Thread: Dolan V Gunther

Foot.ie! Dolan V Gunther

Pat Dolan has certainly raised the profile of Cork City FC.Before he came he led St Pats to the title and was well known up and down the country for his stance on League of Ireland football.There is no doubt City are a better club because of it.But as i have mentioned before it is early days for Dolan but does anyone think that Mr Dolan is more a commercial manager e.g Beckam to Man Utd(Real Madrid) than a good football tactician.Is it just a better profile he can bring to the club or can he really do what no manager has done sine Noel O Mahoney and win City the eircom League.Also did we give Liam Murphy long enough in the job?A few away wins last season and we could have been champions after all.Gunther signed Flynny,George and Reynolds to name just three,all brilliant signings.So is there anyone out there who thinks that Gunther could have been given at least one more season.Before people reply i am a big fan of Pat Dolan but i have to admit felt sorry for Liam Murphy who i thought was doing a decent enough job.....

Re: Dolan V Gunther

Originally posted by RedX
    Pat Dolan has certainly raised the profile of Cork City FC.Before he came he led St Pats to the title and was well known up and down the country for his stance on League of Ireland football.There is no doubt City are a better club because of it.But as i have mentioned before it is early days for Dolan but does anyone think that Mr Dolan is more a commercial manager e.g Beckam to Man Utd(Real Madrid) than a good football tactician.Is it just a better profile he can bring to the club or can he really do what no manager has done sine Noel O Mahoney and win City the eircom League.Also did we give Liam Murphy long enough in the job?A few away wins last season and we could have been champions after all.Gunther signed Flynny,George and Reynolds to name just three,all brilliant signings.So is there anyone out there who thinks that Gunther could have been given at least one more season.Before people reply i am a big fan of Pat Dolan but i have to admit felt sorry for Liam Murphy who i thought was doing a decent enough job.....
    i think liam shot himself in the foot, backside and head with his attitude towards the fans thinking he was better than them and because of the "murphy out" at every home game (which all were won) chants felt he wasn`t gonna talk to any fan because of that chant, i think he tought all were against him and people who wished him good luck or wanted to talk to him would just lie to his face then sing "murphy out"at the games

when eveyone was against him i didnt mind him cause the first few games were at home and anytime the fans would chant i`d think to myself whats that aboot

but i turned against him when i was in o`brians sandwhich bar and asked him how are we gonna do tonight(against rovers) and just got a stupid look back with no words as to say who do you think you are talking to me ,,, also he must have great tactical knowlage but just didnt know how to get a team going he was like a statue on that sideline pat gives me the impression he is kicking every ball anyone else get that

but in his defence he did bring,persuade players to join murray jof georgie renner as you said... also his record aint bad either
    HOME away
    13(i think) home wins 8 losses
    2 home draws 1 win and a draw
    throw ina semi final defeat to the eventual winners of the cup and really liam didnt have that bad a season
    but with all the fans aginst him brian lennox obiously desided it was bad for bussniess

so he brought in as good p.r man and a good manager pat will come good
    i`m back and i didnt bring no dame ball with me all i brought was a big fat can of whooop ass Austin 3:16

so steven, you're still here??? Thought you'd have transferred to the queenstown or Limerick site already!
    "Allow children to learn by making their own mistakes, laughing at their stupidity often helps."

i brought up this topic before
    im a big fan of dolan and what he has done for the EL .......but

we had more points at this stage last season
    we had bigger crowds(last home game against U.C.D. was dead)
    and we were playing more attractive football

IN FACT WE WERE PLAYING FOOTBALL.......FULL STOP

pats fans told us at the start of the season,dolan was route one
    i know he needs time but im starting to believe them

but with the waythe midfield are playing u cant blame him for bypassing them

i agree that the profile of the club and the energy around it, from the fans point of view have definitely improved under dolan, if city have success on the field in his tenure then a load opf the credit has to go to murphy who has given him a great foundation to work from. also liam is still involved in coaching and in the club so his influence (overshadowed as it is) still exists.

i think liam's biggest problem was one he shared with dave barry, which was a tactical inability. he never seemed to have a plan B. how many times did he persevere with the starting eleven to long when freshness was required, never seeming quite sure how to change it (drawing vitriol from the fans by an apparent lack of ability to see from the sideline the problems we saw from the terraces. i think dolan has a better ability to get more out of the players and a willingness to admit (by making changes) that his plan A doesn't work.

i'd sooner have dolan there, but in the long run i think he'll do much more off the field than on for city, as he did with pats. (that doesn't mean we won't win anything though).

Originally posted by tiktok
    'd sooner have dolan there, but in the long run i think he'll do much more off the field than on for city, as he did with pats. (that doesn't mean we won't win anything though).
    we can all admit we were part of the murphy out brigade but as a fan we dont give a sh!t bout off the field and finance
    we only wanna see results on the field

@ndy
    Originally posted by thecorner
    we can all admit we were part of the murphy out brigade but as a fan we dont give a sh!t bout off the field and finance
    You'd hope for both.

777 Posts
    I think our defense has been strengthened since the arrival of Dolan. Even thought we were luckly a bit against UCD - that is good news in the long run. The reason that people seem a bit unhappier this season is that our performances home and away have evened out . Dolan needs time to correct our creativeness or lack of it. He is doing fine IMO

Originally posted by thecorner
    i wasn't saying i thought he'd produce no silverware, just that i see dolan's primary strength being in a PR type role.

i definitely give a sh!t about off the field and finance though, the stronger city is financially, the better the players we can attract, the better the squad will become, the stonger the club will be.

I think Dolan is definitely encouraging a more professional attitude in the club.

Football may not be great by city this year but its plain to see we just don't have the necessary players.

Gunther was given a few years to make progress until people ran out of patience. If Dolan gets us into europe this season IMO it will be a success. I think we'll see a very different city team & squad next season.

Is our football really that unattractive this year. I have a feeling some people just can't see past the fact that that's what Dolan was famous for at pats, but I don't think it has materialised at City

BTW Murphy wasn't sacked, he was offered a new contract by Lennox but resigned because he said he would do so if we didn't get into Europe.
    I'm gonna take a blow torch to everyone who writes "any info on......." on the desks in the ucc library.

Who's with me

I still reckon it's too soon to judge Dolan.
    He's still working with a squad that is primarily composed of players that were brought in by gunther. He's started to move on players that don't have much chance of first team football and he's started to bring in new players, but this will take more than a few months ot complete.

Things aren't that bad at present. OK, it's not like watching Brazil, but that may be due to our weakness in midfield. Maybe Pat feels long ball is our best option given our current team. If we strenghten in the middle, things should improve.

Give Dolan a chance to change things around and we can judge him at this stage next year.

Thumbs up Dolan / Gunther

Lads give Pat and the team a chance after all we are only 4 points of the top so lads relax a small bit.

Agreed Eian,Pat needs a season before we start looking for results,he's giving loadsa plrs a chance to show what they can do,he's shown he's not afraid to make the tough calls(like dropping Deccie),and yes,he seems to kick every ball from the sidelines.(it's called passion Gunther).Finally 4 points at this stage of the season is nothing.
    It's all just a bunch of Tree-Hugging hippy crap.

Originally posted by bert
    so steven, you're still here??? Thought you'd have transferred to the queenstown or Limerick site already!
    hey bert maybe you should look at your message

"even in a minority of one the truth is still the truth"

so i`m only preaching your words
    i`m back and i didnt bring no dame ball with me all i brought was a big fat can of whooop ass Austin 3:16

Re: Re: Dolan V Gunther

Originally posted by Conor74
    A few home losses and we could have been relegated.

The total disregard for the fans, particularly those that travelled. The Jimmy Mulligan fiasco (let's pay up the remaining weeks of our only replacement striker's contract to make sure he goes immediately), .
    jimmy came to training still steamed up after winning money on the horses thats why he was let go. this fiasco people speak of is bull s hit theres the reason jimmy was let go murphy wasn`t taking that and you have to respect his desision if you came to work constantly smelling of drink then i think your boss would let you go too .

Cmere, anyone who is even thinking Dolan out is a complete and utter muppet. Corner? are you ever happy. Id say no. All you are doing these days is bitch about everything.

We are 11 games into the season with a new manager whose footballing ethos is miles ahead of anything we had before (Mountfield aside). He is bringing the players to a pro level, a level they were never even near before. By all ive spoken to, morale inthe camp has never been higher. The players know they aint playing great at the mo, yet they are still 4 points off the pace. On the other hand, a few losses and we are into relegation trouble, but we all know that that aint going to happen.

As for off the filed, we are going in the right direction. Once again Corner, you showed your complete misunderstanding of it all by saying that we care more about results on the field. If CCFC are to become a real player, not just in the eL, but european competition, it has to build up a good business sense. Look at Blackburn for instance. They had the results, but no business acumen. They found themselves relegated when they should be perenial contenders. If we had a bit of business sense in the late 90s we would be miles ahead of the Dublin clubs.

So give the man a break will ya.

Oh and BTW, Barry Murphy plays for Shef weds, Delaney plays for Hull.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

@ndy
    Originally posted by Trax
    Finally 4 points at this stage of the season is nothing.
    Grand. We're only two nothings off the play off spot

Thats it Andy,always look on the bright side like
    It's all just a bunch of Tree-Hugging hippy crap.

Originally posted by GWA
    Cmere, anyone who is even thinking Dolan out is a complete and utter muppet. Corner? are you ever happy.
    r u really that thick G.W.A
    UR POST JUST THERE IS A REAL MOAN
    and all im saying is that football was more attractive last season
    and if u read my post properly without taking out the bits u want to read ud see that i also am willing to give dolan a chance

SOME L@NGER