Thread: Dustin for Eurovision

111 Posts

Dustin for Eurovision

http://www.rte.ie/arts/2008/0129/eurovision.html

Not sure this should be in the music forum but are the rumours true? Hope so, we all need a good laugh. The ultimate sign that we're finally treating the show as a bit of craic.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Dunno. I thought the character outlived it's usefulness a long time ago, and isn't half as funny as his creator seems to think he is.

He was a decent sidekick to the bould Zig and Zag back in the day (although I was more of a Snotser man meself) , but on his own, he cant ad-lib, and SHOUTIN' INCOHERENT ABUSE AT THE TOP OF YER GRATIN' SKANGER VOICE as your main comedy device is only funny for about 3 seconds.

His humour doesnt travel well, and in using him, theres a danger we'd look like we were trying desperate tactics to actually win the stupid thing...
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7 View Post
    http://www.rte.ie/arts/2008/0129/eurovision.html

Not sure this should be in the music forum but are the rumours true? Hope so, we all need a good laugh. The ultimate sign that we're finally treating the show as a bit of craic.
    Imagine the double-take if other country's heard that "Dustin Hoffman" is representing Ireland in the Eurovision.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

111 Posts
    If a Finnish 'death metal' band can win it, why not a narthside Dublin turkey? dont think it'll translate well either, the UK might get in on the joke though.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

I would rather be the laughing stock of Europe by sticking to our 'pop-ballad' guns, in the hope that we can rekindle the '80s flame than be the laughing stock of Europe for entering that annoying puppet into the competition.
    Actually I'd sooner abstain if that's the respect we're going to show the competition.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

3,310 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by noby View Post
    I would rather be the laughing stock of Europe by sticking to our 'pop-ballad' guns, in the hope that we can rekindle the '80s flame than be the laughing stock of Europe for entering that annoying puppet into the competition.
    Actually I'd sooner abstain if that's the respect we're going to show the competition.
    Repect?? For the eurovision??

These yokes
    showed loads of respect to the other entrants didn't they

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post

These yokes
    I actually liked that song!
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7 View Post
    If a Finnish 'death metal' band can win it, why not a narthside Dublin turkey? dont think it'll translate well either, the UK might get in on the joke though.
    Well, he is a fan of League of Ireland and not a northsider, but a liberty boy who followed St Francis as far as the Long Mile Road!

He sported the St Francis shirt on the Den for two seasons!
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post

These yokes
    Doesn't mean we have to stoop to that level.

I mean, look at the UK. They tried it last year, and still came nowhere.

I would genuinely prefer to pick a good singer and a good song, and come nowhere, than this desperation of having a circus act, and probably still come nowhere. Now we can do a lot better, song-wise, than the last few years, granted.
    Last edited by noby; 01/02/2008 at 7:32 AM.

Doesn't mean we have to stoop to that level.

I mean, look at the UK. They tried it last year, and still came nowhere.

I would genuinely prefer to pick a good singer and a good song, and come nowhere, than this desperation of having a circus act, and probably still come nowhere. Now we can do a lot better, song-wise, than the last few years, granted.
    Due to Geographical Location and/or politics we'll always come nowhere since the the eastern block countries have entered the equation, tactical/friendly voting and all that, but with a good enough gimmick we might pull something off
    I'd be all for Dustin Aloucious Hoffmann

You see I would say: Due to Geographical Location and/or politics we'll always come nowhere since the the eastern block countries have entered the equation, tactical/friendly voting and all that, but are we really that desperate?

Granted, we're still stuck in the 1980s with some of the songs we enter, and there has to be a bit of moving with the times, but as I said before, I would prefer to stick to my guns. There's bound to be a back-lash to all these dance/costume/pyrotechnic driven entries, and I can see us just catching up with that when everyone else has moved on. Stick to what we know, that's what I would do.

There's bound to be a back-lash to all these dance/costume/pyrotechnic driven entries, and I can see us just catching up with that when everyone else has moved on. Stick to what we know, that's what I would do.
    I disagree I reckon the Gimmicky Pyrotechnic driven songs get people dialing in their votes and make Money which is what it's all about, I'd rather see a return to the panel style voting system only then will it become a real Song contest again! but there's no money in that so won't happen IMO

It's funny how everyone suddenly has become so offended by countries voting for their neighbours, although it was fine for Ireland and the UK to swap high marks for 40 years.

Quote Originally Posted by DaveyCakes View Post
    It's funny how everyone suddenly has become so offended by countries voting for their neighbours, although it was fine for Ireland and the UK to swap high marks for 40 years.
    It seldom affected the overall outcome except when UK gave us 12 to win it leaving themselves in 2nd. It's a lot more prevalent now with 9 or 10 eastern Block countries dictating the winner every year. Ireland, Uk Germany or france et al could have the greatest song/performance ever and would still not be in a hope in hell, the winner would still be poland or lithuania or whichever
    the Eurovision was alway's a bit of a joke but it's ridiculous now

Maybe the (former) Eastern Bloc countries have a lot of cultural similarities & links, so they'll tend to vote similarly.

All of the recent winners have scored well from across Europe, not just from the East.

Back to the topic in hand, Dustin was funny for a while 20 years ago...

All of the recent winners have scored well from across Europe, not just from the East.
    Agreed the rest of europe voted for eastern block entries too but I'm damn sure the Eastern block Hasn't given a single 12 points to any western country in years

Back to the topic in hand, Dustin was funny for a while 20 years ago...
    While I agree with this perhaps he will be funny now to other people, the people who will be voting. Sure the whole thing is gone so ridiculous, he cant do any worse than what has gone before him in the last 3/4 years
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Im sorry but "good music" and the "eurovision" dont fit, never did, so I am all for Dustin doing his stuff for Ireland