more than once and whilst he was extremely poor in that game despite the goal, it was mainly due to him being played out of position (in central midfield) and his poor positioning. I assume that Eriksson is helping him to improve his positioning and tactical awareness and this will inevitably make him a better player. He's still relatively young and these skills generally come with experience. He has enough raw talents to make me believe he will become an excellent player in the future if he applies himself and continues to play under good managers.
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

I can't understand people getting this worked up arguing that an Irish player isn't good enough. Fair enough if it was the other way around.

Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    I've watched him against Slovakia more than once and whilst he was extremely poor in that game despite the goal, it was mainly due to him being played out of position (in central midfield) and his poor positioning. I assume that Eriksson is helping him to improve his positioning and tactical awareness and this will inevitably make him a better player. He's still relatively young and these skills generally come with experience. He has enough raw talents to make me believe he will become an excellent player in the future if he applies himself and continues to play under good managers.
    I forgot about his performance against Cyprus.... He was the reason why Cyprus beat us by 3 goals - no protection whatsoever in front of the back 4 - Kilbane had no help at all -everything coming down the central channel. where do you play him? wide on the right?? (meaning you are going to have to sacrafice either Mc Geady or Duff) I don't think he deserves a place in the team. Look at the tread relating to Trapps 11 - and most have S Ireland playing behind the centre forward? I don't buy into to him not yet, not until his work rate improves and his attitude changes - which I suspect might never happen - though I hope it does for his own sake.

Ireland played in the hole behind the striker against Slovakia at home and was switched to there when it was obvious he was ineffective on the right. He played very well on both occasions, and any other time he's played for us it has been in a different position as far as I'm aware, and he's played poorly. Given the right line up he could be a very useful option for us in the next qualifying campaign.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    I can't understand people getting this worked up arguing that an Irish player isn't good enough. Fair enough if it was the other way around.
    He certainly polarises opinion doesnt he?

Look, i hope he turns out to be as good as some people think he is but at the moment but I dont trust him, I think he has to earn trust back from Irish fans by keeping his mouth closed, put his head down and impress the new manager, not spit out his dummy if he doesnt get in the first team and turn up for the tough away games in Tbilisi and Sofia, not just the glamour game in Rome.
    'I can't even remember when the Seventies was.' - ROBBIE KEANE

He certainly polarises opinion doesnt he?

Look, i hope he turns out to be as good as some people think he is but at the moment but I dont trust him, I think he has to earn trust back from Irish fans by keeping his mouth closed, put his head down and impress the new manager, not spit out his dummy if he doesnt get in the first team and turn up for the tough away games in Tbilisi and Sofia, not just the glamour game in Rome.
    What will happen if Trapp doesn't start him???? He will not take to kindly to sitting on the bench IMO. Remember the episode with Kerr in Cork. I think he is an accident waiting to happen. There is always going to be issues with this young fella. I am sorry but that is how I feel - plus his performances have never been up to scratch. So when you add the two together - what do you get???

3,501 Posts
    What will happen if Trapp doesn't start him???? He will not take to kindly to sitting on the bench IMO. Remember the episode with Kerr in Cork.
    Staunton didn't start him in his first game either, didn't affect him then did it?

503 Posts
    What will happen if Trapp doesn't start him???? He will not take to kindly to sitting on the bench IMO. Remember the episode with Kerr in Cork.
    Again lads i have to defend him. I wouldn't like to be judged against every mistake i made when i was 17.

as a player i think he is likely to be far more likely to get a game at home than away. I can see him being a luxury we can't afford in Montenegro or Georgia, but at Croker or the new LR he will hopefully be able to get space and time on the ball which will allow him to be at his mst effective

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz
    If anything, people should sympathise with him rather than making bitter comments like above. This incident should be forgotten
    It won't be forgotten, nor win any sympathy. When Roy Keane walked out, he did so for reasons connected with the team. When Stephen Ireland walked out, he was only thinking of himself. If it screwed us in Prague, (which it did) sod it.

When Mick McCarthy lost his father when we were playing, he didn't lie to the FAI and go home, he stayed to manage the team. When Robbie Keane lost his father, he was back next match. Stephen Ireland lied in a grotesque fashion, and ignored us for a further 5 months. He walked out on Kerr, he walked out on Stan, Trap will no doubt be next.

There's nothing to prevent him doing so again, as long as enough say, "Ah sure, he'll always be welcome back".
    Last edited by mypost; 21/02/2008 at 6:52 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    It won't be forgotten, nor win any sympathy.
    You mean, of course, it won't be forgotten by you, nor elicit any sympathy from you.

Many people have other things going on in their lives, so "the strange case of the Immature 21 year old who made a terribly embarrassing mistake and subsequently publicly apologised for it, and is now quoted as looking forward to playing under his new manager" will hopefully soon be confined to the dustbin of history for the vast majority of Ireland fans. If he doesnt play for us again, It'll be disappointing, but not apocalyptic.

However, I consider him to be somewhat gifted, & I hope he plays for us again. I hope his personal & mental issues are all in the past, and that his talent goes to play some part in taking Ireland to South Africa.
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor View Post
    Well firstly in Ireland's defense, the Staunton era was a comical disaster. I've been told that Staunton tried to take a 'one of the lads' approach during his reign in order to win the players over and create team spirit. Unfortunately this approach apparently backfired on him with the Stephen Ireland incident and the banter Ireland was on the receiving end of regarding his hair transplant. Thus the reason why Ireland refused to even meet Staunton when he travelled to Manchester to coax him back, and thus why Ireland had no interest in ever playing for Staunton again. The set up was a joke, with Staunton thinking he was still a player and apparently partaking heavily in the banter and the squads social scene. Initially I thought myself that Ireland needed a kick up the hole, but the stories i've heard since have changed my view. I've also been told eye witness account stories regarding the squads booze ups, including Staunton, in Malahide before big games, from mates who live and socialise in Malahide nonetheless. Easy to see why we didn't qualify

It's no surprise to me that Ireland is now willing to make himself available again now that Staunton is out and a new more professional regime in.

As for Givens, lets hope he's an early casualty in the Trappatoni era

well Im deluded then, Why didnt Ireland play under Kerr????

Why didnt he play against Wales????

As for your eye witness account, Stan is not a heavy drinker and i've never heard any of that crap from one of his biggest critics who's son is on the team... and tha'ts first hand because I was with this chap in Bratislava Prague and Cardiff among a lot others.

BTW I also admit Stan was a failure but certain players let him down and lastly what has Don Givens ever done wrong to you. He manages the U21s and his job is to blood players and give them experience, U21 titles are worthless as are Brian Kerrs U16 and U18 trophys nice and all that they were they count for nothing in the senior game.

Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast