Thread: Cheltenham 2008

Cheltenham 2008

It's that time again. I haven't had my eye on things much over the last 6 months so I'll be watching more than I'll be betting this time around rather than lump on without educating myself.

Really looking forward to the Kauto Star v Denman dual. Kauto Star all the way for me unless it gets too soft. I've been told to consider Drive On Regardless and Natiain as decent outsiders but I haven't spoken to any of my friends that are more knowledgable than me about anything else yet.

So what horses are you recommending or do what horses are your best bets?
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

245 Posts
    Weather forecast is for it to be very wet from Saturday onwards so we might get the first easy ground festival in a while so I'm going to hold fire til I see what the going is like.

I had the time of my life there last year, especially when Pedrobob came in at 16s EW in the last on Gold Cup day. The back pain I'd been feeling all day mysteriously disappeared in the face of four hundred notes stuffed in my top pocket!

Cheltenham is quite simply the best racecourse I've been to on these islands, both for the view and the atmosphere. I'd heartily recommend the Festival to anyone that can make it this time around.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy View Post
    Cheltenham is quite simply the best racecourse I've been to on these islands, both for the view and the atmosphere. I'd heartily recommend the Festival to anyone that can make it this time around.

PP
    true, the roar for the first race on day one is amazing. Although I have to say I nearly froze to death four years ago, it is some wind that comes off the Mendip Hills.

245 Posts
    Great place-wish I was going, TV will have to do-I can feel a few days sickness coming on for new week starting about Tuesday morning

I've heard Kicking King is a good each way bet?

Not a big horses fan tho.
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

Kicking King might of been a good ew bet had he not been withdrawn a couple of days ago.

My banker of the festival has to be Noland in the Arkle.
    Best each way bet might be Kicks for Free in the Coral. Has been backed from 20's into 12/1.

Forpadydeplasterer in the Ballymore on Wednesday
    Cousin Vinny in the Bumper on Wednesday
    Agus a Vic in the Foxhunters on Friday
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Small priced, but I think a 'sure thing' double for the meeting are Kauto Star and Inglis Drever. 3/1 the double, but both horses are head and shoulders above everything else they are up against. So, I'm investing my whole Cheltenham budget of €200 on this double, as the rest of the card looks too bloody hard for me.

Frankchoek seems to be a banker too in alot of peoples eyes. One more for a nice Lucky 15??
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

All the rain in the West of England will have on impact on the going. It is hard enough to get up that hill at the best of times if the going is heavy then do not be surprised to see a few of the favourites struggle. I dont know enough to be aware of any horses that heavy ground suits so will just watch the movement in the bookies. Wunderkid is my nap for what its worth.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    sorry forgot about the betting page!
    Last edited by bennocelt; 10/03/2008 at 5:11 PM.

I hate horseracing. No offence like just don't see the attraction

43 Posts
    Couple of outsider/ew thoughts for today's racing, like drinkfeck above I've not had much time for it this year, but am always excited by the week of racing that we enjoy. I will be going again next year after a 3 year absence. Hadn't missed one for ten years before that. What a week, the roar for the first race is so special, one of the greatest sporting moments in the world.

2.00 Snap Tie (16/1)
    2.35 Ring The Boss (10/1)
    3.15 Ebaziyan (28/1)
    4.40 Ivoire De Beaulieu (14/1)
    5.20 Grand Schlem (10/1)
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

I know **** all about racing but just got Captain Cee Bee E/W and Binocular as part of the Place Pot so good start.

Thanks to Ted Walsh and the guy in the BBC for that one.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    I know **** all about racing but just got Captain Cee Bee E/W and Binocular as part of the Place Pot so good start.

Thanks to Ted Walsh and the guy in the BBC for that one.
    .....or football, as some would contend on this forum
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

238 Posts
    feck them, I had a €1 ew accumulator done for the craic, I figured its worth a go, last time I done one i missed out on the last 2 races both finishing one place out

I have today:

2:00 - Rippling Ring (well thats fecked now anyways)
    2:35 - Noland
    3:15 - Sublimity (for value)
    4:00 - Monkerhostin
    4:40 - Royal Auclair
    5:20 - Ashkazar

Ive a few quid on Sizing Europe to win at 3:15.

Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    .....or football, as some would contend on this forum
    Ha ha, yeah, they are probably right about that, but anyway Noland has kept my placepot going too. Its great to be off sick ha ha !!!
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Ha ha, yeah, they are probably right about that, but anyway Noland has kept my placepot going too. Its great to be off sick ha ha !!!
    .......lazy git!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post

Ive a few quid on Sizing Europe to win at 3:15.
    katch it each way, sweet! only listened to the race but sounds like the favourite struggled?
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!