Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast

Thread: Spotlight

Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    CitizenErased is entitled to his opinion, just like anyone else. But when he seeks to back them up with assertions of "fact", which are palpably and demonstrably wrong, then his credibility is in tatters.

Aaron Hughes is from a Unionist background, his school did not play GAA, indeed he started out playing Boys Brigade football.

Neither is David Healy from a Nationalist background, nor is his father RC.

That said, none of the three has ever done or said anthing politically or religiously contentious in their life - at least as far as I've ever seen.

I strongly suspect CitizenErased has fallen into the old bigot's trap of judging people by their name. Pathetic.

P.S. David Healy's father is called "Clifford"; Aaron Hughes's former NI teammate Michael Hughes (no relation) is a Catholic from Larne and Chris Baird is a former GAA player from Rasharkin. Oh, and I'm told that Sammy Clingan is from Nationalist West Belfast. Names, eh?
    Hold on here lads,,your calling me a biggot get real will you for god sake..how am i a biggot? explain please..get over yourselves..I only wrote what i was told by my mate ill get back to you on that lads when i talk to him....and id like to see pictures of healy drapped in a Union Jack which you claim you have...!!

NI Fans calling me a biggot, have to laugh at that one...
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernian View Post
    Am try telling Neil Lennon that the religion is gone.

wake up lad its there and will be for while I see fans in the north burning a tricolour I think its ye who dont want them we welcome them
    When was this tricolour burned? I think what the NI posters are saying is that this has largely been eradicated. I haven't seen the burning of a tricolour at a NI match recently.
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    When was this tricolour burned? I think what the NI posters are saying is that this has largely been eradicated. I haven't seen the burning of a tricolour at a NI match recently.
    A tricolour was burned at Windsor Park recently during Linfield v Cliftonville.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    Hold on here lads,,your calling me a biggot get real will you for god sake..how am i a biggot? explain please..get over yourselves..I only wrote what i was told by my mate ill get back to you on that lads when i talk to him....and id like to see pictures of healy drapped in a Union Jack which you claim you have...!!
    Your "mate" is a liar.

You presented as fact, things that are, in fact, not true - regarding the background of Messrs Healy and Hughes.

I believe that telling lies like that, in order to demonise the Northern Ireland fanbase, is bigoted.

Therefore, I believe you are a bigot.

I didn't say that I had any photos of Healy drapped in a Union Flag (there are relatively few of these at Northern Ireland matches nowadays), but he has been photographed on many occassions holding the Ulster Banner ie. the flag with the red hand - the one YOU claimed he refused to hold after the Spain game.

David is a lifetime Linfield fan too - hopefully EG wont hold that against him.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    And Linfield Football Club, having identified at least one of the culprits, will be taking decisive action on that count.

Nothing to do with Northern Ireland games tho.

Okay, well fair enough then. But I asked about a NI match. None of these fans will necessarily be at the NI games.
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

131 Posts
    Try reading Neil Lennon's glowing tributes of the changes made by Northern Ireland fans in recent years.

If Lennon himself can recognise and acknowledge the changes made, it says a lot that those who hold him up as the "proof" cannot do likewise.

Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    And Linfield Football Club, having identified at least one of the culprits, will be taking decisive action on that count.

Nothing to do with Northern Ireland games tho.
    Just explaining what the other guy was talking about.

Off-topic, In fairness the photograph of the guy holding it up is extremely clear so there would be no reason not to "take decisive action" - would would presumably be identifying him, banning him from games, and forwarding his identity and the evidence to the PSNI for insulting and threatening behaviour or however that would be classed under the UK system. However, one regrets that no punishment can be given out to the 50 or so characters surrounding this guy, most of whom were giggling like schoolgirls. That, that such an act was acceptable and 'funny', is more worrying than one tool burning some flag. [/rant]
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Aye - but it's still integral.

The United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland.
    ha ha ha...Why are you the only team from 'Great Britain' that dont have their own anthem?What yer obsession with the Royal family?

This is Ireland and always will be, the fact that its under political partition means nothing to true Irishmen...and Darren Gibson as a true Irishman should be allowed play for the country that represents this ideal with the national anthem to accompany it. One Country..One Team...One Anthem

Saying all that i have nothing against the religion of people up north, my flatmate is a mad NI fan, a protestant and goes to all the matches..and he will tell you im not a bigot...might not see eye to eye on politics or on international eligibility but i aint no bigot..come back with better arguments please!
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

ha ha ha...Why are you the only team from 'Great Britain' that dont have their own anthem?
    They aren't from Great Britain. Great Britain is an island. They don't have an anthem as they havent fought a war, which is when anthems tend to get written.
    What yer obsession with the Royal family?
    Her Madge is their head of state.

This is Ireland and always will be
    Its Ireland because we call it so. The next people inhabitting it could return to calling it Hibernia, or maybe make up something new. Gnarknar, maybe?
    the fact that its under political partition means nothing to true Irishmen...and Darren Gibson as a true Irishman should be allowed play for the country that represents this ideal with the national anthem to accompany it. One Country..One Team...One Anthem
    You don't like democracy, no?

Saying all that i have nothing against the religion of people up north
    Yes you do. You don't think they're Irish, while im sure most of them would realise that been born on the island of ireland makes you irish, by definition of what "irish" is.
    my flatmate is a mad NI fan, a protestant and goes to all the matches..and he will tell you im not a bigot...might not see eye to eye on politics or on international eligibility but i aint no bigot..come back with better arguments please!
    You've made all the arguments yourself, son.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

131 Posts
    Just explaining what the other guy was talking about.

Off-topic, In fairness the photograph of the guy holding it up is extremely clear so there would be no reason not to "take decisive action" - would would presumably be identifying him, banning him from games, and forwarding his identity and the evidence to the PSNI for insulting and threatening behaviour or however that would be classed under the UK system.
    Nothing akin to the Football Offences Act in Northern Ireland GavinZac, so therefore no charges can be pressed against those burning the flag - it is important that such legislation is introduced in Northern Ireland.

The "insulting behaviour" did not just come from one set of supporters on the evening.

All of this has nothing to do with citizenerased lies.

131 Posts
    ha ha ha...Why are you the only team from 'Great Britain' that dont have their own anthem?What yer obsession with the Royal family?

This is Ireland and always will be, the fact that its under political partition means nothing to true Irishmen...and Darren Gibson as a true Irishman should be allowed play for the country that represents this ideal with the national anthem to accompany it. One Country..One Team...One Anthem

Saying all that i have nothing against the religion of people up north, my flatmate is a mad NI fan, a protestant and goes to all the matches..and he will tell you im not a bigot...might not see eye to eye on politics or on international eligibility but i aint no bigot..come back with better arguments please!
    Is your school off with the cold weather, or something?

Sorry to break this to you, but I'm as proudly Irish as you are.

386 Posts
    As I'm somebody that doesn't want unity with Northern Ireland, I'm going to have to place a sticker on my passport highlighting that I'm not a true Irishman.

214 Posts
    not this again lads......
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

131 Posts
    Northern Ireland is not in Great Britain, but I do wish we had a new "sporting" anthem for our international football matches.

I'm happy enough with my "National" Anthem tho - that of the United Kingdom Of Great Britain & Northern Ireland.

I don't have an obsession with the Royal Family - they aren't all that relevent in my day to day life, to be honest. Some of them I quite like, others I have very little time for at all.

284 Posts
    None of the NI fans who post on this site has ever denied that there still exists a sectarian element to our support which remains to be eradicated. At the same time, as we continue to put clear blue water between us and the excesses of the past, it is becoming increasingly tiresome to hear people like you bleat on about past events (Lennon was years ago now), as though they were still current.

For the record, at the IFA Football For All Awards last February (that's less than 12 months ago), this is what Neil Lennon himself said in a specially recorded message which he sent along:

"Fans like Stewart (an award winner) are unsung heroes who have been brave enough to challenge sectarianism and who have actively created a more fun, safe and family orientated atmosphere at international games. (They) have made the atmosphere at Northern Ireland football games the envy of fans across not only Europe but world football. I would personnally like to thank them for efforts."

wake up lad its there and will be for while I see fans in the north burning a tricolour I think its ye who dont want them we welcome them
    We don't want any people with outdated and offensive values at our games, whether they be of the sort you mention above, or those who spout utter tripe about things of which they clearly have little knowledge, on message boards like this. Each is equally antidiluvian and in denial from what I can see.

P.S. You might want to try a little bit of punctuation in your posts. Unless, of course, you are conducting some sort of subversive protest against "the Queen's English"...

284 Posts
    Your "mate" is a liar.
    David is a lifetime Linfield fan too - hopefully EG wont hold that against him.
    Impossible! Sure isn't his Da a fenian and his whole family Nationalists? My mate told me that, so it must be true...

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    not this again lads......
    This one's different from the rest .

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    "Fans like Stewart (an award winner) are unsung heroes who have been brave enough to challenge sectarianism and who have actively created a more fun, safe and family orientated atmosphere at international games. (They) have made the atmosphere at Northern Ireland football games the envy of fans across not only Europe but world football. I would personnally like to thank them for efforts."
    EG

Stop trying to give 'Not Brazil' a big head

ha ha ha...Why are you the only team from 'Great Britain' that dont have their own anthem?
    England don't either

Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast