Thread: Dunphy Slates Serie A

Dunphy Slates Serie A

Dunphy's just had a go at Serie A.

He completely wrote the Italian game off. Conveniently he neglected to mention that Milan are reigning European Champions, that Italy have won more Champions League trophies in the last 5years than any other nation, and have more representation in the final in those 5 years than any other nation. That Italy won the World Cup less than 2 years ago with a team all sourced from Italian club sides. And that his great Real Madrid were beaten tonight by Roma.

Ok Serie A's stock is low, true, and I'm a Milan fan, true, but God he can be hard to listen to at times. He knows that Spanish and English football is the best because he admitted to not having a life and that he watches it every weekend. In other words he watches Real and Barca and the top 4 in England every weekend and never watches a Bundesliga, SuperLiga or Ligue 1 game.

Had to get that off my chest!

65 Posts
    He still likes to drink italian wine by the look of him tonight
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

hes dead right, they were pathetic against a equally pathetic liverpool side. Dirk Kuyt- I wouldnt want him at Ramblers FACT. Crouch is way better, i dont even suport liverpool but like the Crouch Torres combo, why does benitez start him. Anyway Eamons dead right.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

I wouldn't dare write Inter off yet. They looked pretty comfortable until the deflection. I couldn't see the goal coming. They defended magnificently and Cordoba going off was a big turning point.

Did smile at Dunphy's "Who is Cordoba" as if not knowing their name means they can't be any good can they?
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Dunphy knows absolutely **** all about any football outside the Premiership. My dog knows more, and I don't have a dog.

3,488 Posts
    Dunphy is on auto-moan. If you disagree with something and Dunphy mentions (= moans about) it, you find yourself agreeing with him. Otherwise, he's a fool. In general though, he's a fool. Don't know why anyone pays any attention to him any more.

Fool or otherwise, he makes you think a little. And that makes him better than the vast majority of idiots populating pundit green rooms.

As for Serie A I must disclaim that I see about two games a season so I wouldn't be in a position to authoritatively comment. (unlike Eamon, I have a life ) But when faced with evidence comprising decided also-rans from one league completely outplaying run-away leaders who couldn't string two passes together from another league then, albeit reductionistic, one could be moved to say the latter league is crap in comparison to the former.

But in general (in UEFA Cup and CL) I'd guess Spain and England have walked all over Italy over the last few years, with a stout AC Milan the only flag-flyers for Serie A of late that I can think of.
    Last edited by Risteard; 20/02/2008 at 9:28 PM. Reason: language

Dunphy doesn't know ahything about Serie A. The only time he sees Italian sides is in the CL. He's always spouting out the same old clichés about Italian football.

Someone mentioned the also-ran category of teams. Serie A = one team last year in Inter, Milan were -15 points and there was no Juve. Most years it's a three-way between those teams. England is the same, it's one of Arsenal, Chelsea or Man U. I don't know much about La Liga but it seems to be Barca and Real and a third team, at the moment Sevilla.

Not much differences between the three in that area.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

144 Posts
    Uncle Eamo may have been under the influence last night, what rubbish.
    Slating Italian football, telling us that cos Roma lost heavily at Old Trafford that they are nowhere near as good as the top English and Spanish sides, fair play to Bill the for throwing in the hammer at him when the highlights of their 2-1 defeat of Real Madrid was finished. Told us Roma are 4 points behind Inter in the league when they are 11.
    That the Irish team has better players than Inter and then turning around and saying thst Arsenal-Milan would be enthralling but surely Arsenal should easily beat a team 21 points adrift of what according to him is a very poor Inter side.
    You could sense the frustration in Souness, Dunphy was spouting rubbish.
    Whats new!
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Thanks KH,you've just put me off my lunch!

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    ...when faced with evidence comprising decided also-rans from one league completely outplaying run-away leaders who couldn't string two passes together from another league then, albeit reductionistic, one could be moved to say the latter league is crap in comparison to the former.
    It would be interesting to see how Chelsea would have fared in Greece had they a man sent off half an hour into the game. Last night was no basis for comparison at all.

Am I dreaming that the analysts spent half time yesterday slating Liverpool, then sang their praises after they went ahead from a deflected goal after almost an hour's play with an extra man?

But in general (in UEFA Cup and CL) I'd guess Spain and England have walked all over Italy over the last few years, with a stout AC Milan the only flag-flyers for Serie A of late that I can think of.
    Juventus spent two years out of European football because of the scandal over refereeing selection and more. That cost Serie A one of its top performing teams and a number of its most talented players (Cannavaro, Zambrotta, Thuram and Emerson fecked off to Spain, Trezeguet, Del Piero, Nedved and Camoranesi spent two seasons out of Europe with Juventus).

And still, Serie A hosts the current CL champions.

I seem to recall Dunphy lambasting Manchester United (and English football in general), after a poor performance by them against Milan a couple of years ago. Italian football was far superior, he claimed. Ronaldo was hapless against the wily old Maldini (who'd actually played centre-half, I think - this may have been another rant... er, game altogether where he made this error) and Rooney was rubbish, over-hyped, clueless.

Anyway, Dunphy is employed to get people riled up over issues like this. I wouldn't pay much heed to what he's saying at any given minute. He'll have changed his mind in a week or two anyway.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Dunphy also claimed that Roma went on to win the league after ManU beat them 7-1 in last years CL when we all know Inter won it. At some other stage he said Inter had won the Serie A the last 3 years to which Souness replied 2 but one of them was cos of the Juve scandal.

He just rants on and on completly changing his opinions from one minute to the next, but he saved his best for aftr the game when he said 'Inter are crap!' and ranted on about the 2 levels in the CL

Dunphy was talking garbage last night.

"Inter have no quality"

"Who is Cordoba"

"Serie A is full of poor sides"

"Ireland have more quality than Inter"

Just proved he hasn't a clue.

You have to be used to him now last year it was the premiership is rubbish its no where near the italian league. This week its the italian league is rubbish its no where near the prem league he will contradict himself next week again.

He makes good watching as long as you know he doesnt believe what he is saying he is only saying it to get a reaction.

talkin crap again..doubt he watches one bit if italian football
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Serie A's strength in depth is the problem, it's bottom clubs are relatively poorer than their Premiership and La Liga counterparts, but at the top end of the table Serie A is just as good as anywhere else. The fact that United had one of those games where everything goes right for you against Roma, and Liverpool scrapped over the line against 10-man Inter mean nothing

462 Posts
    I have to say that all the teams in each league are equal enough in different ways, In my opinion there is not a top league, these 3 are the superior leagues in Europe, no doubt about that but the order of the 3 is up for much debate in my opinion.

In England, the top 3 at the moment are as good as each other really, there is not any major differences. Then there is another 6 teams that battle for European places, and the other 11 play for Mediocrity and staying in the league.

In Spain, there is 2 top teams and again similar, but there is far more teams competing for European places, about 10 teams, with the remaining 8, battling for relegation.

In Italy, 5 teams can really win the league, 8 teams try to gain that last european place and other 7 trying to avoid the drop.

The quality of players in the lower teams in Spain and Italy is far superior to that of England.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Serie A's strength in depth is the problem, it's bottom clubs are relatively poorer than their Premiership and La Liga counterparts, but at the top end of the table Serie A is just as good as anywhere else. The fact that United had one of those games where everything goes right for you against Roma, and Liverpool scrapped over the line against 10-man Inter mean nothing
    Scraped over the line? What game were you watching?! I don't recall one Inter effort on goal. On the other hand i can recall clear cut chances that should have been buried from Torres, Hyypia and two from Peter Crouch in the second half prior to any goals. There were also chances in the first half. Liverpool ate Inter for dinner last night, they hardly came out of their own half. I can't stand this utter bulls**t from people who can't recognise when Liverpool actually do well. If it was Arsenal you'd be up to your neck in cum. If that's what you call scraping over the line, I'd love to see what you'd call a comprehensive victory Inter were crap and always are in Europe. Shower of bottlers

It's got to the stage now where the likes of Man U, Chelsea, Real Madrid, Barcelona, Milan, etc. are no indicator of the strength of their leagues. They're basically global clubs now. The UEFA Cup is probably a better indcator of strength in depth.

Quote Originally Posted by DaveyCakes View Post
    The UEFA Cup is probably a better indcator of strength in depth.
    But it's more or less accepted that the Italian clubs couldn't give a fig about the UEFA cup......

I can't stand this utter bulls**t from people who can't recognise when Liverpool actually do well.
    In fairness Liverpool got very lucky last night with Inter losing both their centre halves.

For all the territory and all the possesion there was precious little in the way of penetration when you consider how long they were playing against ten men.

It took until late in the second half before Liverpool figured out they needed to stretch Inter across the field.

Stevie Courageous once again poxed a goal after what had been a woeful overall contribution.

Inter were crap and always are in Europe. Shower of bottlers
    Agreed.