Page 5 of 18 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: Castlebar Celtic

who are you to talk???

Quote Originally Posted by presario View Post
    how was the journey back to mayo on the FUN BUS.
    were youplaying no????? cop on and have a bit of respest
    Last edited by threefivetwo; 15/04/2008 at 10:38 AM.
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

Time to go??

I know that this is going to wrangle some people but just hear me out. I personally think that Gavin Dykes has taken this club as far as he can. I've read all week in the build up to the Carrick game how well he has prepared the team but yet again on the big stage they just didnt perform. He then said that maybe this was the case and that he was considering his position. He then said that the players suffered from stage fright of all things. I would have thought that it was the managers job to make sure that this didnt happen seeing as he is all professional as was claimed. I dont think that Celtic have progessed one bit under his so called leadership. Celtic are'nt even dominating their own league and thats three years down the road. A few domestic cups and one league and throw in a couple of semi finals does not make for successful term for Dykes. Nixy won more than him and he didnt get any of the resources that Dykes is getting. I think that the board have to take a stand and get rid of this man like they did before only a few years ago. But then again it seems that one man(FMcE) is running the show as usual. I dont buy into this Dykes b######t and I believe that if they keep him on it will do untold damage to Celtic. No one person is bigger than the club but this seems not to be the case here. If Celtic dont win the Connaught Cup then surely its time to go. Money does'nt grow on trees but it seems to blow out the gate at Pavillion Road.

Quote Originally Posted by swift View Post
    I know that this is going to wrangle some people but just hear me out. I personally think that Gavin Dykes has taken this club as far as he can. I've read all week in the build up to the Carrick game how well he has prepared the team but yet again on the big stage they just didnt perform. He then said that maybe this was the case and that he was considering his position. He then said that the players suffered from stage fright of all things. I would have thought that it was the managers job to make sure that this didnt happen seeing as he is all professional as was claimed. I dont think that Celtic have progessed one bit under his so called leadership. Celtic are'nt even dominating their own league and thats three years down the road. A few domestic cups and one league and throw in a couple of semi finals does not make for successful term for Dykes. Nixy won more than him and he didnt get any of the resources that Dykes is getting. I think that the board have to take a stand and get rid of this man like they did before only a few years ago. But then again it seems that one man(FMcE) is running the show as usual. I dont buy into this Dykes b######t and I believe that if they keep him on it will do untold damage to Celtic. No one person is bigger than the club but this seems not to be the case here. If Celtic dont win the Connaught Cup then surely its time to go. Money does'nt grow on trees but it seems to blow out the gate at Pavillion Road.
    Interesting post Swift. I'm guessing by the time of your post you are on a night shift, just in from the pub or, like me, down under.
    I think your post will find approval with a lot of people. In terms of results and cups on the table Dykes probably hasn't justified his tenure. But two FAI Junior Cup semi-finals, playing in two FAI Senior Cups, a Connacht Cup final and possibly another one around the corner is serious progress.

The club have a serious group of young lads available (not thanks to Dykes I might add) and could be making serious steps towards L of I full-time. I think that is why Dykes is there. He can help them in the initial steps. Domination of the Super League didn't seem top of their priority list - the eircom U21 league was much more important to Celtic it appeared last year - whereas the fact that Connacht and FAI Junior Cups are winter comps allows Celtic to have much more freedom in trying to win these comps.

But the fact that they haven't will cause a few loud whispers to start. Look at the Snugboro team at the minute and the former Celtic people involved - Johan Collins, Damian Burke and Declan Kilkelly in management, Dwayne Flynn, Paul Walsh, Paul Curry on the pitch and the fact that Stevie Gavin chose Snugboro over Celtic when it came to stepping back from eircom League and there's no doubt there's a swell of discontent against the man. Not to mind the fact that he is an obnoxious so and so on the sideline.

We know one man is probably calling the shots at the club more than anyone and I think that regardless of any possible swell against Dykes, if he is aloud to keep calling the shots, there won't be much change at Celtic Park.
    Whether there should be is another question. I have to admit I really don't know . . .

So if dykes was to go, who would ye be thinkin is the best man or men to take his spot? should they go local again or keep with an outsider??

Has dykes said to his players weather or not he's going or staying??

Fair play, you are right to question dykes`s future.
    The gravy train can`t go on for ever.
    He said after the match that the boys were not focused in training
    during the week, that is a bad sign for a manager to come out with
    that rubbish after a pasting by carrick.
    The buck stops with him,he should do the decent thing and resign but money seems to be the motivating factor here.
    Bad return after 3 years and the well running dry.

Quote Originally Posted by Westside142 View Post
    Fair play, you are right to question dykes`s future.
    The gravy train can`t go on for ever.
    He said after the match that the boys were not focused in training
    during the week, that is a bad sign for a manager to come out with
    that rubbish after a pasting by carrick.
    The buck stops with him,he should do the decent thing and resign but money seems to be the motivating factor here.
    Bad return after 3 years and the well running dry.
    Read the interview with him in the MN.

A bad return considering how many players they have had at their disposal through their junior and youth squads and all the players they have brought in from clubs around the county, not to mention the LOI boys.

The Nic or DK would have won more with this team.
    Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.

Just to get your facts correct: Nixy left Celtic after not getting the money he requested but also there was problems within the squad. There alot more to the story but thats old news. Nixy was great for Celtic but I think he made the right decision at the time to leave. Dykes has brough Celtic on and lets hope he stays until the SL is over and it would be great if DK or even Nixy took over the U-20 squad.

Quote Originally Posted by OscarBravo View Post
    Interesting post Swift. I'm guessing by the time of your post you are on a night shift, just in from the pub or, like me, down under.
    I think your post will find approval with a lot of people. In terms of results and cups on the table Dykes probably hasn't justified his tenure. But two FAI Junior Cup semi-finals, playing in two FAI Senior Cups, a Connacht Cup final and possibly another one around the corner is serious progress.

The club have a serious group of young lads available (not thanks to Dykes I might add) and could be making serious steps towards L of I full-time. I think that is why Dykes is there. He can help them in the initial steps. Domination of the Super League didn't seem top of their priority list - the eircom U21 league was much more important to Celtic it appeared last year - whereas the fact that Connacht and FAI Junior Cups are winter comps allows Celtic to have much more freedom in trying to win these comps.

But the fact that they haven't will cause a few loud whispers to start. Look at the Snugboro team at the minute and the former Celtic people involved - Johan Collins, Damian Burke and Declan Kilkelly in management, Dwayne Flynn, Paul Walsh, Paul Curry on the pitch and the fact that Stevie Gavin chose Snugboro over Celtic when it came to stepping back from eircom League and there's no doubt there's a swell of discontent against the man. Not to mind the fact that he is an obnoxious so and so on the sideline.

We know one man is probably calling the shots at the club more than anyone and I think that regardless of any possible swell against Dykes, if he is aloud to keep calling the shots, there won't be much change at Celtic Park.
    Whether there should be is another question. I have to admit I really don't know . . .
    Just one more point, I think Celtic would not have won the Youth Cup if Dykes was not at Celtic. DK will be the first to admit that he learned alot from Dykes training sessions that he still uses today. As one ex Celtic player now with the Boro said all the seesions he has attended at the Boro he had already done under Dykes. Yes DK should take th ecredit on how his team plays etc but his training sessions had alot of help from Dykes. As far as I am concerned Dykes era at Celtic will always be a success.

Rumour I heard tonight is that Dykesy is stepping down after the Connacht Cup campaign and that DK is being lined up to take over. Any truth in that?
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    Rumour I heard tonight is that Dykesy is stepping down after the Connacht Cup campaign and that DK is being lined up to take over. Any truth in that?
    Not as far as I am aware. GD on holidays. Not saying it would not happen in the future.

Back to reality. Congrats to Niall Walsh on been capped for the Irish U-18 squad against Malta on Tuesday night. See details on Celtic web site. Also well done to U-14 team on defeating defending champions Ballina Town 3-0 in Celtic Park tonight. Good team and have been enhanced by Snugboro Utd duo of Marus Moylette & Michael Levelle. Report on web site

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    Just to get your facts correct: Nixy left Celtic after not getting the money he requested but also there was problems within the squad. There alot more to the story but thats old news. Nixy was great for Celtic but I think he made the right decision at the time to leave. Dykes has brough Celtic on and lets hope he stays until the SL is over and it would be great if DK or even Nixy took over the U-20 squad.
    My facts were that Nixy asked for a few pound to pay his coaching team but he was told that there was no money to pay them. A month later along comes Gavin Dykes and gets roughly four times what Nixy was looking for!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just one more point, I think Celtic would not have won the Youth Cup if Dykes was not at Celtic. DK will be the first to admit that he learned alot from Dykes training sessions that he still uses today. As one ex Celtic player now with the Boro said all the seesions he has attended at the Boro he had already done under Dykes. Yes DK should take th ecredit on how his team plays etc but his training sessions had alot of help from Dykes. As far as I am concerned Dykes era at Celtic will always be a success.
    CT thats a load of crap. Just because the trophy cabinet is a bit bare for Gavin and Co you cant come on here and try to give credit to him for the FAI Youth Cup victory you and the rest are clutching at straws if you think that this is the case. I always thought that you were very open minded when it came to Celtic but to say that his era was a success is a joke. For Gods sake even Barry Redmond and Kieran Murphy were more successful than Dykes.

OK maybe over streching my defence of Dykes but you cannot hide the fact that Dykes was the manager who gave the club its first FAI senior cup appearance, pushed the club into the Eircom U-21 League, would this have happened without him dont think so.

Not alot been said about the con.cup this weekend lads? how are celtic fixed? is the pressure on??

well said CT

OK maybe over streching my defence of Dykes but you cannot hide the fact that Dykes was the manager who gave the club its first FAI senior cup appearance, pushed the club into the Eircom U-21 League, would this have happened without him dont think so.
    i don't think so either, i prob nearly know 4 a fact it wouldn't knowin what the team was like before gavin, he brings a lot more proffesionalism to the team and demands more where as before he came in players could do whatever they liked at times. it's easy 4 people to say from the outside that he hasn't brought anythin to celtic. I know for a fact you can ask any of the players have they learned anythin from gavin and they would say they've learned a hell of a lot.... last year the SL wasn't the main priority it was the u-21 team which gavin had a massive say in the effort to get them there. it's a work in progress and i myself hope that gavin does stay, the team wouldn't be the same in my view without him!!
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

Summer Soccer Camp 2008

Ballyheane Youths
    Will host
    Summer Soccer School
    For
    Boys & Girls
    Aged 7-15
    Patrick Quigley Park
    Ballyheane
    14th -18th July
    Book on line at www.fai.ie
    or
    Call 1890 653 653
    Book Now.

The Gray One

The first time I met "The Gray One " His first comments to me were he didn't like me, this was from a man who didn't even no me.
    It was always my impression, we were all small people who were getting in his way.
    He always seems to think we should all stand back I am here approach, not good for football.
    My advice to this man Stick with Celtic, because he is good for Celtic, but change his attitude towards everyone else, let the officers of the club deal with the media. He sticks to what he knows best. Football.

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    The first time I met "The Gray One " His first comments to me were he didn't like me, this was from a man who didn't even no me.
    It was always my impression, we were all small people who were getting in his way.
    He always seems to think we should all stand back I am here approach, not good for football.
    My advice to this man Stick with Celtic, because he is good for Celtic, but change his attitude towards everyone else, let the officers of the club deal with the media. He sticks to what he knows best. Football.
    Well at least he got one thing right!!

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    You are a man of contradiction.
    Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.

Page 5 of 18 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast