Thread: Michael Carrick

Michael Carrick

Am i the only one who thinks he is absolute top class? forget the amount united paid for him. his passing is just top drawer everytime, hardly ever gives possesion away and creates so many chances every game.
    what do ye think of him?

185 Posts
    yep i agree with you on that one, top class player. should be regularly starting for england aswell.

462 Posts
    I think he is really top passer of the ball, he never seems to give the ball away, he is also handy at defending, some people do not realise how good at defending he is. Pity for England that they tend to perist with Lampard instead of him.

had a great game today and has done well this season anderson is a perfect foil for him as he breaks up alot of the play and gives carrick space to pick passes
    We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.

i just think that alot of people say he is no good, if im watching a game in the pub its always carrick people seem to give out about, he dosnt get enough recognition for the role he plays for united.

It's the same with Alonso. Even Pirlo doesn't get enough credit.

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    Am i the only one who thinks he is absolute top class? forget the amount united paid for him. his passing is just top drawer everytime, hardly ever gives possesion away and creates so many chances every game.
    what do ye think of him?
    Spot on. His passing his unbelievable. IMO the best passer of a ball over the top of the defence with Man Utd, with Paul Scholes being the best passer along the ground.
    Eg: Today for Nani's goal. One word. DELICIOUS.

I rate him highly but I feel so sorry for him.
    Signs for Man Utd and has a sketchy start to be fair, suffers with abuse from the critics. Then got to January and he turned a corner and became one of the key players in United winning the league. The Season ends and United are champions.
    The summer comes and United sign Owen Hargreaves. Who becomes 1st choice midfielder with Scholes. Carrick warms the bench and loses his place in the England squad. Hargreaves gets injured and Carrick comes in and continues where he left off the previous season. Hargreaves returns and replaces Carrick. Hargreaves out again and once again Carrick comes in and continues where he left off the previous season.

He's been better than Hargreaves this year yet he can't get in the England squad and Hargreaves can.
    Finally he seems to be edging Hargreaves out of the team and is continuing to show great form in a Man Utd jersey. It took a while but he is finally being rewarded. An under-rated player who deserves more.
    Last edited by rambler14; 16/02/2008 at 9:48 PM.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

It's more down to Hargreaves being a new costly signing and Scholes being so important to them. Carrick and Hargreaves is the future midfield for them though. Ferguson said himself last year he's basing his team on the Milan/Italy one.

Capello was at the match today and if Carrick scores 5 own goals before the next month he'll still be in the next England squad. There's no way you can talk about lack of technical ability and tactical awareness and leave Carrick out.

carrick the genius

lads, ye would want to take off yer red tinted spectacles.. carrick is a no-hoper.. united and fergusons main aim is to win champs league and if carrick is in the team they have no chance - he has never produced the goods against the top teams - either in england or in europe... hes a big girls blouse
    hopefully he starts against lyon wednesday and ye will all see how sh*te he really is - ye wont even know hes on the pitch

Lyon? Roma are better than them.

462 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cartman View Post
    lads, ye would want to take off yer red tinted spectacles.. carrick is a no-hoper.. united and fergusons main aim is to win champs league and if carrick is in the team they have no chance - he has never produced the goods against the top teams - either in england or in europe... hes a big girls blouse
    hopefully he starts against lyon wednesday and ye will all see how sh*te he really is - ye wont even know hes on the pitch
    Either you are an Arsenal or Liverpool fan by the sounds of that.

arsenal suddenly arnt a big team, no?

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    what do ye think of him?
    I agree - I have seen him live a few times for and against West Ham and I think he is top drawer.

He needs to be postioned in a side but his possession control, as you identified, is top drawer.
    DB Cooper is alive !

Carrick is absolutely top notch.

He's been brilliant for United lately and as someone said, people don't notice the defensive work that he does.

If you look at Tottenham's record in the early part of Jol's first full season, or even over that season as a whole, it shows how good Carrick is defensively (I know Davids contributed as well) because when he left, Spurs couldn't defend for toffee. He mightn't be a Roy Keane type; that's coz he's far more intelligent than that (that's not meant as an insult to Keane, who was a great player, btw).

As for his passing, it's a joy to watch.

Not a top notch player but a decent player. Good range of passes and uses the ball intelligently, but cannot tackle or does not get into goal scoring positions enough. I have to say it is easy to pick out the Liverpool, Arsenal and Man U fans here.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Yeah def agree
    he is useless, and you should all know by now the real reason Fergie paid so much for him

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Anyone that can't see that Carrick is an excellent player doesn't have a clue about football. Probably the same people that think Frank Lampard is world class cos he scores loads of goals for Chelsea. Carrick should walk into the England team ahead of him.

Quote Originally Posted by beautifulrock View Post
    Not a top notch player but a decent player. Good range of passes and uses the ball intelligently, but cannot tackle or does not get into goal scoring positions enough.
    Why is that when a midfielder gets praise someone always comes out and says that they don't score enough goals? He's a deep lying player ffs, his job his to dictate the play, protect the defence and create chances for his teammates.

Quote Originally Posted by TheBoss View Post
    Either you are an Arsenal or Liverpool fan by the sounds of that.
    im actually a united fan.. and have been since well before ferguson took over... so id say ive seen a good few united midfielders of the highest quality over the years...
    i just cant believe ye started a whole thread on the worst united player at the moment..i watch every minute of every united game..and in half the games carrick starts you would not even know hes on the pitch - he has no impact at all... he just ponces around
    to quote the boy of the dunphys once "ferguson thought he was getting a rolls royce and only now has he realised hes got a renault clio"
    i fear if he plays the two legs against lyon, we will more than likely be out

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Anyone that can't see that Carrick is an excellent player doesn't have a clue about football. Probably the same people that think Frank Lampard is world class cos he scores loads of goals for Chelsea. Carrick should walk into the England team ahead of him.

Why is that when a midfielder gets praise someone always comes out and says that they don't score enough goals? He's a deep lying player ffs, his job his to dictate the play, protect the defence and create chances for his teammates.
    FFS read the posts and see how much praise he gets Any more of your observtions will be keenly waited upon as it would seem you are the only one tht knows anything around here

Quote Originally Posted by beautifulrock View Post
    Not a top notch player but a decent player. Good range of passes and uses the ball intelligently, but cannot tackle or does not get into goal scoring positions enough.
    You can say the exact same about Pirlo but he's still probably the most influential player in the world.