Page 19 of 23 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 ... LastLast

Thread: Trapattoni appointed Ireland coach - Confirmed

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by co. down green View Post
    In today's Irish News Brian Kerr says the whole process was about the RTE panel !

“A lot of what’s been going on seems to have been suiting the RTE panel, which is very worrying. The only one who hasn’t had a job in the process is Dunphy, Who’s been clapping like a seal at the Trapattoni possibilities There’s an element of ‘let’s satisfy the RTE panel and they mightn’t criticise us as much.”

“While there is great celebration about his appointment, people better accept that they’re going to be watching defensive football. They need not expect it to be all nice and flowery and us playing 4-4-2.”

He then goes on to say the appointment was a good one and has a dig about the selection process.

Well Mister 'Let's stick a midfielder on for a striker at 2-0 after 25 minutes' Kerr, you did your best to prepare us for that, let's hope he can coach the players how to defend leads properly.....

In today's Irish News Brian Kerr says the whole process was about the RTE panel !

“A lot of what’s been going on seems to have been suiting the RTE panel, which is very worrying. The only one who hasn’t had a job in the process is Dunphy, Who’s been clapping like a seal at the Trapattoni possibilities There’s an element of ‘let’s satisfy the RTE panel and they mightn’t criticise us as much.”

“While there is great celebration about his appointment, people better accept that they’re going to be watching defensive football. They need not expect it to be all nice and flowery and us playing 4-4-2.”

He then goes on to say the appointment was a good one and has a dig about the selection process.
    I see Kerr as a proper football guy but the above saddens me......i know he's bitter over the way he was treated but anyone can see this is good for Irish football and things can only move in the right direction.....i aam not expecting miracles but I am expecting better performances and a structure to our play
    Last edited by Ozymandias; 15/02/2008 at 10:11 AM. Reason: can't sppppelllll
    Bring back the plank

48 Posts
    Trap said in an Italian interview he turned down the chance to manage Parma last Sunday, and also turned down some other nations.

3,501 Posts
    The only one who hasn’t had a job in the process is Dunphy, Who’s been clapping like a seal at the Trapattoni possibilities
    It's not just Dunphy. It's pretty much everyone clapping "like a seal"
    Also, I remember Dunphy saying at the time of Kerr's appointment that it was the right one
    There’s an element of ‘let’s satisfy the RTE panel and they mightn’t criticise us as much.”
    If we're successful, noone will criticise us. You got criticised for not qualifying. Deal with it.
    While there is great celebration about his appointment, people better accept that they’re going to be watching defensive football.
    12th October 2005. Landsdown Road. Switzerland. We need to win to get to the play offs, so what happens? You take off our top scorer and bring on Gary Doherty. You take off Clinton Morrison (who had scored in Switzerland) and bring on David Connolly. You leave on Stephen Carr while the Swiss never leave their half. Game finished 0-0. We may as well have lost 8-0.
    They need not expect it to be all nice and flowery and us playing 4-4-2.
    We don't, Trapattoni has a history of playing a 4-2-3-1 formation, his current Salzburg team play that way and, as eirebhoy has pointed out, so did Benfica and Italy
    The only question that needs to be asked about the selection process now is "do the end justify the means"?
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 15/02/2008 at 11:22 AM.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    It's not just Dunphy. It's pretty much everyone clapping "like a seal"
    Also, I remember Dunphy saying at the time of Kerr's appointment that it was the right one
    Kerr's appointment was greeted with some optimism by the majority of fans and commentators. He was a reasonable choice. He wasn't quite good enough in the end, but that wasn't evident from the beginning.

Trapattoni's record doesn't leave any room for doubt that he's good. He may still fail, but optimism seems entirely justified at this point. Even Kerr concedes that, if rather begrudgingly.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

I'm absolutely delighted with this appointment. I haven't been this excited about the Ireland team in a long long time. Even if he fails I think this is a watershed moment for Irish football.
    Qualification for 2010 will be a nice way to celebrate the 20th anniversary of Italia 90.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by colster View Post
    I'm absolutely delighted with this appointment. I haven't been this excited about the Ireland team in a long long time. Even if he fails I think this is a watershed moment for Irish football.
    I disagree. If he fails, then he'll get the same stick every manager gets when he fails as well as being shown the same door. At the time, the Bob Paisley or Jack Charlton appointment was major milestone and getting away from the amateurishness of previous years. This is just a step up from this but not a watershed and IF he fails, which to be honest is a reasonable possibility, the appointment will also have been a failure.

However, we have got one of the best and since Bulgaria were in the group for the qualification campaign for Euro 88, perhaps the omens are good. They were also in a previous group mind you where we were robbed in Sofia and we didn't qualify .

A lot of people in the game in England genuinely thought Venables was the right man for the job. They are entitled to that belief even though it wasn't shared by most of us on this side of the water. They are entitled to voice contrary opinions about the appointment. I have yet to see the day where people agree 100% on anything in football. It doesn't spoil my pleasure at the appointment and the anticipation of what will happen.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

52 Posts
    got this from bigsoccer: A Trap rant when he was at Bayern:

This should be an interesting ride...
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    I just read that article now and I see a totally different slant. If anything he has a slight dig at his fellow journalists for concentrating on the Denis O Brien issue and the fact that most of them were ****ed off that it was a professional appointment done in a proper manner. In the article he praises the FAI for a job well done. He points out that JP Mc Manus gives money to Limerick and nobody bats an eyelid.

Maybe give the article another read because I feel you may have missed his point. But I could be wrong here.
    I have to say that you were right. I read the front page article first, and reading through the whole 2 articles they were actually quite balanced and he did seem to be mocking his fellow professionals. The first time I read it there was just one line near the beginning which really irked me and made me a bit biased towards the rest of the article.
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by carloz View Post
    With Venables i imagined that they wouldhave introduced a dentists chair to Lillies and the players would have been back having the craic.
    Completely off-topic but something always stood out for me with Venners and that Euro 96 team. I always thought it ironic that the biggest boozer off the pitch (gazza) was the one that cost England a place in the final. Glorious chance in the final minutes of the game and he just wasn't fit enough to take it. I'd rather have the professionals approach that we'd get with Trap than leaving things to chance with Venables.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    I disagree. If he fails, then he'll get the same stick every manager gets when he fails as well as being shown the same door. At the time, the Bob Paisley or Jack Charlton appointment was major milestone and getting away from the amateurishness of previous years. This is just a step up from this but not a watershed and IF he fails, which to be honest is a reasonable possibility, the appointment will also have been a failure.
    I think it is a major milestone in a number of ways.
    - we have appointed a manager with a major track record.
    - we have employed a manager from Continental Europe.
    - we have a major business man willing to back Irish soccer.

634 Posts
    On an aside I'd like to see another friendly match between Serbia and Norway. Being honest about it the Norway game should be an indicator of formation and personnel he'll choose for the Georgia game. While I don't doubt he'll have a lot of permutations done given what players are available another game in the run-up to Euro 08 wouldn't be bad.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    This is just a step up from this but not a watershed and IF he fails, which to be honest is a reasonable possibility, the appointment will also have been a failure.
    Just noticed this post now after Colster quoted it. I could be misunderstanding you but how can you say that the appointment will have been a failure if he fails? Retrospect is a great thing - many on here slate Kerr for bringing on Kavanagh in the Israel home game but not too many people were crying out at the time - but there is no way of knowing how this will pan out. Trapattoni is as successful a candidate that we could possibly have hoped to secure. The FAI have made the right choice, and regardless of what happens the appointment was a complete success. He is one of the most decorated coaches ever.
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

Has anyone noticed that Trappatoni is also the President from Hot Shots...

Topper Harley: President Benson.
    President Benson:
    No you're not. I've seen him on TV. An older man, about my height.
    <insert witty remark>

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    After the Wales game, I was walking through Croke Park to leave with the lads I went to the game with, Kerr was actually standing beside one of us. So he turns to Kerr and asks "well, what did you think of that Mr Kerr", "thought it was a load of sh!te" was his response. I resisted the urge to point out Stan had just beaten a team ranked far higher than any win he achieved in a competitive game.
    ah come on, the Welsh game was awful, one of the worst
    I was in wales at the time, and i have never seen a bar empty so quickly after the first half, boring

2,796 Posts
    I wonder how Givens and Trap introduced themselves to each other at the "interview".

Hands outstretched.

"Don"

"Giovanni"

Well come on, there has to be a decent Don Giovanni joke amongst all of this.

2,796 Posts
    Well said D69er. I still have huge admiration for Kerr but he was hardly gung-ho Kevin Keegan-like in his management philosophy.

After the French defeat at Lansdowne my mates and I debated Kerr's merits / demerits. At the end we just concluded he would never be successful, he just was never going to be a winner for us. Trappatoni has that intangible winning "thing" that some people just have but millions of others can only dream of.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 15/02/2008 at 10:42 PM.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Kerr's appointment was greeted with some optimism by the majority of fans and commentators. He was a reasonable choice. He wasn't quite good enough in the end, but that wasn't evident from the beginning.
    What I meant was that when Kerr was appointed, the RTE panel all approved, so if he says Trapattoni was only appointed to keep them happy, you could just as easily say the same thing about his appointment.
    Probably could have made that a bit clearer.

812 Posts
    What I meant was that when Kerr was appointed, the RTE panel all approved, so if he says Trapattoni was only appointed to keep them happy, you could just as easily say the same thing about his appointment.
    Probably could have made that a bit clearer.
    Fair enough.

Quick question: if Kerr and Trapattoni were both employed to keep the media happy, is this a bad thing? Ultimately, the media are going to be most critical of lazy and/or cheap appointments, neither of which I (nor anyone else given the feelings about Venables here over the past few months) put past the FAI.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Whats Fat Dolans problem with Trapp

I know he made a few remarks before the everton game on setanta last week, seems righly ****ed about trappa getting it. Whats this IDIOTS problem....who did he want to get it? Rico? Himself? Givens???
    what did he say?

Page 19 of 23 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 ... LastLast