I'm new to this forum and the politics surrounding Limerick FC. So, I was wondering what you meant by not bothering to suggest Thomond Park.
I have just been informed from one of my reliable sources...(similar to the one that broke the story about Dave Warren to me) that even if we do get promoted this year, there is no way in hell that we're going to be allowed up because of our sub-standard facilities. We have no seating arrangements in place, no qualified assistant coach, no under-21's, below par dressing rooms, no sound financial structure in place, and despite good intentions from our so called committee, no real prospects of attaining any of these in the foreseeable future.
Anarchy....I believe....to be the only answer.
And before people start going on about Thomond Park being a viable alternative...forget it...the goalposts are deep-cemented into the ground for one....and the Munster Branch don't want us there!!!!
I'm new to this forum and the politics surrounding Limerick FC. So, I was wondering what you meant by not bothering to suggest Thomond Park.
I don't think it's all as doom and gloom as Joe suggests in regards Thomond Park. I heard that they would help us for once off games if we bring big English teams over and they haven't ruled out short-term. They don't want us in there long-term, and to be honest I don't think that we should be looking to stay there long-term either. That might all change though when the other European clubs get their act together and stop Ireland entering provinces...Originally posted by Howard Hughes
I'm new to this forum and the politics surrounding Limerick FC. So, I was wondering what you meant by not bothering to suggest Thomond Park.![]()
"Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
- John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004
Dont worry lads if we DO get promoted and i lkove Limerick too but we're being very optimistic here...i'll get us in. you just need to know the right people, and there daughtersThe things i do for my club! think i have it Johnd...
Oh and another
two nil we want three we want three...........................
and there it is Limerick win the league...
A curious Leesider asks:
Are there any development plans for Pike Rovers ground. I t wouldn't be too bad if there was some plans in place.
Also the FAI should come out now and say if promotion is dependant on non league table criteria.
The plans do exist and can be seen on Deise Deserters Website (see the Limerick Links Section at the top of this forum) but for them to be implemented the club have to raise a percentage of the money themselves. This doesn't look like happening just yet.Originally posted by paudie
A curious Leesider asks:
Are there any development plans for Pike Rovers ground. I t wouldn't be too bad if there was some plans in place.
Also the FAI should come out now and say if promotion is dependant on non league table criteria.
And I totally agree that the eL should lay down in writing what criteria are required to play Premier Division football next season.
I get the impression youse will be lucky to survive in the eL at all when the uefa licences come in let alone be allowed to be promoted.
Pete:
I think there will be many more in the same sorry state as us when the licencing kicks in. That said myself and SLK have discussed it and we are of the opinion that it will mean that promotion will be impossible until these structures will be in place.
"Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
Deise Deserter just answered another question I was going to ask but my main enquiry is with the uefa license. Apologies for my ignorance but what exactly is the deal with it?
Are the main concerns, an underage team, financing, a suitable ground (how much seating is required?) and facilities in general.
To the best of my knowledge bout the various stadiums in Limerick the goals in Thomond park are not cemented into the ground. When the ground was done up for the 1999 world cup the goals were rooted up and new "holes" were laid for them. This means that the goals can be taken up or down at any time. NOw we if we were allowed in there we wouldn't even be looking for that. When we played a few friendlies in Thomond in 92/93 against Chelsea (4-1) Man city (4-1) and sunderland(2-1) the goals remained in place with the soccer goals placed in front of them. i know it looks stupid but no one was complaining then and that was before the rugby goals were removable. So i still think that IF IT COMES TO IT,Thomond is viable. But your all right bout the FAI stating the requirments now before the end of season anerchy. ill finish with a quote from a doorman in De Dam last evening..."please sir come inside (to a porn show) sex and filth for all the family."![]()
Last edited by gael353; 19/06/2003 at 3:22 PM.
This is all nonsense.
Either we go with the Pike development or we don't. This idea of moving ground again is not on. IF we are promoted then we will have to deal with the Pike issue - but we have to look at the Pike Field as our long-term home. If we raise funds for it - the FAI (and Pike themselves) would not be too pleased if we upped sticks and moved across town to play in Thomond Park.
Limerick may play friendlies there but Thomond Park is not a viable long-term solution ebcause we would always be an after thought there. Developing our own place (sharing a wel-appointed ground with Pike) is the way we should go and not get into other possibilities.
But then again I am small-time.![]()
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair
No promotion for ye
the standards are less stringent for first division clubs, but things like dressing rooms, seated areas and underage structure still apply. it's true that all that (and more) has to be in place if you were promoted but survival shouldn't (i hope) be an issue.Originally posted by pete
I get the impression youse will be lucky to survive in the eL at all when the uefa licences come in let alone be allowed to be promoted.
Christ almighty! More stupid comments from the Queenstown pre-teens!Originally posted by super rambler
No promotion for ye
Look here - these are the FAI tables - it says it all.
http://www.fai.ie/domestic/tables.htm
Limerick - 5th
Queenstown - 9th
They finally win a game and score a goal and it goes to this poor lads head...Originally posted by super rambler
No promotion for ye![]()
And I think you're missing the point LFC In Exile, I'm not suggesting that we leave Pike at all. The problem is that while the plans exist for development of Pike at the moment there are no plans for that development to start. At the last match somebody told me that Pike aren't best pleased at this turn of events and it's hard to blame them. It's all very well to have these plans but unless the club gets a percentage of the cost (20% I think!) it will never happen. So at the moment if we were to storm the division and win every game from here to the end of the season apparently we wouldn't be allowed to take our place in the Premier next year. Limerick FC's major aim in the next 6 months has got to be starting (or at least setting a concrete, set in stone date) for development of Pike Field. I think that moving again would be a bad idea. The club wasted two years in Jackman Park and if they were to make another switch at the end of the season that would be a third year wasted. 3 years of uncertainty and stasis when there's a UEFA deadline drawing nearer and nearer all the time. The club has got to stick to its plan and see it through this time or else we will lose our league place.
No, I didn't miss the point - I think you just made the same point I did.
Agree fully with you. 100%. And I too can understand Pike's annoyance. I think a good, winning team is important to get attendances up - and then this may provide some scope to raise thefunding needed for development.
But thingshave got to happen fast.![]()
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair
we'll see when we play ye,if we play like that for the rest of thed season we'll get promoted and beat ye 5-0 along the way....hill still thinks promotion is still on another two thirds left,,we'll just have to wait and see![]()
Remind me never to get dressed up and hit Vegas with Dave Hill then!Originally posted by super rambler
we'll see when we play ye,if we play like that for the rest of thed season we'll get promoted and beat ye 5-0 along the way....hill still thinks promotion is still on another two thirds left,,we'll just have to wait and see![]()
This will be down to club licencing.
The key thing first of all is to make sure we have enough in place to allow us to compete this season. The rules governing a premier division licence are pretty strict but the first fivision one is no cakewalk either.