Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Denis O'Briens donation

Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc View Post
    O'Brien is a tax exile. In my opinion (and nobody has to agree with it), tax exiles don't deserve to be called Irish, because they don;t share the tax burden with the rest of us. 1M is a tiny fraction of the tax he would have paid if he lived here. he made hundreds of millions out of Esat and then went to Portugal to avoid CGT on this money. Michael O'Leary, for all his many many faults at least lives here and pays his taxes here and I admire him for that. The "typical Irish begrudgery" line is a knee-jerk reaction - and I have to say that is those posters on this site who I would regard as the more thoughtful ones who recognise the wider picture.

EDIT: ps I'm certainly not saying the FAI shouldn't take the money, of course they should. And it is decent of O'Brien to give it. But what I am saying is that it doesn't make him into a great Irishman giving it, and he shouldn't be hero worshipped for it. If he was a true Irishman he would have given much much more to the state over the years.
    Personally, I couldn't give a flying feck as to how "great" O'Brien is or otherwise.

The only relevance I find in this donation is that it paved the way for Traps appointment.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by Ireland4ever View Post
    What are you on about? He doesnt have to give any money to anyone yet he did. Its his money. No-one said he helped out any clubs, and he doesnt have to, obviously he doesnt give a hoot about kilkenny, and why should he? He has no obligation to any LOI teams. Again its his money and he can do with it what he wants!
    Exactly what I wanted to say.... They way some people think bewilders me sometimes.

btw c. €80M tax he avoided on the sale of Esat by moving to Portugal.
    tbh I think awful lot of people would do the same if it meant saving €80m.

It's not as simple as that - good or bad - but reading some of the posts here you would think it was.

btw c. €80M tax he avoided on the sale of Esat by moving to Portugal.
    It really is as simple as that. This thread is about Irish football and this country's appointment of a truly top grade manager for the first time ever. (We got lucky with Jack). The means to do so requires money - lots of money. Money rules football. Where the FAI get it from is inconsequential. This is sport. Not politics.

There are other places to discuss the merits of DOBs entrepreneurial tactics. This isnt it.

This is a good thing for Irish Soccer - It really is simple.

Also pretty ironic that 95% of those who sneer at DOBs donation will support premiership clubs bankrolled by the same kind of people. The only difference is DOBs getting nothing in return.
    Last edited by blobbyblob; 14/02/2008 at 9:12 AM.
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

2,796 Posts
    Yep, it's his money and he can do with it what he wants. It's a pity more of the super rich don't want to contribute to sport in Ireland in their own way. It's only a small donation in terms of his own wealth but it's significant for the FAI.

It's a start, but it'd be nice if O'Brien, Jordan et al got together and financed a national academy for the FAI, or maybe invested directly in their local eLOI club. It's what I'd do if I had the odd hundred million to spare!

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    tbh I think awful lot of people would do the same if it meant saving €80m.
    I don't disagree, I'm just putting the 1M in its context

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    While I recognise a good deed by DOB, its slightly worrying. No club would get away with making such a coup on short term investment that they cannot afford to renew. While people are saying "at least this money will now go into grassroots", thats simply not true. The money was never there in the first place, and now its gone straight into a formerly great manager's pockets, simply because italian managers are en vogue around this parts at the moment.
    Delaney said the money allowed them to raise the bar. He never said they had to offer the entire wage limit to get Trap.

Quote Originally Posted by Spanner View Post
    I propose this thread be closed under the heading 'Off Topic for Football'.

All it serves is to

a) detract from the news of a great appointment that signals a new era, hopefully and

b) to give bitter left-wingers a place to rant about someone with far more money than they will ever see!

I say fair play & thanks to Do'B - more money for grass-roots and an opportunity to take Irish football to a whole new level. I would guess he wants great things for Irish football as well, to bring back the good times we enjoyed many years ago and above all aspire to be as successful as we can be!

Bring it on...
    Aw didums. Basically 'I can't win the argument so I want the thread closed.' Basically as I said earlier. It's a marriage of convenience. I'm happy to see Trapatonni in there. The FAI were right to take the money. But I do not see any need to need to praise O'Brien. Calling someone anyone who asks a few questions about this guy 'a bitter left winger' is a very lazy argument. If Michael O'Leary or Fergal Quinn or any of the vast majority of hard working Irish entrepreneurs had given the money I wouldn't have batted an eyelid because as far as I know their money doesn't have a smell off it.

Isn’t it great that we live in a society with such high moral standards? And I’m sure away from this forum these same people live by these standards, b*****x they do! Given half a chance any one of yee would try and pay less tax if ye could.
    And the whole Denis O’Brien’s an exile and doesn’t pay any tax shame on him argument galls me , its rich for residents of a country like ours to be playing that card. Our Celtic tiger was built on providing tax incentives for large foreign companies i.e. enticing foreign owned companies to set up a base here so they didn’t have to pay a higher rate of tax in their own country! I don’t remember the uproar when these companies set up here and provided us with the lifestyle improvements a vast majority of us enjoy today, so crawl out of your arses-s and just be glad that a very smart business-man put some of his money into something we all can enjoy.
    P.S. I hope you all boycotted bono’s music when he decided he didn’t want to pay tax to his native land and set up base abroad?
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    I haven't read the comments here. I suspect there are a host of begrudgers but we live in Ireland afterall.

Money to pay the manager frees up money to go to other areas of football in Ireland. That's all that matters.

A man is entitled to do with his money what he wills. An entrepreneur who made a fortune. Good luck to him and to the Irish team. The FAI are not rolling in cash so it's great news.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

130 Posts
    Lads, it is simple. D O'B is a businesman who, like many others, took advantage of the captitalist system and it's inbuilt corrupt politicians to make his fortune and bugger off without paying meanignful tax on it. That, unfortunately is the way of the world much as that sort of behaviour is anthema to some of us.

I'm delighted he gave the money but that doesn't make hima hero in my eyes, as people have said it's a drop in the ocean to him. The FAI would have been fools not to take it and when you look at McManus's donations to the GAA etc it shouldn't be looked upon as a big deal. I do have reservations about the fact that he said last night he was involved before Staunton's sacking, that was a stupid thing to say and lays things open to scrutiny. In reality however everyone knew Stan was a dead man walking.

The other point to make is that had he paid his €80m in taxes it propbably would have been p1ssed away along with the massive budget surpluses enjoyed during the 'boom' years that never managed to find their way into building a decent infrastructure, public transport system, health service etc. If I had that sort of wedge and saw the wastage and incompetence shown at every turn by the government of the last 11 years I'd be loath to pay tax on it myself.....

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Money to pay the manager frees up money to go to other areas of football in Ireland. That's all that matters.
    It doesn't. The money wasn't available in the first place, so this money goes straight to Trap with no change for "other areas of football in Ireland" or "Irish football" as I like to call it.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by Ireland4ever View Post
    sic when he decided he didn’t want to pay tax to his native land and set up base abroad?
    Artists income is tax free..thats why joe eliot and a host of others reside here and are domicile here for tax purposes
    Bring back the plank

People are very quick to critisise him but I guarantee you would not be giving it all to charity if in the same position!
    No, I'd be feckin paying it in taxes. I have zero time for O'Leary, but as has been said he at least lives in this country and pays taxes in this country. Is it okay for me as a PAYE worker to evade tax because the current Government a useless wasters? So why is it morally acceptable for the likes of O'Brien to avoid tax?

To repeat what I said earlier, the FAI were right to take the money, however as has also been pointed out this is extra money - nothing extra will go to the grassroots.

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    It doesn't. The money wasn't available in the first place
    I already replied to your point above. The FAI would have probably went to about €1.5m a year to get Trap without O'Briens money. I'd be surprised if he's getting paid any more than that before bonuses, never mind much more.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    I haven't read the comments here. I suspect there are a host of begrudgers but we live in Ireland afterall.

When you have bothered your arse to read the comments, you will then be entitled to pony up your own opinion. You wouldn't have to 'suspect' anymore you might 'know' things instead.

82 Posts
    Ha! Are you for real??! OF is dead right...
    I hope the irony isn't lost on you...
    Dead right not to read the thread?

Spanner by name.....

Don't wanna sound like an eejit but what exactly did he do??? (I was away the last week and i'm not reading the first 50 odd pages to find out)

Quote Originally Posted by Seagull-4-life View Post
    Don't wanna sound like an eejit but what exactly did he do??? (I was away the last week and i'm not reading the first 50 odd pages to find out)
    Just for future reference. Type "denis o'brien" into google. Click the news tab. You shouldn't need to ask questions like that on the internet.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Just for future reference. Type "denis o'brien" into google. Click the news tab. You shouldn't need to ask questions like that on the internet.
    Just did it there mate point proven fair play to the lad he deserves all the praise he gets

Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast