Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: AGM

Quote Originally Posted by MojoPin View Post
    how? not being smart but i pay my seaon ticket fee and what should i be expected to do then?
    get involved in club activities either through SC/Fundraising/promotion, every bit helps but no offence intended to you Mojo, you are a student but the people I am referring to are men actively involved in business or are working, as Hendo said last night, we are a community club and this aspect has been lost by a significant portion of people who attended last night.
    "Some weeks the lady is good looking and some weeks they're not. Our performance today would have been not the best looking bird but at least we got her in the taxi". - Ian Holloway

After last years AGM I would not go to another one and did not buy a season ticket as I was not interested in watching the abuse that people take at an AGM as I beleive it is scandolous. I have lost count of the AGM's and EGM's and they have all been the same one side giving out about the other. If people do not figure out this year they are all on the same side then it is doomed to fail. If they pull together there may be a chance of success.

Lets hope they pull togther for the sake of the club!!

Quote Originally Posted by 6yardpunisha View Post
    get involved in club activities either through SC/Fundraising/promotion, every bit helps but no offence intended to you Mojo, you are a student but the people I am referring to are men actively involved in business or are working, as Hendo said last night, we are a community club and this aspect has been lost by a significant portion of people who attended last night.
    i get where you are coming from but the club is unique, in that nobody at all pulls together.
    Quote Originally Posted by fbtn View Post
    No matter to us. We win all our games, we win the league regardless of what anyone else does.

i get where you are coming from but the club is unique, in that nobody at all pulls together.
    simple, get more young people involved, IMO most of disruption coming from older generation, FFS arguing for hours over rules that have been governing the club for 50 years etc. Too many barroom lawyers up there
    "Some weeks the lady is good looking and some weeks they're not. Our performance today would have been not the best looking bird but at least we got her in the taxi". - Ian Holloway

you cant argue that the club isn't actively trying to get new young people on board but hte problem is that the young people the are targetting are the kids? there are absolutely of no use to board decisions and the likes! the club needs to actively seek males in the 16-30 age group! easy to make it a sat night thing! few pints in rams game and out! ive said it many times before these are people with the most disposable income ( myself included im a poor student but then again ive no wife kids mortgage) in turn the people in this age group will then become interested in club politics!

just ask don ramo, rambler 14, ramsontour, bella or myself what have the club done for us lately? im not interested in clowns and blow up baloons id rather a free pint at every home game or a scarf or a ticket to bring a non interested friend along!
    No matter to us. We win all our games, we win the league regardless of what anyone else does.

I don't bother with AGMs any more. Seen too many of them now, better things to do than listen to that crowd of ****s that turns up every year and make sure that the club can't move forward.

For me, the only way forward is for the club to be turned into a limited company. AGMs should just be for shareholders to be advised of finances. Directors should be installed and full-time staff should be left alone to run the club. This is the 21st century and we are the dinosaur club of the LOI.

Some people cr*p themselves at this idea, thinking that the club would be taken over by a shower of cowboys who would run it into the ground, but that ain't happening at other clubs. A full time board/staff will plan for the future instead of living this stupid year-by-year existence that the committees at Ramblers have to put up with.

Time for change lads, take the voice away from the begrudgers and move the club forward...
    Last edited by chimpster; 27/02/2008 at 8:31 PM.
    Players lose you games, not tactics. There's so much crap talked about tactics by people who barely know how to win at dominoes. Brian Clough

Quote Originally Posted by chimpster View Post
    I don't bother with AGMs any more. Seen too many of them now, better things to do than listen to that crowd of ****s that turns up every year and makes sure that the club can't move forward.

For me, the only way forward is for the club to be turned into a limited company. AGMs should just be for shareholders to be advised of finances. Directors should be installed and full-time staff should be left alone to run the club. This is the 21st century and we are the dinosaur club of the LOI.

Some people crap themselves at this idea, thinking that the club would be taken home by a shower of cowboys who would run it into the ground, but that ain't happening at other clubs. A full time board/staff wiull plan for the future instead of living this stupid year-by-year existence that the committees at Ramblers have.

Time for change lads, take the voice away from the begrudgers and move the club forward...

its kinda true, but arent bohs the same as us?

Not sure, maybe they are. But they don't have to put up with that crowd for 7 hours...
    Players lose you games, not tactics. There's so much crap talked about tactics by people who barely know how to win at dominoes. Brian Clough

the 50 year old constitution has to be ****ed out the window, its a joke, different generation, different standard of football, different things at stake. Hole meeting was a disgrasce. Surprised barry didnt walk, when he was asked to,(that i thought was a disgrace, only my own opinion though) the people who really care about the club know we need barry more than he needs us, if he walked when pushed, we'd be ****ed now, no sponsor or anything, would fold, just like some people want,. Out of everybody in that room last night, he is the only man suitable to take the club forward. Thankfully the majority is with the people who can put personal issues aside and do whats best for the club.
    We know now lads that our comments are being watched, i think we were described as loo-laas??? there were a few loo laas in that room last also let me tell you. Anybody noticed nobody congratulated barry on gettin a 75,000 sponsorship deal?? Na, the hole think is a outrage, and for the 5 hours i was there, it was the first time in my life i was embarassed to be a rams fan, and we had to put up with some **** off pitch and on the pitch in my lifetime. Problem is the constitution and the old laws and old thinking behind it. Why was the solicitor there if his suggestion was going to be knocked down if it didnt suit somebody. No body had the balls to go against barry, so they should shut up from now on.

Also would be great if we could get possibly 3-4 people to get together to try keep the books in order. 4 people once a month,1 person looks after them a week??

R14 be careful with the names man.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    I believe that if there was someone suitable to challenge Barry for chairman that he would be gone and we would today be talking about our new chairman.
    bull ****

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    bull ****
    Sorry there was a typo on the post. I phrased it totally wrong. I didn't mean it to come out that way. Deleted it.
    Last edited by rambler14; 27/02/2008 at 10:33 PM.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

the 50 year old constitution has to be ****ed out the window, its a joke, different generation, different standard of football, different things at stake. Hole meeting was a disgrasce. Surprised barry didnt walk, when he was asked to,(that i thought was a disgrace, only my own opinion though) the people who really care about the club know we need barry more than he needs us, if he walked when pushed, we'd be ****ed now, no sponsor or anything, would fold, just like some people want,. Out of everybody in that room last night, he is the only man suitable to take the club forward. Thankfully the majority is with the people who can put personal issues aside and do whats best for the club.
    We know now lads that our comments are being watched, i think we were described as loo-laas??? there were a few loo laas in that room last also let me tell you. Anybody noticed nobody congratulated barry on gettin a 75,000 sponsorship deal?? Na, the hole think is a outrage, and for the 5 hours i was there, it was the first time in my life i was embarassed to be a rams fan, and we had to put up with some **** off pitch and on the pitch in my lifetime. Problem is the constitution and the old laws and old thinking behind it. Why was the solicitor there if his suggestion was going to be knocked down if it didnt suit somebody. No body had the balls to go against barry, so they should shut up from now on.

Also would be great if we could get possibly 3-4 people to get together to try keep the books in order. 4 people once a month,1 person looks after them a week??
    I agree with you there. It was quite embarrassing. To be honest I never realised there were so many begrudgers in the club.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

and if they aired there views at a pubic forum why cant they be named here? pm time bella id say

lads i must say i was very unhappy about one motion, that was argued about for 45 mins, about setting the prices for the season ticket before christmass, which i took interest in cause of the fuss created, and it was voted against massively, and they said that the prices should be set at the AGM, final, so 2 hours later when the time came to sort out the prices, that people most against changeing the rule objected sayin it wasnt on the agenda, and went on for 10 mins, i nearly collapsed after all the argueing and rejection of haveing it set before christmass, it doesnt have to be on an agenda, as the conststuition states that it set at teh AGM,
    that about sumed up the night for me, its was the major contradiction of the night,

sorry for jumpin in late PC was nearly layed to rest
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

R14 be careful with the names man.
    I only named the club auditor. Hardly the crime of the century. I named someone in an earlier post but I've fixed it.
    I named the auditor because if it wasn't for him we'd still be there. He laid it all on the table and got to the point. He cleared up the bull Barry spouted about the club being financially sound.

I'd say this is the only thread where we've all agreed with each other
    Last edited by rambler14; 27/02/2008 at 10:51 PM.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

is that why the two posts are edited since i said it, , just trying to help ya out fook ya so..

i think it is probably a time to draw a line under agm and move on, some good things some bad.no matter what people think this year is make or break, we will either make enough to keep us going or fold that is the reality

but lets enjoy the football after all thats why we are here
    We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.

Quote Originally Posted by ramsfan View Post
    i think it is probably a time to draw a line under agm and move on, some good things some bad.no matter what people think this year is make or break, we will either make enough to keep us going or fold that is the reality

but lets enjoy the football after all thats why we are here
    Spot on Ramsfan. AGM RIP.

But personally, I'd still like there to be debate within the club management/membership on updating our constitution. At least to start taking small steps in the right direction. Or we'll all be here next year having the same conversations again...

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    I agree with you there. It was quite embarrassing. To be honest I never realised there were so many begrudgers in the club.
    Always has been, always will be. We always seem to thrive on negativity
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

Quote Originally Posted by don ramo View Post
    lads i must say i was very unhappy about one motion, that was argued about for 45 mins, about setting the prices for the season ticket before christmass, which i took interest in cause of the fuss created, and it was voted against massively, and they said that the prices should be set at the AGM, final, so 2 hours later when the time came to sort out the prices, that people most against changeing the rule objected sayin it wasnt on the agenda, and went on for 10 mins, i nearly collapsed after all the argueing and rejection of haveing it set before christmass, it doesnt have to be on an agenda, as the conststuition states that it set at teh AGM,
    that about sumed up the night for me, its was the major contradiction of the night,

sorry for jumpin in late PC was nearly layed to rest
    I was disgusted at this too. They didn't read the proposal. The msl crew were whinging and moaning so much about not being able to sell the tickets in December when the motion was to set the price in December.
    My blood nearly boiled when they then wanted to keep the price of season tickets the same because it wasn't on the agenda. All they wanted to do was undermine the comittee yet again. These people have no interest in the club whatsoever they are just power hungry!!!!!!!
    As for the chairman and his comments about past peoples performances he was completely out of order! It was extremely low and very unprofessional of him to be throwing out those remarks at anyone who challenged him. He lost a lot of respect from me.
    As for those on here who don't turn up to the AGM's and want to scrap the constatution!
    The only way for this club to survive is for us all to attend the AGM's. Read and study the constitution before the next AGM and put your proposals in, very carefully worded. If we can start making our voices heard we might have a chance of influencing the system and the clicks.
    I have about 5 proposals prepared and stored already for next. I urge you to do the same. Show them that we are not just going to stand there and listen to their bitching all night, that there is actually a group of people who have the clubs interest as a priorty and have no history or hidden issues.
    I honestly think we will have the loudest voice and the majority of the FANS on our side!!!!!
    Division 1 Champions 2007
    Bring on the City derbies!!!

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast