Page 14 of 50 FirstFirst ... 4121314151624 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Premier League 2008

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by the grape vine View Post
    this is a snip'it of one of your post "it is in establishing yourself as a "Super League Club" and successfully creating a Super League mentality & culture within the club".

by the looks of things i dont think Fahy Rovers will make the step up to a super league club, with the players having attitude's like that, i can bet you that any super league players would make that sacrifice!! (could go on the beer on sunday after the game )
    i can bet you they wouldnt, im friends with plenty of them! dont worry we went on the beer sunday too! anyways no-one at the club is upset over it so thats what matters, i think we can let it lie now and look forward too weekends games, or we could open a fahy rovers disiplinary thread!not!

Hey hey hey

this is a snip'it of one of your post "it is in establishing yourself as a "Super League Club" and successfully creating a Super League mentality & culture within the club".

by the looks of things i dont think Fahy Rovers will make the step up to a super league club, with the players having attitude's like that, i can bet you that any super league players would make that sacrifice!! (could go on the beer on sunday after the game )
    Contrary to what you may believe, this Fahy team are serious about winning the league and going up! We have high hopes of ourselves, last weekend is a once off in the season. As a player of the team I can say that none of us go out the night before games, and some us make the trip from Dublin, Sligo, Cork back to Westport every weekend to play games in the hope of playing in the super league next season.

The players have the belief and so do the management and we will do our best to be a super league team next season and if we aren't it wont be from lack of effort or bad attitude...

8 Fahy Rovers players showed up at 1pm Saturday for a fun bus. Commitment I think you'll all agree.

8 Fahy Rovers Players battled the mud and the blood and the beer all day and night. Attitude.

7 Fahy Rovers Players showed up to a match on sunday and got beat. Costly.

8 Fahy Rovers Players hit the sauce again Sunday and had a good oul weekend. Priceless.

In refenence to the quote you used, it is not relevant.
    Whither or not we sucessfully establish as a super league club in the future is not entirly dependant on last Sunday.
    My point in that post were the numerous factors both on and off the field that are instrumental in the long term establishment of a S.L club and a sucessful club.

Its a long season. How we react to the defeat will give a better idea of our attitude and character then the actual defeat itself.

in fairness if we were a super league club we might not have had to encounter the difficculties of having to choose between a best mate and a game of ball as we should have been able to get the game postponed.but we're not a 'celtic' so we just have to make do with who turns up on the day and hope that they're in relatively good shape for the game!
    the lads all stay in on the night before a game generally and there is a number of players making a massive effort each weekend to travel down-a lot of clubs have players travelling long distances to play games at the weekends and fair play to them-its what keeps a club going and keeps a good spirit in a club.as gf has already stated if we can bounce back with a win on saturday against kilmore everyone will be happy (in fahy anyway!!)

The half-parish

Quote Originally Posted by Cloggs View Post
    in fairness if we were a super league club we might not have had to encounter the difficculties of having to choose between a best mate and a game of ball as we should have been able to get the game postponed.but we're not a 'celtic' so we just have to make do with who turns up on the day and hope that they're in relatively good shape for the game!
    the lads all stay in on the night before a game generally and there is a number of players making a massive effort each weekend to travel down-a lot of clubs have players travelling long distances to play games at the weekends and fair play to them-its what keeps a club going and keeps a good spirit in a club.as gf has already stated if we can bounce back with a win on saturday against kilmore everyone will be happy (in fahy anyway!!)
    I'm glad to see the best team in the league are now the most talked about anyway!

Celtic B V Swinford (HOME)
    Crossmolina V S & F (AWAY)
    Glenhest Rovers V Westport B (Home)
    Fahy Rovers V Kilmore (HOME)
    Urlaur United V Manulla B (AWAY)

Celtic B V Swinford (Away)
    Crossmolina V S & F (Away)
    Glenhest Rovers V Westport B (Draw)
    Fahy Rovers V Kilmore (Away)
    Urlaur United V Manulla B (Away)

It must have been the weekend for stag's!!! Seriously guys would ye ever chill. I'm glad to see that Fahy value their friends more than one game. I don't doubt their commitment or their hunger for the super league so why on earth is everyone making such a big deal of one game! From what I can tell they have players travelling from all over the country (like we do) to get home for a game at the weekend. Does this not show commitment? I have no doubt that Fahy will do well this season.....

Quote Originally Posted by Kilmore Fan View Post
    It must have been the weekend for stag's!!! Seriously guys would ye ever chill. I'm glad to see that Fahy value their friends more than one game. I don't doubt their commitment or their hunger for the super league so why on earth is everyone making such a big deal of one game! From what I can tell they have players travelling from all over the country (like we do) to get home for a game at the weekend. Does this not show commitment? I have no doubt that Fahy will do well this season.....
    hopefully we will on saturday evening anyway!

Celtic B V Swinford -home
    Crossmolina V S & F -draw
    Glenhest Rovers V Westport B -draw
    Fahy Rovers V Kilmore -home
    Urlaur United V Manulla B -home

Predictions..

Celtic B V Swinford -home
    Crossmolina V S & F -draw
    Glenhest Rovers V Westport B -draw
    Fahy Rovers V Kilmore -home
    Urlaur United V Manulla B -home
    Celtic B V Swinford- Away
    Crossmolina V S & F- Away
    Glenhest V Westport B- Away
    Fahy Rovers V Kilmore- Home
    Urlaur United V Manulla B- Away.

Quote Originally Posted by irishyop View Post
    That the issue alright, its probably a 70/30 split as regards "public interest" and the papers split this further to an 80/20.

Personally I think it has got worse, there was better coverage of the games up until the last 2 years or so, what the reason is I dont obviously know but it is no incentive for any young players when they weigh up which code to play in order to see their "name in lights"

As regards Celtic B or C I cannot remember the last time a report was in the paper, maybe 2 years ago?
    In fairness to Fahy and Swinford they do regular submit a report of their matches to the papers, maybe that the problem that the only way to get in their is to get each club to do up a report and force it on the papers, then they cannot ignore us.

So Excited out of pure interest maybe for the game on Saturday, do a report, email it into the Connacht and see if that rattles their cage, it will prove whether they have any interest in publishing it. Worth a try anyway.
    haha dont think my report would be printable
    i may occasionally walk alone but i'll be in good company when i do

462 Posts
    Not sure if any of guys would know this, just going through some reports in the League Cup in 2006 when Mayo League played Longford, I can not seem to find any info on these players that can came as subs (Fitzpatrick and Napier), I can not get their first names as that is the main reason.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by TheBoss View Post
    Not sure if any of guys would know this, just going through some reports in the League Cup in 2006 when Mayo League played Longford, I can not seem to find any info on these players that can came as subs (Fitzpatrick and Napier), I can not get their first names as that is the main reason.

Thanks
    I would say its Paul fitz of S & F and Tarren Napier of Kiltimagh and Knock, 2 very good players..

fahy beat kilmore 2-0 last night in a tough enough game.we played some of the best football that we've done for a long time and only for the kilmore keeper stephen o'boyle (i think thats his name) we would've scored a lot more.nice to bounce back with a win after last weeks minor setback!
    i hear that s and f beat crossmolina 2-0 in cross-good win for them especially as they were away form home.westport b beat glenhest 1-0 and i think that celtic beat swinford 4-1.celtic going very well in the league but glenhest look to be in serious trouble at the moment.they only seem to have a couple of players that are of any real quality from what i've seen.they probably need a bit more of a blend of youth and experience as the current crop have potential but need to be brought on.
    anyone know how the urlar and manulla b game went?

Quote Originally Posted by ExCiTeD View Post
    haha dont think my report would be printable

Go on chance it, how bad could it be

fahy beat kilmore 2-0 last night in a tough enough game.we played some of the best football that we've done for a long time and only for the kilmore keeper stephen o'boyle (i think thats his name) we would've scored a lot more.nice to bounce back with a win after last weeks minor setback!
    i hear that s and f beat crossmolina 2-0 in cross-good win for them especially as they were away form home.westport b beat glenhest 1-0 and i think that celtic beat swinford 4-1.celtic going very well in the league but glenhest look to be in serious trouble at the moment.they only seem to have a couple of players that are of any real quality from what i've seen.they probably need a bit more of a blend of youth and experience as the current crop have potential but need to be brought on.
    anyone know how the urlar and manulla b game went?
    Not that it's an excuse but we were missing most of our team as they were gone to a wedding!! and I really mean most of the team. We were expecting to lose by a hell of alot more! We tried getting it postponed but mayo league were having none of it. I guess you must have to be in the superleague before they listen to you. Yes it's Stephen. He had a good game surely!! Some suprise results this weekend. It's really going to be an exciting season. Anything could happen

Westport beat Glenhest 1 - 0 with a Joe Kelly goal,a result, but not a great one, from what I saw Westport need to improve significantly in order to survive
    Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.

Cup Fixtures

Castlebar Celtic B Fahy Rovers Celtic Park 11/05/2008 14:30
    Urlaur United Manulla B Urlaur 11/05/2008 14:30
    Kilmore Glenhest Rovers Drum. Clogher Ballina 11/05/2008 14:30
    Westport United B Straide & Foxford Sports Park 11/05/2008 14:30
    Crossmolina Swinford Abbeytown 11/05/2008 14:30

Has the draw been done yet for the winners of the 1st round of the cup??

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by theboy View Post
    Castlebar Celtic B Fahy Rovers Celtic Park 11/05/2008 14:30 Match A
    Urlaur United Manulla B Urlaur 11/05/2008 14:30 Match B
    Kilmore Glenhest Rovers Drum. Clogher Ballina 11/05/2008 14:30 Match C
    Westport United B Straide & Foxford Sports Park 11/05/2008 14:30 Match D
    Crossmolina Swinford Abbeytown 11/05/2008 14:30 Match E

Has the draw been done yet for the winners of the 1st round of the cup??
    The second round game on June 5 involves the winners of match D against the winners of match E(Wesport/S&F V Crossmolina/Swinford)
    The semi-finals(don't know the draw) are scheduled for June 16 with the final on July 20

Lads, did Urlar and Munalla not play at the weekend?
    Any reason for that.

Also are these results correst:

Fahy 2 v Kilmore 1
    S&F 2 v Crossmolina 0
    Westport 1 v Glenhest 0
    Celtic 4 v Swinford 2

Page 14 of 50 FirstFirst ... 4121314151624 ... LastLast