Page 6 of 17 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

Thread: Owen Garvan

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    FFS this seems to becoming the yapster.ie forum. every thread seems to be taken over with his crap.the forum is all about opinions but all I see is a guy that thinks the Irish team is rubbish with not much potential to improve as we have no good young players... makes me wonder why someone like that needs to spend so much time talkin about the Irish team
    agreed. There has been an influx of posters over the last couple of months that are loud, negative and obnoxious and that are, frankly, making this forum a chore to read or contribute to.

Im all for objectivity and am quite a pessimistic person (when it comes to footie) myself but some of the crap ive read over the last few weeks is deranged.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    FFS this seems to becoming the yapster.ie forum. every thread seems to be taken over with his crap.the forum is all about opinions but all I see is a guy that thinks the Irish team is rubbish with not much potential to improve as we have no good young players... makes me wonder why someone like that needs to spend so much time talkin about the Irish team

the forum is all about opinions

isn't that what I have been expressing all along... For the record I do happen to think this current squad is one of the worst for years with only 3 good players Given,Dunne & Keane, Duff is half the player he was,the rest barely get a game a their clubs. I think St Ledger is a find as is Lawrence but they are hardly top drawer. McGeady is ****e. Yes we had a good campaign but that was because of Trap and the fact that Bulgaria were crap.Very good performance against France in Paris but failed to take the chances offered to us,after Keanes miss we went back to being a very ordinary side again and France were getting on top by exploiting our mistakes and tirdness for that matter. McShane makes a schoolboy error which unfortunatly led to Henrys cheating. Ireland rode their luck throughout the campaign it must be said and when we played at our best against a bad French team it must be said we failed to put them away.

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by yapster View Post
    And you go by ****-eyed assumption son...

I do have hope for Stokes and he is playing well at the moment.FACT
    I have hope for Seamus at Everton and has played well so far in his starts.FACT
    McGeady has been ****e overall for Ireland.FACT
    McCarthy is a sub at a ****e club.FACT
    At 27 S.Hunt is a headless chicken.FACT
    Keane missed a sitter and we are not in the WC.FACT.
    Kevin Doyle has no pace but has potential.FACT
    You need to buy a dictionary and look up the word fact. You're starting to sound like Rafa Benitez.

The only facts in your post above are that Seamus Coleman plays for Everton, James McCarthy is a Sub and we are not in the world cup. The rest is all opinion (which are correct in some cases but I'd argue over some of the others) but none of them are factual in the accepted meaning of the word.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

Quote Originally Posted by EastTerracer View Post
    You need to buy a dictionary and look up the word fact. You're starting to sound like Rafa Benitez.

The only facts in your post above are that Seamus Coleman plays for Everton, James McCarthy is a Sub and we are not in the world cup. The rest is all opinion (which are correct in some cases but I'd argue over some of the others) but none of them are factual in the accepted meaning of the word.

And your begining to sound like Sepp Blatter..

So Mcgeady had a good campaign then?

S.Hunt does not play like a headless chicken?

192 Posts
    And your begining to sound like Sepp Blatter..

So Mcgeady had a good campaign then?

S.Hunt does not play like a headless chicken?
    I happen to agree with your opinion of Hunt and McGeady but that doesn't make them facts - they are still opinions. Others may not share the same opinions but I am willing to respect their views without necessarily agreeing with them.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

I happen to agree with your opinion of Hunt and McGeady but that doesn't make them facts - they are still opinions. Others may not share the same opinions but I am willing to respect their views without necessarily agreeing with them.

You sound like Bertie Ahern now

1,928 Posts

Don't you know that, in some parts of Dublin, an opinion is fact.
    It is transformed into a fact by the insertion of 'fact' or 'FACT' at the end of each opinion expressed.

25 Posts
    You sound like Bertie Ahern now
    My advice would be to keep reading the papers and listening to Dunphy and Dolan and the like. Form your opinion on the basis of what they say or a variation thereof. And spout it off as gospel as your own.

God forbid you'll have any actual knowledge or genuine opinion of your own. Son

Quote Originally Posted by Strongbow10 View Post
    My advice would be to keep reading the papers and listening to Dunphy and Dolan and the like. Form your opinion on the basis of what they say or a variation thereof. And spout it off as gospel as your own.

God forbid you'll have any actual knowledge or genuine opinion of your own. Son

If you don't like them then don't read them... simple as

622 Posts
    If you don't like them then don't read them... simple as
    your living up to your name anyway how many posts have you made today?? you seem to be a very opinionated young man i think garvan will be playing in the premier devision within the next 2 seasons and theres every chace it could be with ipswich.. theyve been going pretty well lately
    Last edited by Acornvilla; 06/01/2010 at 8:57 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    your living up to your name anyway how many posts have yo made today?? you seem to be a very opionated yound man i think garvan will be playing in the premier devision within the next 2 seasons and theres every chance it could be with ipswich.. theyve been going pretty well lately

I'm not working these times so I fill to fill in my time and amuse myself as well

I do hope Garvan makes it, he is skillful & creative and is a great prospect for Ireland. However it is up to himself to improve his game & attitude. I thought he was fecked when him and the mentalist Keane fell out but fair play to Keane he has given him a run of games and given him a chance.Crazy as Keane is he can't ignore the talent & potential in Garvan. Sadly not a lot of Irish players fair well under Keane. As I mentioned earlier if Garvan is still struggling in the Championship for another 2 years no Premiership club will touch him.

"Ipswich were made to pay for a dreadful first half display, which saw angry manager Roy Keane haul off midfielder Owen Garvan after just 23 minutes with his side 1-0 down. "

First thoughts - Keane is being very unfair on the lad. Apart from wasting a substitution like that after 23 minutes - it strikes as being a big bully. Would be interested in reading whether it was somehow justified though. Wonder will he play again after that.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by macdermesser View Post
    "Ipswich were made to pay for a dreadful first half display, which saw angry manager Roy Keane haul off midfielder Owen Garvan after just 23 minutes with his side 1-0 down. "

First thoughts - Keane is being very unfair on the lad. Apart from wasting a substitution like that after 23 minutes - it strikes as being a big bully. Would be interested in reading whether it was somehow justified though. Wonder will he play again after that.
    Its obvious Keane hates Garvan. He has treated him very poorly since he arrived there. He never rated him. He wanted he to go to Colchester on loan at the start of the season, Garvan refused. Garvan is an inteligent young man, something which obviously bothers Keane. Hope he gets the sack, he is an embarrassment to the whole nation with his antics.
    Always look on the bright side of life

229 Posts
    Playing devils advocate here.....

Postmatch interview (available on BBC) says words along the line of Owen can consider himself unlucky, there were three or four players I could have substituted at that point

Could be argued the substitution worked, in that Ipswich did get themselves back in the game, though ultimately lost to a late goal.

Mourhino was often paraised for making early first half changes when things werent going to plan, so making a 23rd minute sub cant simply be called a waste because its early in the 1st half can it?

However, it could be that Keane was just being a cnut.......Ive no idea if Garvan was any worse than the other 2 or 3 players mentioned.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

215 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    Ive no idea if Garvan was any worse than the other 2 or 3 players mentioned.
    If he was that bad, it begs the question - how has one of the Championship's most talented and promising players deteriorated so badly to the point where he is struggling to get a game with a team struggling against relegtaion? Answer - Roy Keane

229 Posts
    Perhaps.

Im not close enough to the facts to really comment, though other posts have suggested Owens own attitude/commitment have not been up to scratch either (comments from Ipswich fans I believe). Its a bit easy to blame Roy for everything - One thing is for sure, Keane doesnt want to get Ipswich relegated and if Owen can help him achieve that aim then he'll be playing (he did start, afterall).

If its a personality clash then hopefully Garvan gets a move in the summer - he cant afford to be on the fringes for any length of time.......

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

215 Posts
    I have not seen that much of Ipswich either, but his performances for thr U21's still indicate that he is a player with exceptional touch and vision. This is total speculation but Keane is a classic "British" player who made the best use of his technical abilities through application, aggression and extraordinary athleticism. Garvan is the absolute antithesis, even when he is trying he has a casual elegance that can easily be mistaken for laziness. I would imagine (admittedly with very little evidence) that he is the kind of player who would infuriate Keane. Time and again talented players of the Garvan ilk have failed to realise their potential playing in England. If Givens, Trapp et al wanted to do something radical to develop our international team they would be encouraging anf facilitating more of our players to go to Europe. Garvan could be the next Xabi Alonso but will probably end up becoming the next Stephen McPhail.

Garvan has great potential but he needs to assert himself more in games, maybe Keane is trying to bring out in him by making him fight for his place. It's up to Garvan himself if he wants to be a top player or not and another few seasons in the Championship will only make his case worse.

229 Posts
    Looks like he could be on his way out of Ipswich (along with Bruce, Quinn, Healy) this summer.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...-clearout.html

PS: Im not a dailymail reader, just googled it after reading it elsewhere on the interweb! - hopefully I may retain the little bit of credibility I have here.....

Would love to see this guy make a proper breakthrough somewhere this season and get some games under his belt (regularly).

A bit like McCarthy at Wigan, looking forward to him showing his stuff after his experiences of last year with Wigan (reserves and first team) and a good pre-season under him.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    Would love to see this guy make a proper breakthrough somewhere this season and get some games under his belt (regularly).
    If he is good enough, why is he being let go? He had a good run at one stage in the Ipswich side ("proper breakthrough"?) but alas appears to have gone backwards. He'll be playing for the likes of Wednesday in the 1st Division soon and then.....Hopefully, I am wrong but once the slide down the slippery slope begins, it is very hard to arrest.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Page 6 of 17 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast