Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: 2008 Licences

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Once a club is in talks with the revenue it covers your accounts but agreement must be met by the time of the first instance committee on the 16th February
    Is that definitely the case? I had thought it was tomorrow that it would have to be done by. Another couple of weeks could be useful if worst were to come to the worst.

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Is that definitely the case? I had thought it was tomorrow that it would have to be done by. Another couple of weeks could be useful if worst were to come to the worst.
    The finacials have to be in by tomorrow so worst case scenario is that a club will be asked for the extra information when the first instance committee meet on the 16th.

It is like this thing with Bertie Ahern not having a tax clearance cert once you are in talks it is ok as that is the law of the land.

Our wage issue will be sorted fully tomorrow and from what I hear so will the tax bill. It was getting very worrying at one stage

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

1,104 Posts
    I'd hope we'll be ok too. Fingers crossed for everyone to get through it, the league definitely doesnt need to lose any more clubs.

84 Posts
    I'd hope we'll be ok too. Fingers crossed for everyone to get through it, the league definitely doesnt need to lose any more clubs.

Agree totally. As much as i dislike Longford it wouldn't be the same without them.

1,104 Posts
    Cheers..We hate ye guys too!

Quote Originally Posted by Fintan Cassidy View Post
    I know that accounts info from all clubs has to be submitted by tomorrow Thursaday 31st -
    How very Italian of you Fintan.

if longford and athlone buckled what would happen then to league bring in two more teams who arent really prepard for loi football?
    We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.

Quote Originally Posted by ramsfan View Post
    if longford and athlone buckled what would happen then to league bring in two more teams who arent really prepard for loi football?
    ah I doubt the FAI would be allowed demote Cobh

Its a poor joke but it's a Cobh joke

84 Posts
    Cheers..We hate ye guys too!

And I would expect no less

typical turn a genuine post around and have a go
    We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.

The Jan 31st deadline is for audited accounts only as all other aspects of licensing had to be submitted back in Oct 07.
    The last I heard was for a Feb 15th'ish date for the results!

The audited accounts would be for the 2007 season of course so depending on what you submitted already you may be in trouble anyway ??

In the case of clubs having large tax and wage debts, is it certain that the licensing committee will return with deadlines for these to be paid and no fines/points deductions.

When Shelbourne were found out last season we got punished but also got some deadlines for the 2007 season. Having lied in previous submissions they were left with no option but to punish us and did so by sending us to the First Division.

I'd imagine any club set a deadline to sort out their affiars for the 2008 season will also (or should?) get punished.
    Last edited by higgins; 31/01/2008 at 10:52 AM.
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

1,104 Posts
    White smoke has issued from the pow wow today. We have all matters in hand now. Shouldn't be any licensing problems this year thankfully. Onwards and upwards.

Yeah just heard that news at lunch there. Fantastic news
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

47 Posts
    Phew
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

brilliant news for the club.. the rebuilding process starts here...

Grand so, now try get a license for that bar of yours and we're flying
    Who Cares?!

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    Grand so, now try get a license for that bar of yours and we're flying
    Good point. Must check out what the story is with that.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Premier Clubs will have to have squads of 30 plus their u20 players to field 3 teams this season and we have budgeted the A Team to cost us in excess of €100K .
    i assumed our A league side would be our under 20s supplemented by whatever players aren't getting a run in the first team or who are coming back from injury.

surely the under 20s will train together and so will the first team. goughie and/or billy (or whoever takes u20 team) should take the A league team for games. there is no need to have a separate team / management structure for the non-entity that is the A league. The only reason for it is to allow fringe/injured/young players the opportunity to get games and results are not an issue.

if we spend anywhere near €100k on it then we need our heads examined. we should only be paying the travel costs in addition to our normal expenses.

there should be no player recruitment for this league in addition to normal squad for our first team and u20's.

if TC has a squad of 25 players and no more than 14 can play on any given weekend then it stands to reason that the other 11 will play in this A division. assuming approx. 3 to 4 players to be injured at any one time then the balance will come from the u20 squad.

i think the people who are spouting off about 30 players plus under 20 squad are talking sh1te. we don't give a fiddlers for this A league so it will only be a matter of giving the lads who are not playing regularly a run out at the weekend.

IN SHORT WHATEVER SQUAD TC FEELS ARE NEEDED FOR THE SEASON SHOULD BE SIGNED, U20 MANAGER DO THE SAME, THEN JUST FULFILL THE A-LEAGUE GAMES BECAUSE WE ARE TOLD WE NEED TO.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    i assumed our A league side would be our under 20s supplemented by whatever players aren't getting a run in the first team or who are coming back from injury.

surely the under 20s will train together and so will the first team. goughie and/or billy (or whoever takes u20 team) should take the A league team for games. there is no need to have a separate team / management structure for the non-entity that is the A league. The only reason for it is to allow fringe/injured/young players the opportunity to get games and results are not an issue.

if we spend anywhere near €100k on it then we need our heads examined. we should only be paying the travel costs in addition to our normal expenses.

there should be no player recruitment for this league in addition to normal squad for our first team and u20's.

if TC has a squad of 25 players and no more than 14 can play on any given weekend then it stands to reason that the other 11 will play in this A division. assuming approx. 3 to 4 players to be injured at any one time then the balance will come from the u20 squad.

i think the people who are spouting off about 30 players plus under 20 squad are talking sh1te. we don't give a fiddlers for this A league so it will only be a matter of giving the lads who are not playing regularly a run out at the weekend.

IN SHORT WHATEVER SQUAD TC FEELS ARE NEEDED FOR THE SEASON SHOULD BE SIGNED, U20 MANAGER DO THE SAME, THEN JUST FULFILL THE A-LEAGUE GAMES BECAUSE WE ARE TOLD WE NEED TO.
    And what happens when your under 20s/A team are playing the same day.Do we slice players in half and managers/physios & Kit Man. Philip Coffey is the new A Team Manager by the way.

If players get injured playing for the A Team do we tell them go away and pay your own Medical expenses.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Never understood the point of having a Championship made up of reserve players from clubs who can ill-afford it, recipe for disaster in my book, I mean how are Cobh, UCD etc. paying for this?

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast