Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Head to head: Trap versus Venables

Quote Originally Posted by Paulie View Post
    I really think that anybody that wants Venables over Trappatoni is genuinely nuts. Trappatoni is by no means guaranteed success but his record is exceptional and it's not as though the man who we believe is his main rival for the job has a CV that even comes close to his.
    I'd rather someone else.

The FAI dropped the ball when they let the likes of Hodgson, Troussier and Adriaanse slip through their fingers.

If you ask me, the best man for the job is Guus Hiddink. He will be available from June, would likely take the Irish job, and has a superb record. I'd even be willing to let Givens get his grubby mits on the job until he was available to take over.

Quote Originally Posted by Paulie View Post
    I really think that anybody that wants Venables over Trappatoni is genuinely nuts. Trappatoni is by no means guaranteed success but his record is exceptional and it's not as though the man who we believe is his main rival for the job has a CV that even comes close to his.
    Agreed, to me its an absolute no brainer, screw what manager the players want, how many of the Arsenal team in 96 would have said they wanted Wenger before he was appointed?

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Carrigaline View Post
    I'd rather someone else.

The FAI dropped the ball when they let the likes of Hodgson, Troussier and Adriaanse slip through their fingers.

If you ask me, the best man for the job is Guus Hiddink. He will be available from June, would likely take the Irish job, and has a superb record. I'd even be willing to let Givens get his grubby mits on the job until he was available to take over.
    You cannot seriously rate Troussier and Adriaanse higher than Trappatoni? Troussier has done nothing in football.

And Hiddink costs too much.

I'd rather someone else.

sorry but you are clearly deluded. Givens is on a fotune and is not in the budget for Ireland however he is a good manager but Trappatoni is as good.

Troussier and Adrianese and Hodgson are not fit to lace Trappatonis boots and I rate Hodgson very hightly.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by mrtndvn View Post
    I think traps C.V. demans a big wage. Hes said to be on 4 million with Red Bull, why would be come to Ireland for 1 million which I think I heard we are offering?
    Theres absolutely no chance he's on 4 million with red bull. The off the ball lads brought out a great stat that only two managers in serie a are on over 1million. No a f*ckin chance he's on 4 million to manage in Austria
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

Again, when you look at Trappatoni's record, these guys fade into insignificance. We're not just talking about someone whose record is good, it's exceptional. You say that you would rather Hiddink on account of his record but dismiss Trappatoni despite his. It makes no sense.

Like someone already stated, this might be the sort of game you could play during a play-off or in the knockout stages. If we play like that during the group stages, I can definitely see us dropping points all over the gaff.
    He's been playing counter attacking football for as long as I remember, at every team he's been with.

btw, Hiddink is contracted until 2010.

Having a bit of a nightmare today Carrigaline.
    In Trap we trust

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ireland4ever View Post
    Theres absolutely no chance he's on 4 million with red bull. The off the ball lads brought out a great stat that only two managers in serie a are on over 1million.
    They probably looked at this table and didn't cop on that there are 5 managers in Serie A earning over a million.

1. Roberto Mancini (Inter) €5 million
    2. Carlo Ancelotti (Milan) €4.5 million
    3. Luciano Spalletti (Roma) €2 million
    4. Cesare Prandelli (Fiorentina) €1.5 million
    5. Claudio Ranieri (Juventus) €1.5 million
    6. Walter Novellino (Torino) €1 million

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Having a bit of a nightmare today Carrigaline.
    Not really. It's simply a case that anyone who casts any doubt on Trapattoni is abused by the Trapa fanboi's.

It's academic anyway, I don't seriously believe the FAI will appoint Trapattoni. If he does somehow get the job, and can lead us to qualification, I will happily say that I was wrong.

Not really. It's simply a case that anyone who casts any doubt on Trapattoni is abused by the Trapa fanboi's.
    It's more to do with the reasons and alternatives you provide. Constructive criticism is a positive thing but suggesting managers whose records are nowhere near as good as Trappatonis only serves to lose you credibility.

It's academic anyway, I don't seriously believe the FAI will appoint Trapattoni. If he does somehow get the job, and can lead us to qualification, I will happily say that I was wrong.
    Not at all but you are getting your facts wrong left right and centre. As I said if you are going to have a go at Trappatoni I think his possible inability to communicate with our players is the only problem that I would see.

To criticise his record is just madness.
    In Trap we trust

89 Posts
    Indeed, I can't understand how anyone could criticise Trap's record, simply because he failed to reach a semi final or better with Italy in his two attempts. And imagine people having reservations over playing a slightly more defensive game, when we've had to watch the rubbish we've played for the last two years.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    To criticise his record is just madness.
    Why?

He had two cracks of the whip at international football and failed. The Italian team he managed had the likes of del Piero, Totti, Vieri and Inzaghi; these guys were some of the best in the world back in early 2000.

why does trapattoni want the job?
    • he's has unfinished business left at international level - as noted his international record isnt great
    • he wants to beat italy twice and stuff it in the faces of a few of his detractors back home
    • the money isnt bad
    • he's getting on and its less hours than his current job
    the he-cant-speak-english thing:
    Can Capello? Could Otto Rehhagel speak greek when he started at the greek job? etc. I cant see this being too much of a problem to be honest.

89 Posts
    Why?

He had two cracks of the whip at international football and failed. The Italian team he managed had the likes of del Piero, Totti, Vieri and Inzaghi; these guys were some of the best in the world back in early 2000.
    By failed you mean they lost two knock out games. It's not like they were say, drawing with Cyrpus, or I don't know, not beating Iran in a qualifier. Would you turn down Sven Goran Eriksson because England failed in the tournaments he managed in - by losing on penalties and to eventual winners Brazil. That doesn't undo the fact Eriksson is a top drawer manager, though I'd put Trapattoni in a bracket above him.

Thumbs down Trap's record?????

For those who believe Trap to be the answer to all our prayers I thought I'd make a couple of points.

1. Funny someone called Stuttgart88 is calling for Trappatoni to do a stint as manager. He was here in Stuttgart for a year and a half, a period in VFB's history distinctive for its unbelievably tedious football and Stuttgart's descent into mid-table mediocrity. It was simply terrible stuff to watch; made intolerable by the fact that it was not successful either.

2. The pace his teams played at was not high enough even for the Bundeslega's level; therefore I would seriously doubt that a panel of Premiership players would be able to adjust their style of play enough to ensure halfway coherent strategy and tactics. At 67, and given his personality it is unlikely he will undergo a sea change in his mentality either.

3. Teams managed:
    AC Milan
    Juventus
    Inter Milan
    FC Bayern Munich
    Cagliari
    Fiorentina
    Italy
    SL Benfica
    VfB Stuttgart
    Red Bull Salzburg

I'm sorry but this represents for me a clear long term pattern of decline. Red Bull Salzburg are in his charge at the moment, but have massive spending power in comparison to their minnow rivals. The last Scudetto Trap won was in 1989. That's 20 years ago!

4. He was a complete flop with Italy at International level.

5. He has shown to adjust very poorly to managing a team outside of Italy. His command of the German language while he was with Bayern is still the stuff of legends here. While at Stuttgart he never talked to the press directly, but always via an interpreter or a spokesman. (Though I'm not ruling out that possiblity that his interview technique is better that Stan's)

So everyone will herald him at the start but, I guarantee you after 3 games and no goals people will be screaming in agony at the utter agony of watching his teams play. And then we'll have to pay him off big style.

Anybody but Trap per favore.

Why?

Man your off your head!! He was knocked out of the world cup 2002 with Italy, in very suspicious circumstances you may recall. He has no less than 18 major trophies. Inter, Juventus and Bayern does a CV or will a CV for the Republic of Ireland soccer team managers post ever be as strong???
    Barca 2 vs manchester 0

Trap all the way. Cant see it hasppening though, bit too good to be true.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by del_carroll View Post
    He was here in Stuttgart for a year and a half, a period in VFB's history distinctive for its unbelievably tedious football and Stuttgart's descent into mid-table mediocrity.
    You must be one of these people who don't understand the sophisticated Italian genius of his defensive plays.

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast