Page 7 of 23 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Thread: Trapattoni appointed Ireland coach - Confirmed

Quote Originally Posted by eekers View Post
    was wondering there about trap bringing in his own fitness coach with him. how much fitness work can you really do on international duty?
    It would do no harm to have constant fitness monitoring as an extra incentive for some of our lads - Your fitness slips from the desired level, you're dropped, and we tell the papers you aren't fit.

Quote Originally Posted by cavan_fan View Post
    Would I be right in syang most of those criticising Delaney are eL fans and this may be colouring their views.
    You're being very generous there, assuming that it's only mostly EL fans who hate Delaney.
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

Quote Originally Posted by macdermesser View Post
    The English have an Italian coach? Oh we better get one too. Monkey see monkey do.
    This is the most ridiculous argument I have eve heard.

Quote Originally Posted by macdermesser View Post
    Ok, a bit harsh .. but if the FAI had been blinded by Bob Paisley's CV back in 1986 ..

How do we know Paisley would not have done better than Jack, you don;t have to be Dunphy to think that Jack had some great players. With Paisley in charge would we have gottent the draw against Holland in '88 or beaten Italy in '90.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cavan_fan View Post

How do we know Paisley would not have done better than Jack, you don;t have to be Dunphy to think that Jack had some great players. With Paisley in charge would we have gottent the draw against Holland in '88 or beaten Italy in '90.
    The fact that Paisley was suffering the onset of Alzheimers by then makes it a reasonable assumption for me that he wouldn't have. Even though he wasn't properly diagnosed till 1992 it's known now that he was showing signs as far back as 1986, much as I'd the utmost respect for Paisley with hindsight it would have been a bad appointment. The FAI got lucky with that one.

Is The chippy/trappa a rich mans stan/bobby

So is it then? discuss
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

the main difference is that this time the more experienced man, the one with a decent managerial record is in charge.

30 Posts
    Stan is not fit to carry the water bottles for Trapatoni.

And Brady has had some management experience. No comparision between the two set-ups in my mind other than the fact that the FAI are appointing a two man team.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

If it turns out to Be Trapattoni / Brady, can we refer to the management team as "Trippy" ?
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    So is it then? discuss
    No. There ive said it, for once we have the right blend, hats off to the FAI if this is true they have got what we i think is best for irish football.

Delaney himself said he wasnt qualified enough to select the manager so he got footballing people in to help with the 'process', and i believe the 'process' has come up with an excellent exciting appointment. Hopefully this will give the players/fans and general public renewed interest in the boyz in green.

Its an exciting time in irish football and i for one am beginning to count down the days untill we meet georgia in september!
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

well said I4E, well said...
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

20 Posts
    Hmmm surely there is a strong possibility of Givens being out of a job, what with Gentile possibly taking on the Under21 role?

Quote Originally Posted by amaccann View Post
    Hmmm surely there is a strong possibility of Givens being out of a job, what with Gentile possibly taking on the Under21 role?
    Since he's on record as saying he, as the head of the interview board, had no Idea that Trapattoni was being considered for the job just last week, I would say that a new u21 manager is probably on the cards. Groovy.

Cue givens wandering around the Abbotstown basement, wearing a Milton name tag, and looking for his red stapler for many years to come.

And they nearly did.

This process has heralded so many false dawns that I still can't quite believe they've got Trapattoni. I've been conditioned into fearing the worst and not believing a word I hear about the manager.

I can just visualise the nightmarish images of a press conference tomorrow night to unveil the new manager. "Ladies and Genleman, may I present to you.......................Billy Davis!"

If he is indeed appointed - The contract detail will be interesting and Trapatoni's interpretation of what's expected of him will be revealing. Time isn't on his side and noone wants to hear talk of building for the future - surely the brief begins and ends with qualification for 2010.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    This process has heralded so many false dawns that I still can't quite believe they've got Trapattoni. I've been conditioned into fearing the worst and not believing a word I hear about the manager.

I can just visualise the nightmarish images of a press conference tomorrow night to unveil the new manager. "Ladies and Genleman, may I present to you.......................(ENTER NON-ENTITY'S NAME HERE!) "
    That's my nightmare.

After all their lies and criminal stupidity in the past, I cannot convince myself to believe it either.

They simply HAVE to though. There will be lynchings otherwise.

And they nearly did.

21 Posts

New Dawn

After hanging onto the coat tails of enlish soccer for too many years, we can now look to a future where "put em under pressure" and "get stuck in" are not the only tactics available for our national team.

We should be looking to merge the passion of our past with, hopefully, a greater tactical know how. I hope that Trapatonni will bring this to the fore, and us to a new level. We should be looking to keep the ball for longer periods and if we need to go to 4-5-1 or 3-5-2 to do this then bring it on.

His CV says one thing to me and that is - WINNER!
    I don't care if he bores the ass of us as long as we get enough points to qualify for the world cup. This is a major coup for the FAI and they should be congratulated for it.

well said I4E, well said...
    Are ye boys one in the same?! If not ye are def cut from the same stone, or know eachother offline

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Are ye boys one in the same?! If not ye are def cut from the same stone, or know eachother offline
    Was just thinking the same recently. Definately like minded lads.
    Although I'm fairly sure I seen those 2 labels on different people on away trips.

Better than Schloomp and meself ... in Slovakia 1 lad thought we were twins
    while another lad was convinced I was Schlooomps father!!!!!

Threads merged as the discussion is going to be pretty much the same.

I did wonder when I heard about this first was it going to be Trapattoni and Brady or Brady and Trapattoni. I heard that the original plan was that Stan would be Bobby's assistant. The FAI felt there needed to be an Irish manager and Stan exploited this in his 'I'm the gaffer bit'.

So is it then? discuss
    Trap is expected to bring in fitness coach Fausto Rossi and Claudio Gentile as his assistant so there is no comparison.

Page 7 of 23 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast