Cork City - 5000 (25000 for 5 games)
    St Pats - 3533 (21200 for 6 games)
    Shelbourne - 3460 (17300 for 5 games)
    Waterford - 3240 (16200 for 5 games)
    Bohemians - 2860 (14300 for 5 games)
    Derry City - 2262 (9050 for 4 games)
    Drogheda - 2250 (13500 for 6 games)
    Longford - 2087 (8350 for 4 games)
    Shamrock Rovers - 2060 (10300 for 5 games)
    UCD - 910 (4550 for 5 games)

Surprises?

Figures should even out with return fixtures thru August.

Very poor showing from Rovers......

Originally posted by oddboy
    Very poor showing from Rovers......
    NO Ground NO Fans

Homeless Homeless Homeless
    life is random

30 Posts

Question First Division

Any "official" figures from Division 1?

I'd be reckoning about 200 (max) avarage for Athlone Town

Red face

Figures obviously only approx numbers but should even out over the 2nd series of games.

Shel$ seem surprisingly high but think they boosted by a few big dublin derbies. No surprise to see Pats the best supported club from the pale but Bohs continue to get crap crowds.

Originally posted by James
    NO Ground NO Fans

Homeless Homeless Homeless

Where's your Miltown gone, where's your Miltown gone
    where'e your Miltown gone, far far away

everybody now lets sing it

The old ones are always the best

TheRealRovers
    Our biggest for the season was 2,900 when we played Harps our smallest was Dundalk last week end with 1,000 we are getting a average of 1,600 for our home games which isn't bad for a first division club who is only mid table. summer football hasn't changed the crowds we're getting much the same as last season

Re: Average Attendances per club

(Averages for match figures in so far)

Cork City - 5000 (25000 for 5 games)
    St Pats - 3533 (21200 for 6 games)
    Shelbourne - 3460 (17300 for 5 games)
    Waterford - 3240 (16200 for 5 games)
    Bohemians - 2800 (16800 for 6 games)
    Derry City - 2262 (9050 for 4 games)
    Drogheda - 2250 (13500 for 6 games)
    Longford - 2087 (8350 for 4 games)
    Shamrock Rovers - 2060 (10300 for 5 games)
    UCD - 910 (4550 for 5 games)

Our five home games that you are using included ties against Drogheda, UCD, Cork and Derry. Not one of these clubs brought more than a hundred fans. Our average gates should look a lot different after the next series of games when you can include home ties against Pats (4,500), Odra (4500), Bohs, Shels and Liberec. I reckon there'll be a decent enough turn out for Waterford also. Finally, if I was a player I'd prefer 2060 Rovers fans behind me than 10,000 city, bohs, pats or shels.
    We lead, they follow!!

Averages will mean a bit more once though the reverse fixtures from first 1/4 of the season.

Dublin clubs seem to be only able to get big crowds when playing their neighbours who bring 1-2k with them.

Crowds at the cross are all the more impressive considering 300 would be large travelling support so the numbers are pretty much all city fans.

Originally posted by Postman
    Our five home games that you are using included ties against Drogheda, UCD, Cork and Derry. Not one of these clubs brought more than a hundred fans.
    Pathetic!

Surely your not relying on away fans to make up the crowd!

Typical Jackeen ignorance!

Cork City rarely get away crowds of more than 2/300...

The really frustrating thing for Rovers is that most teams get their biggest crowd of the season against us. Great for the home team but useless to us.

great crowds by Sligo in the first. Fair play to them. Nobody should be gloating over their crowds. Until you'r averaging 8,000+ none of us should be happy.

Oh and the Shamrock song is S h i t Fans, no ground, s h i t fans, no ground

Dodge, don't forget the new gypo song - Full time team, part time fans, Boez is your name!

xcept us

our biggest gate is always against bohs

Meant culchie teams - Drogs, Waterford, Cork etc. Dublin derbys are weird re. attendances. You can never second guess them.

Down the country they all come out to see the mighty Hoops. For instance our rivalry with Waterford is older than our rivalry with the gypos.

Exclamation ......

Originally posted by Postman
    if I was a player I'd prefer 2060 Rovers fans behind me than 10,000 city, bohs, pats or shels.
    Point taken about the next set of games .... good stuff.

Postman .... this is not a dig at you. But are 2060 fans discouraging another 3,000 fans from coming along. If so ... it aint good for the numbers game, and whatever about the players, the chairman cant be happy with that.

I think it is a reasonable target for each club to aim for an average of 8,000 - 10,000 in the permier at least.

Re: ......

Originally posted by A face

I think it is a reasonable target for each club to aim for an average of 8,000 - 10,000 in the permier at least.

look mate I'm not having a go but that is totally unrealistic

Re: Re: ......

Originally posted by wws
    look mate I'm not having a go but that is totally unrealistic
    I agree with wws. Think about it.

Firstly The Cross only holds about 8k. Incachore holds about 6k, Tallagh is only going to have 6k, not sure how much Dalymount holds.

Secondly our attendences are actually about right for the size of the country, if you look at the averages across Europe. Whilst people say if you got all the Premiership 'fans' to go to games here we'd have bigger attendences, in reality these 'fans' do actually get the idea of live football, if a Premiership team ever came to Dublin they'd have great support for a few years then people would lose interest because they're not Man Utd.
    Oh no not them again

Secondly our attendences are actually about right for the size of the country
    well there were roughly 80,000 people in croke park a few weeks back and there were more people there than at the Nou Camp.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast