Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast

Thread: Ireland line-up under Trapattoni

Benitez used it for years at Valencia and would have used it but he did not have the balls to do it at Liverpool until recently. Its a very common formation. Two central midfielders who break it up and give it, in the central area. 2 wingers and a number 10 and then a number nine up front on his own.
    Last edited by NeilMcD; 27/03/2008 at 8:01 PM.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Benitez used it for years at Valencia and would have used it but he did not have the balls to do it at Liverpool until recently. Its a very common formation. Two central midfielders who break it up and give it central. 2 wingers and a number 10 and then a number nine up front on his own.
    The thing for me is that it's a very versatile formation. Depending on the circumstances we can play with width or (assuming Duff and McGeady are the starting wingers) we can get them to switch flanks and cut inside. I really think it's the best formation for us.
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

And from the Guardian:

"Like virtually all top-flight coaches Capello is currently drawn to the 4-2-3-1 formation and variants of it that promise the security that comes of getting 10 men behind the ball in short order when possession is lost."

Don't mind me, I'm just trying to make finnpark look a bit silly.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    And from the Guardian:

"Like virtually all top-flight coaches Capello is currently drawn to the 4-2-3-1 formation and variants of it that promise the security that comes of getting 10 men behind the ball in short order when possession is lost."

EB, you dont need to do anything, he is perfectly capabable himself

3,500 Posts
    Hughton backs Trapattoni appointment: http://www.setanta.com/en/Sport/News...cets/football/

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Given
    Kelly-Dunne-O Shea-Kilbane
    Reid-Reid
    Duff-Keane-McGeady
    Doyle

For the the first game anyway this is how I would like us to line out. It might be a bit attacking for games away from home but in Croker it gives us alot of options. Subject to change if Finnan comes out of retirement.Doyle not getting alot of goals at moment but I think he has the work rate to do the lone striker role well
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    If I was sending out a team tomorrow against Georgia away from home (assuming Given is fit and we can tempt Andy O'Brien back) it would look something like this:

Given

S Kelly Dunne A O'Brien O'Shea

Hunt S Reid A Reid Duff

Ireland

Keane

Subs:

McGeady
    Doyle
    Carsley - to defend a lead with 15 minutes to go
    Long
    Kilbane
    Keeper
    Thats a good team for away games, but I'd have McGeady in instead of Hunt as he's more effective coming off the bench if we need him.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    And from the Guardian:

You may accept that journalists have a level of intelligence above you but I don't accept that they have above me . Listening to journalists is just dangerous and I can see why theres so much rubbish on here with people like you giving other people's opinions and not their own.

If its 10 men behind the ball then its a 10-1 formation.
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Blue-Army View Post
    Thats a good team for away games, but I'd have McGeady in instead of Hunt as he's more effective coming off the bench if we need him.
    It's a tricky one, I'd opt for Hunt to start personally but I can see how some people would have McGeady starting from the off. Particularly if he continues his good form in a Celtic shirt. If Ireland doesn't come back then McGeady can always play behind Robbie in the hole or just give him a free role to go where he pleases.

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post
    You may accept that journalists have a level of intelligence above you but I don't accept that they have above me . Listening to journalists is just dangerous and I can see why theres so much rubbish on here with people like you giving other people's opinions and not their own.

Journalists have a level of intelligence not the ones I know
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post

Most of the regular posters on this site would be far more knowledgable about football than the majority of sports journalists out there. A swift scour through any tabloid on the newsstands would quickly confirm this to be so.
    Last edited by youngirish; 31/03/2008 at 11:48 AM.

Well Youngirish if its not vinegar its sweets.
    In Trap we trust

Duff shouldnt start, he is not even getting onto the newcastle bench these days,,McGeady has had an outstanding season and deserves to start IMO..Duff cant live off his past glories any longer, players should be picked on current form and not what their name is or what their past glories consisted of. team v serbia should be..

...........................................Given

Kelly.........Dunne(c).........O'Shea...........Kilbane

..............................S.Reid......A.Reid

Ireland .....................Keane........................McGeady

.......................................Doyle
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Well Youngirish if its not vinegar its sweets.
    I just said they would be far more knowledgable than most sports journalists. That's not a glowing endoresment. It's more akin to saying that most would also beat David Beckham in a spelling contest.

1,928 Posts
    I bet Beckham can spell endorsement

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    Duff shouldnt start, he is not even getting onto the newcastle bench these days,
    He was on the Newcastle bench yesterday

and its about current IRISH form, i dont give a monkeys if a player is terrible for club and brilliant for country, if he is doing it for Ireland thats all that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    Duff shouldnt start, he is not even getting onto the newcastle bench these days,,McGeady has had an outstanding season and deserves to start IMO..Duff cant live off his past glories any longer, players should be picked on current form and not what their name is or what their past glories consisted of. team v serbia should be..

...........................................Given

Kelly.........Dunne(c).........O'Shea...........Kilbane

..............................S.Reid......A.Reid

Ireland .....................Keane........................McGeady

.......................................Doyle
    Isn't Given out until the end of the season? Also, if current form rules Duff out, why should O'Shea be picked?
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

Given
    S. Kelly Dunne (C) O'Shea Kilbane
    McGeady S Reid A Reid Duff
    Ireland
    Keane

i change it every day though lads

Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    Isn't Given out until the end of the season? Also, if current form rules Duff out, why should O'Shea be picked?
    cause we're not exactly flush with options at CB. Hopefully Trap gives both Paddy McCarthy and StLedger a shot at some stage..

On the whole I'd agree with citizenerased's starting eleven but wouldn't be too disappointed to see Ireland and/or McGeady replaced by Duff or Hunt...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast