good luck to the celts on sunday,com no c/bar
Its better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it
what kind of sate were they in before he joined?? he brought mark farren into the panel who was one of the best players in the eircom league the following year and kevin deery, another player who was class the following year along with many others!!!! please stop commenting on things you haven't got a clue about!!!!! it's getting old!!
Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!
Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.
you don't even know the man so don't b talkin s**t. look what he has achieved since he came to celtic, do u not remember the f.a.i senior cup game against shamrock rovers? first mayo team to get into that round!!! junior cup semi final, quarter final 2moro, sem,i final of the u-21 league, 1st year in it, connaught final 3 years ago, mayo league and few cups......... thats statin facts, can't argue with that record!!!!!!!!!! i'm sure you've some childish stupid reply to that now!!
Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!
First off Gavin Dykes is one of the most honest men you will meet.I know Gavin well and he is a winner first and foremost.And will do anything that he see fit to bring his club Castlebar Celtic trophys and as the manager i cant see nothing wrong with that.His record since he has been with Castlebar Celtic is second to none as allready stated by three five 2.Some people might not like the style off football he plays but its very effective for Castlebar Celtic.And i think he is doing a great job not only at Castlebar but raising the profile of the mayo league in general.And long may it last for Gavin and Castlebar Celtic.Best of luck tommorow to Castlebar Celtic
them players wanted to sign and i would safely say they were glad they did, they wanted to play for a team that r going somewhere and play under a manager with massive experience and a sound man 2!!! good players come to good and succesful clubs!!!!!! it shows exactly how big a club celtic is if they can attarct former loi players!!! at least they own their own pitch!!!
They came to your club but you still failed in the external competitions.
We are building are own pitch and we will have one of the best grounds in the country, and yes we will own it.
By the way Westport is has half the population of CBar and Westport teams have still won more league titles than you since the formation of the ML. We are just a bit behind in the Connacht Cup Section.
We won a Junior Cup, and we did not own our ground.
You were lucky on sunday, the covies were disappointed in your team, you are still playing the same rubbish employing a 5 man midfield and one up front. A blatant penalty was overlooked for St Michaels, along with a few offsides which were onside. When you meet a decent team you will be found out.
How did your punch up go after the match?![]()
I take it from your post your not a real football person. But let me reply to some of your commnets above. You need to get your facts correct: Celtic have won more League titles (16), More Connacht Senior Leagues (1) More Connacht Cups (9 you are 4 behind), More Mayo FA Cups (6), More Connacht Youths Cups (8 to your 1), More Quigley Cups (13 to your 1 maybe 2), both clubs have won FAI National titles. Come get your facts right. Of course the covies were disappointed in our team we won. As for your plans for your pitch well done it only has taken you 97 years to get your act together and buy something. All Mayo clubs should take a leaf out of your book, not. As for off sides last Sunday I think you were looking through your I hate everything about Castlebar especailly Celtic glasses. If we dont go on and win the JC we will take our beating and not resort to going to court to get back in the competition.
Last edited by Closing Time; 11/03/2008 at 10:28 PM.
Castlebar Celtic
http://www.castlebarceltic.com
League Results
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/440-01.html
Mayo League Tables
http://inform.test.fai.ie/Clubs/port.../default.aspx#
You will find that “Westport Clubs” have won 19 ML titles, including the Quay Hearts, Sporting Club, and Westport Crusaders, with half the population.
We are not far behind in Connacht Cups.
We have won a senior national title the Junior Cup with an all local team.
Winning at youths level does not always translate into success at senior level
The Port have owned their ground until 83 when they Went into partnership with the Athletic Club, we still have a ground to kick a ball on.
In spite of us not owning our ground, we still won the Junior Cup with an all local team
As for the court case Closing, as players, supporters, we all agree to be bound by the rules of the game, those same rules sent Vinny OMalley off for a handball at Carew, the substitute who came on to take the penalty for Carew was an ineligible player, and by the rules of the game he should not have been playing, the Court decision confirmed this and the game went to a replay. We won fair and square, we went into that game without the 2004 golden boot holder Vinnie OMalley
Last edited by Leveller; 12/03/2008 at 10:59 AM. Reason: Spelling
Note to Leveller and Closing Time.Come on boys leave your argument behind. We all could pick holes in both of your cases. What is more important is that all genuine football people support all Mayo teams in all outside competitions. Why is it that only Mayo clubs appear to be shooting each other in the foot? Do you see it happening in any other leagues on this forum? Let us hope that Castlebar Celtic go all the way as Westport did in fine style a few seasons ago. Come on boys - "Cop on".
you say a national title at underage doesn't matter??????? how many of that team have brought celtic to as far as they are now? take out mick wallace and the average age of the team sunday was bout 20!! plus celtis were missin their captain sean reilly and simon kelly and joey maloney and shane hynes!!!!! don't forget celtic have only conceded 1 goal in the whole competition and it was a penalty!!! most of the team them so called young guys that don't matter playin a big part in that!!!!! I SENSE A BIT OF JEALOUSY ON YOUR BEHALF ON CELTIC WINNIN SO MUCH LATELY AND WESTPORT NOT LEFT INVOLVED IN NOTHIN!!!!!!! if you weren't jealous why would ya bother to keep writin in tryin to put other clubs down????????????? because you have nothin to say good bout westport lately stop living in the past good lad. we're on about whats happenin now!!!!
hear hear.fair play to celtic on doing so well this year and i think that its rediculous that people (or should i say a person) has to be so petty in picking holes in their achievement in getting so far in the junior cup this year.shame on you leveller.grow up man and give them the plaudits that they deserve and try removing those black and red tinted glasses.bitterness and jealousy will get you nowhere.we should all be supporting the mayo clubs
Lads will you stop the bickering, you are doing it all over again, we had the same thing on Westport thread. you are behaving like kids.Trying out boast the other.
In reality you were not even around when most of these cups were won. Live for tomorrow's Cup Regardless who wins it. As long its a Mayo Team.
One way or another Celtic is the form team at the moment like it or not.
Dykes is the manager Like it or not.The players want to play for them like it or.
If you had the same choice wouldn't you like it or not.![]()
Westport United lodged an objection with the FAI Junior Council following the first Carew Park game. Westport lost that objection. Westport United subsequently appealed to the FAI Senior Council. That appeal was upheld. Carew Park sought a court injunction against the ruling. The presiding judge advised Carew Park to seek Arbritration. There was an arbritration meeting set up in Dublin with Des Casey being the Arbritrator. The ruling upheld Westport United's appeal to the FAI Senior Council. Westport United never, at any time, sought a court injunction during that period.
Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!