Thread: SRFC Easter Eggs ...

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by forza rovers View Post
    farmers and gaa heads call us sligo we are rovers end of
    Always amuses me the obvious inferiority complex Sligo Rovers fans have when it comes to the name "Rovers"

Their fans are so desperate for everyone to call them Rovers it renders them unable to see the wood for the trees.

Us Shamrock Rovers fans don't care either way what a few culchies in a small corner of the western seaboard call themselves, we just laugh at them because we know what the reality is and so does the rest of the country.

Quote Originally Posted by The Lilywhites View Post
    Sligo Rovers are Sligo.
    Shamrock Rovers are Rovers.

It's terribly simple.
    Cork City are City.
    Derry City are City.

Slightly more complicated.

No club has a monopoly on the second part of their name
    Robbie Hedderman. Arguably the greatest Derry City player of all time...

Quote Originally Posted by HulaHoop View Post
    Always amuses me the obvious inferiority complex Sligo Rovers fans have when it comes to the name "Rovers"

Their fans are so desperate for everyone to call them Rovers it renders them unable to see the wood for the trees.

Us Shamrock Rovers fans don't care either way what a few culchies in a small corner of the western seaboard call themselves, we just laugh at them because we know what the reality is and so does the rest of the country.
    Shams are a joke,just see where ye finish this season.Dessie Bakers a big signing

Il never respond to the name Sligo,thats the gaa's team name
    RIP JOHNNY

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by deecay View Post
    Dessie Bakers a big signing
    Where did any of us say that? You've conveniently left out Rice and Maguire I see. One thing's for certain, wherever we finish it'll be ahead of the Sligs.
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by deecay View Post
    Il never respond to the name Sligo,thats the gaa's team name
    Grand, just so long as you realise that when you go outside Sligo and tell anyone you're a Rovers fan they will assume you mean Shamrock Rovers. That's the reality of the situation and always will be no matter how much Sligo fans want it to be different.

Same thing in England, Manchester United are known by everyone just as United whereas West Ham United and Newcastle United are called by their first names.

Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    Where did any of us say that? You've conveniently left out Rice and Maguire I see. One thing's for certain, wherever we finish it'll be ahead of the Sligs.
    I wouldn't be so sure. we have improved are squad more than people think. Wait and see. I reckon we have a good enough chance of finishing ahead of ye.

Grand, just so long as you realise that when you go outside Sligo and tell anyone you're a Rovers fan they will assume you mean Shamrock Rovers. That's the reality of the situation and always will be no matter how much Sligo fans want it to be different.

Same thing in England, Manchester United are known by everyone just as United whereas West Ham United and Newcastle United are called by their first names.
    Man Utd arent some part-time outfit that have just been promoted to the premier division like.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

69 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hedderman View Post
    Cork City are City.
    Derry City are City.

Slightly more complicated.

No club has a monopoly on the second part of their name
    Maybe they're locally known as City, but to other people in the league and around the country, Cork City are Cork and Derry City are Derry.

Anyway, it's an argument that's going nowhere. Just call teams whatever you like!

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    Man Utd arent some part-time outfit that have just been promoted to the premier division like.
    if your saying rovers are part-time your wrong we are full-time for the last 2 years

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    Did I say they were?

Great idea. Well done Rovers. Always seem to be coming up new and innovative ways of generating income and raising their profile.

By the way, the reality is that the only people that refer to Sligo as Rovers is Sligo fans.

Quote Originally Posted by forza rovers View Post
    if your saying rovers are part-time your wrong we are full-time for the last 2 years
    No, I mean Shamrocks are.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

This is such a pointless and boring argument not to mention off topic. Rovers Easter Egg Initiative is not only a marketing effort but is also likely to be a charity effort as there is a move by fans to sponsor some for sick kids in Hospital.

It is a good idea and should also generate some goodwill.

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by alabama rover View Post

It is a good idea and should also generate some goodwill.

Speaking of goodwill, I hear all Bohs fans serving bans are to be allowed back into Dalyer if they pay £100. Any Bohs fan know if this is true. I really hope it's not.

Hoopy, with all due respects, this thread is about Rovers Easter eggs initiative. Why do you keep dragging it off-topic? If you want to know about what's happening at a different Club or have childish arguments about Club nicknames then start a new thread or, better still, post it in their own forum. Nice 1.

33 Posts
    Speaking of goodwill, I hear all Bohs fans serving bans are to be allowed back into Dalyer if they pay £100. Any Bohs fan know if this is true. I really hope it's not.
    Do you believe they should be allowed return without paying the €100, I dunno....maybe.

I think that it is usual to punish/compensate when fans have been abusive.

Mind the time that Shamrock Rovers were fined heavily for the rascist chanting by their fans during the last league game of the season at Belfield Park in 2005.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by alabama rover View Post
    Rovers Easter Egg Initiative is not only a marketing effort but is also likely to be a charity effort as there is a move by fans to sponsor some for sick kids in Hospital.

You can't say things like that around these parts as buying Easter Eggs for sick kids does our image of us all being scumbag hooligans no good at all.

106 Posts
    You can't say things like that around these parts as buying Easter Eggs for sick kids does our image of us all being scumbag hooligans no good at all.
    Just pretend you were responsible for putting them in hospital in the first place and it'll all be okay.
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes for his friends.

It's not true. Now continue on with your Easter egg thread...

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Carlin View Post
    It's not true.
    Got the amount wrong, but a Bohs fan tells me the idea is true, as per your own programme.