Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Givens Out!

[quote=mypost;863977]His job there is to groom players for the senior team, quite successfully it has to be said.

quote]

Please explain how he grooms players for the senior team? I'm guessing but there is probably 6-8 U21 games a year and he has them for a couple of days at a time.

THe other 340 days a year they are with their coaches from their club who are working with them on a full time basis and helping them develop their game.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    Anyone else get the feeling that Givens is delaying the selection of the new manager so that he gets the honour of managing the team against Brazil??
    Not at all. Personally I would have preferred if Brady would have done a one off but that wasn´t going to happen
    IMO Don Givens' vanity has already prevented the new manager from deciding fixtures and having an extra game to prepare his squad.
    Pride and vanity are not the same. As there is not much to be vain about with Don's international underage coaching, I doubt if he is strutting his feathers.
    The game against Brazil has not caught the imagination of the fans as much as it should have because of this debacle.
    He is alienating players like Stephen Ireland and Clinton Morrison by not selecting them
    If the media and fans want to focus on the perceived 2 negatives then that's their choice not Givens's dictate. The big news for us is the return of Duff and Steven Reid..
    Givens has nothing to do with S.Ireland and Clinton's international career is not over. I'm sure Clinton can wait for the next manager to mull over his selection.
    He is embarassing himself by shooting his mouth off in the press
    . Nonsense, Givens doesn't know when to shut up but what he said most fans would agree with.
    If Charlton was there he would have told that Today FM reporter to go and wxnk himself.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Not at all. Personally I would have preferred if Brady would have done a one off but that wasn´t going to happen

Good shout for under 21 manager. If he nurtures players like he does at Arsenal the 21's could actually win a match
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    He's always so decent and principled when he's trying to arrange moves for young talent out of this country.
    I am sure if he has helped any young player to find a place at a club out of this country then they welcomed his assistance with open arms.

It might be a lovely dream for them all to stay in Ireland but the reality is that every young player who wants the chance to make it as a top professional knows that playing in EL is not likely to help their chances and they would welcome any help they can get to find a club in the UK.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Talking

'Should he get the same reaction that Stan got in his last game in Croke Park'

No this should never happen. It's unfortunate that the Stauton situation was allowed continue for as long as it did that some people, myself included, felt it necessary.

I actual agree with the original question and think it's a sad state that it's taken so long. We might as well wait for the next batch of sackings to see who becomes available

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    Anyone else get the feeling that Givens is delaying the selection of the new manager so that he gets the honour of managing the team against Brazil??

A few quotes from him in today's Star:

IMO Don Givens' vanity has already prevented the new manager from deciding fixtures and having an extra game to prepare his squad.

The game against Brazil has not caught the imagination of the fans as much as it should have because of this debacle.

He is alienating players like Stephen Ireland and Clinton Morrison by not selecting them.

He is embarassing himself by shooting his mouth off in the press.

And his U21 record is abysmal.

Time for him to go? Should he get the same reaction that Stan got in his last game in Croke Park.
    I agree with everything you say but .......

what about our other underage managers. Most of them are getting paid to be scouts by UK clubs. Where else would you see a National football association's staff work as scouts for UK clubs?

And how long has Vinny Butler been U-15 manager? Its no wonder our underage teams are doing so bad. And do the FAI have any plans for a full time youth academy in this country?

A lot of questions need to be answered!
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

Why the rush to appoint a new manager, the important thing is to get a manager in that WANTS the job and has a long term view. The most successful teams have long term managers. We need a manager who is looking at a 6 - 10 yr committment and a minimum 2nd place in all qualifying groups as the target and not someone who'll take if for 2 yrs and sure if a better offer comes along they'll be gone. No one really knows who is the preferred choice of the three amigos, so why not sit back, chill and wait before throwing the first stone. Don's record as a player was 1st class and he's totally committed and will expect that of whoever takes the 1st team job and I for one will fully support his choice and give the chosen one a fair crack of the whip. Has anyone who thinks this is going on too long stopped to thing that maybe the preferred candidate is in employment and may not be willing to go public till towards the end of the season as they have a loyalty to thier current contract. That is the type of manager we actually need, one who will honour his contract and give 110%.

Quote Originally Posted by Bondvillain View Post
    I dont dislike Don Givens because of the Stephen Ireland situation, I dislike Don Givens because of the Don Givens situation.
    well said
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Why the rush to appoint a new manager, the important thing is to get a manager in that WANTS the job and has a long term view. The most successful teams have long term managers. We need a manager who is looking at a 6 - 10 yr committment and a minimum 2nd place in all qualifying groups as the target and not someone who'll take if for 2 yrs and sure if a better offer comes along they'll be gone. No one really knows who is the preferred choice of the three amigos, so why not sit back, chill and wait before throwing the first stone. Don's record as a player was 1st class and he's totally committed and will expect that of whoever takes the 1st team job and I for one will fully support his choice and give the chosen one a fair crack of the whip. Has anyone who thinks this is going on too long stopped to thing that maybe the preferred candidate is in employment and may not be willing to go public till towards the end of the season as they have a loyalty to thier current contract. That is the type of manager we actually need, one who will honour his contract and give 110%.
    I think that our focus is all wrong. We seemed obessed with paying bi bucks to get a new great manager that is going to do great things.

We should be focusing on developing a professional football league in Ireland and 2-3 professional academys.
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

Lads why does our squad have to be named so early. I see Givens logic for him taking over the Brazil game is that it would be unfair on the new manager not naming the squad but taking over the game. However we named our squad last week. England are not naming theirs until this Saturday. Is there a big need for us to name our squad so early.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    every young player who wants the chance to make it as a top professional knows that playing in EL is not likely to help their chances and they would welcome any help they can get to find a club in the UK.
    He is an employee of the FAI. His job is to change this, not re-enforce it. For feck sake, if he's doing it with players that are under contract, it is a conflict of interests - nothing new in Given's world.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by stojkovic View Post
    Incorrect. He has always said that he doesnt want the big job.

Whatever you think of Givens, I wouldnt cricify him over Stephen Ireland. DaddyDick has had problems with three Ireland managers. Funny how he never has problems with the club that pays his wages.
    Regardless of what happened he's only caretaker manager and needs to remember that before he alienates players from the setup completely by shouting his mouth off like the pleb he is. Whether he was correct in leaving him out or not there was no need for his comments.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Lads why does our squad have to be named so early. I see Givens logic for him taking over the Brazil game is that it would be unfair on the new manager not naming the squad but taking over the game. However we named our squad last week. England are not naming theirs until this Saturday. Is there a big need for us to name our squad so early.
    for what its worth brazil named theirs before we did.

Well Brazil are hardly a country we should be copying if we want to be successful , surely England should be the example that we follow.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Well Brazil are hardly a country we should be copying if we want to be successful , surely England should be the example that we follow.
    well Capello is rumoured to be calling up Dave Kitson.

Quote Originally Posted by eekers View Post
    for what its worth brazil named theirs before we did.
    I'd imagine they've been trying to find out who would bother to turn up for quite some time.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    I'd imagine they've been trying to find out who would bother to turn up for quite some time.
    has no one dropped out of the ireland squad yet?

he recently stated he is looking forward to the chance to play against such a world class team,
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

253 Posts
    There are friendlies that you drop out of, but Brazil isn't one of them.

Quote Originally Posted by mackannovic View Post
    Regardless of what happened he's only caretaker manager and needs to remember that before he alienates players from the setup completely by shouting his mouth off like the pleb he is. Whether he was correct in leaving him out or not there was no need for his comments.
    I agree.
    He was baited by the media and had a Kevin Keegan moment.
    Did he not say before the Welsh match that it was for the new manager to solve to Stephen Ireland situation and not him. He should have just re-iterated this.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast